Page 7 of 27 FirstFirst 1234567891011121314151617 ... LastLast

Thread: Tassie Bluefin

Re: Tassie Bluefin

Gday Brian

Mate first off mate i tell ya how it is ya not raving on like a bluudy lunatic ya not asking to many stupid questions also mate if ya don't ask question ya dont get answers and i will always try to answer ya questions as the best i can mate of the best knowledge i have.

Brian both types of rigs you can use with whole fish or squid....Mind you the rigs in the packets will need sinkers attached to them....The other rigs yes they can be used in conjuction with running rig or you could possibly use it as a paternoster rig (flattie rig).....Mate thanks for the compliments on my snell knots mate any knot i do i try to make perfect as i can.....

Mate at the moment i am only toying with the idea of bring the boat over and if i was to bring the boat over i would need a companion to fish with which if i did i was kind of hoping it would be yourself as i think both of us have alot in common as far as fishing goes...But if i dont bring the boat over which i am seriously just thinking of driving over with just a car...So i will be wanting either a charter which would only mean 1 day out which meansless fishing....if i took you up on ya mates or your own boat would mean a few days out meaning more fishing time.......Which at the moment i am really thinking of leaving the boat at home and taking you up on your offer.....

Mate you did read correct about the Stripe trumpeter over here and they are everywhere in the gulf which we call shitties here...I believe after catching a few of these stripeies are not the tasmanian Striped trumpeter which they are very similar but we use theses stripies for mullaway bait believe it or not......

mate it is looking very good for my trip out tommorow i am very eager to get out i spent most of the day today preparing the boat checking if everything is fine and all working and gave it a bit of a spring clean.....but mate i wish the snapper season was still on as i would love to be out chasing them....but the king george should be about and i am hoping it doesn't come in to bad or i might find meself chasing a jewie or some bream....

Mate i will thank my dad for dropping them off for you...... Mate these next riggs i am going to make up for you will be bit different as there will be a bit of binding work on the hooks which will make the hook slide....

anyway mate i better hit the sack early start on the water talk to ya soon...

gday mick.. i think you would be better of just bringing the car over for sure... when the time comes we should get each phone numbers and get a plan of attack.. i will do some ringing around and organize the charter and phone some mates..(keen fishos only).and depending on what fish are on the go at the moment. i will organize it around what is the best value...mate i think we might have a lot of things in common.the most important one being fishing..mick i dont now much about you.. but i dont really have to cause im the sort of bloke who nows a lot of people... but i could count my real freinds on one hand...the others who i dont count as real friends,some are finacialy well off... some like me are just battlers..but if any of them start talking fishing they are welcome to fish with me any time..does that make sense.(hard to explain in writing)..any way mate got a bit side tracked there..how did you go today ???...our weather is not looking to great for the weekend i think our trip will have to be canned..mate i just had a thought if you would like to give me a mailing address i will get the wife to photo copy you last years tas fishing reports.i have got them in a folder and they are dated...last years reports have almost been the same as this years.. except we had a extended tuna season..i just thought it might keep you in touch with whats going on down here.and i will send you a couple of new ones as they report them..(john taylor and neil grose).although neil is a bit obsessed with trout fishing of late..its up to you mate it might be of help in planning a trip over timing wize.....any way mate i wont be long out of bed so i will catch ya latter.........brian

Gday Brian

Mate my fishing trip i prolly would have been better to fish in the toilet would have been far productive mind you we did manage 1 snapper but that was undersize and no bigger then the palm of ya hand....But all in all it was a very enjoyable day out on the water and was good to give the boat a decent run i might head out over the weekend if it doesnt come in bad but its forcasted to.....

Mate i was actually giving it alot of thought mate to wether i am going to bring the boat over or not i have actually decided not to mate.....

Mate i have to agree with ya you we dont really know each other that well at all part from chatting on the net...
    Mate i have no probs of giving you my home address as long as ya don't jump on the next plane and kill me lol as i would be very interested in reading what squizzy has been writing about and neil grose has to but i can understand why neil is writes more on trout as that is what he specialises in....

Mate i have rough ideas when the tuna season is and thats what i will be solely coming over for in april as i feel around april is prolly one of the most stable months for the tuna....So what i will do is have a word with my lady over the next week or so about the trip and about charter which shouldnt be a problem.....and we willgo from there then...

Mate i would be willing to go 200 bucks a day on a charter if there is only 4 of us mate which means we will be able to fish all day if the charters are still around 800 bucks a day......whats your views there mate as i think fishing like 10-12 people for the day is to crowded and ya get less fishing.....

I get a bit slack when theres rain around and wind aroud but When i was over in Tas living i always found a spot to fish wether it would be open sea or a quite river there is always an option to get out for a fish unless the gods send a hurricane or tornado through..

Mate while i was out fishing today there was some characters out there in the other boats...1 boat beside us thought he would move and decided to move with the anchor still planted in the reef...another guy thought he would literally park his boat on another boat forcing them to move spots....Mate somedays when ya fishing in South oz its like peak hour on the brooker hwy mate ya can literally jump in the next boat in 4 directions and i aint joking..... if ya wanna get out ya wanna hope the next guy ups and leaves before you do......I will have to take the camera out one day and send ya pic of one of the areas i fish with all these boats surrounding me....

I turned up to the outer grange tyre reef today the only boat there next minute i looks around and theres about a dozen boats coming my way.....i go find a spot on me own and i seem to attract other boaties.....i move to another spot next minute theres boats around me...i dunno what it is but i attractem around maybe is my good looks.....but i just wish i could break my fish drought....

anyway mate i have prattled on a bit tonight so i will talk to ya later mate

Also i sent you an instant message mate with my home address

mick

gday mick.. your right when you say 10-12 people is to many..i organized a tuna trip a few years ago and took 10.. and it was way to crowded.. i am in the process of chasing up a few leads,i've been told of a bloke from new norfolk who does charters for $80 dollars a head maximum of 4 people.. but i dont know what to think about that one.. i know the boat and its a nice boat but sounds to cheap to me.. i will do some looking in to it thou... another boat i heard of today charges $700 and has a good reputation..we have got plenty of time so i wont rush into any thing.. when i send you those reports you will notice that the blues got bigger towards the end of the season..they did the same this year also, something else to think about thats not to say april wouldnt be allright....mate that must be so frustrating having boats fishing fishing so close to you all the time.. if some one did that down hear it would be unheard of..i have spent many hours on the water and i can never ever remember anyone doing it to me.... bad luck about your tip mate.. but a bad days fishing is better than no fishing at all..i know what your saying about allways being somewhere to get out of the wind down here mate its just that i;ve give the trout a big miss this year, and all the sheltered places i;ve fished in salt lately have been very disapointing.. plus i;ve got these bloody trumpeter in my brain lately and i just dont think a 30cm flathead is going to do it for me..there predicted a 30-40 north westly for tommorow so i will just have to wait till next weekend although i have got a sick day worked up now it wont do me any good cause unless i go solo every one i go fish with will be at work..mick i got no problem paying $200 a day for a charter either i will just have to find 2 others willing to pay that much.. anyway mate like i say we got plenty of time... ..better go for now mate hope you get in amongst some good fish tommorow.....see ya....... brian

Gday Brian

Mate that charter ya saying 80 bucks minium being 4 people it just dont sound right to me...Mate i am very fimiliar with the Norseman i have fished of gerald spaldings boat a few times in the past and he has a brilliant deckie mate...
    As you say we have plenty of time and when you send these reports over to me i will have a bit of a good read so i can plan the trip to when i think there quite a few around.....

Mate fishing close can have its advantages but mate ya pretty right if it was done in tassie there would be a few boaties worried.....Mate its a bloody sight to see and mind you this was in the middle of week with boats everywhere just imagine whats like on a saturday.....

Mate i prolly wont be heading out this weekend now as i am going to do some work around the house that i have been neglecting since the folks have been over and a day out fishing yesterday....I may still get out but i want to get the work done first.....

Mate it would be good just 4 people fishing as it will all mean we can fish all day with out hassle of sharing a rod.....it will be hard to find 2 other people maybe we should ask blaze if he would be interested what do you reckon???

Mate trumpeter to flathead mate i think i would rather a trumpeter mate...but mate dont just sit there and think flathead or trout what about elephant fish i know they are caught in the derwent and in very sheltered area i know still not the same as a stripey....arrrgh it will give ya chance to spend some time with the family mate.....

anyway i better go so i will catchya later mate

mick

gday mick..no worries if blaze was intrested he would be more than welcome... mate i think that bloke that charges $80 bucks is in the tuna club that im joining.. im going to be seeing my mate through the week and im going to get some advice of him.. im sure if i explain to him about you coming all the way from s/a he will help me sort something out.. he is a commity member so he knows most of the blokes in the club..he has told me i can fish with him on his mates boat in the comps this year.. i met his mate at the dinner the other week and he seems like a real top bloke.. you never know mate but that might be another possibility,we might be able to go with him once i get to know him better... i think his boat is about 18-20ft cabin cruiser...any way mate we will sort something out..any way mick i will get the missus to photo copy that stuff for ya this week an get it of to you,..asp..anyway mate look after your self i might go and flog the kids cause im looking after them tonight cause the wifes gone out and there gone feral on me..( only joking wont really flog em not yet anyway)....seeya mate..... brian

Gday Brian

Mate thats fine with me have a bit of a chat around see what that guy thinks and what he suggest ya never know mate what may come out of it all.....

Mate my father rang today and he was wondering wether you got those hooks i sent ya i told him yes and ya said thanks.....

Mate i did a bit of window shopping today for pfds as my pfds make very unconfortable not that we have to wear pfds here in South Oz..but i am looking at the stormy seas jackets and one bloke quoted me over here 460 odd bucks which does sound right for the particular jacket i want as it has the zip of sleeves.....My father is checking out the prices from the factory and wether he can a second from there.....

Mate i did end up going fishing for awhile with my lady it was only for bream and we managed nothing not even a bite but we had fun which is the main thing....

Mate looking after the young ones while the wife plays...well i spose it is only fair she gets a night out for the amout of fishing trips you have had.....

Mate also i have had a chat with my darling fiancee and she doesnt mind me paying upto 200 bucks a day....

I now have to talk her into taking the new spirit accross but she doesnt like the sleep over in the seats thing.....

Mate what i have been told about the new boats that are running accross look like bueaties mate......

Mate i am hoping to get out in the boat again on Wednesday but nothing is for certain as my mate may have to take his father into hospital....

anyway i better hit the sack gotta catch up with the chores tommorow seeing i didnt do them today

Hi Guys
    went for a crun out the river today, the white bait are just starting to run so the sea run trout are close, caught a feed of small salmon but cold and windy( bit lumpy to) the boys in the club tell me snapper about 4 to 6 weeks away, may have atrip sooner weather permitting. I will see if I can organise a clug day and let you know brain so there are plenty of boats save you bringin yours

Gday Blaze

It sounds like ya had a ball mate....Its sounds as if you are going to hve a good year on the sea runners if there is a good popluation of white bait up the river...I wonder how they are getting on down South in the derwent....

Mate 6-7 weeks before the snapper come in heck mate we are in closed season at the mo for snapper 3 weeks closure not enuff in my book but thats the way our fishery works over in South Australia...Arrrgh well look forward to chasing them next month myself.....Mate when ya out chasing these Snapper mate look for some good structure thats arounds and try a few baits like whole squid squid heads pillies....Mate if ya can get hold of some live bait try and use tommys maybe a slimey mackeral...
    Also when fishing for the Knuckles mate dont use snapper as berley or bait you will soon turn the snapper of....a good day after the buggers is when ya got a small choppy water....You dont want it to calm.....Also try to experiment a bit have a bait on the bottom one about middle and a non weighted bait becuase most of the big knuckles will be about mid to top go below the mid ya start finding alot of ruggars and squire....

i hope i have helped ya bit here blaze and hopefully it will get you a knuckle ya never seen before......

Also try and use braid as ya main line as you wil increase ya chances of bring a big knuckle to the boat.....

anyway better go and do some work around the house.... good luck with the fishing blaze in the up coming weeks as it sounds like ya gunna be busy castching knuckles and sea runners

gday mick... mate strange you mention the new spirit of tas, i went and had a look at it today as it is down at the wharfe here in hobart,and it was open to the public.. so i took the wife and kids aboard mate it is massive .... mate the wife has a sister that lives in melbourne and she really hates flying she is now talking about booking a trip over on it to see here sister and we would be taking our car over cause its fee for cars in the off peak...mate i had a real brain wave today i dont know when this is going to take place but maybe we could get a plan and catch up for a days fishing or yaking... mate how long does it take to drive from melb to adelaide. ??? if it takes to long maybe we could met half way just a thought...i got a price list off the boat today so i will send it with that other stuff.. it costs $100 one way per adult and like i said the cars free.. and also there is going to be day sailings from the end of jan to the end of april weekends only,but it tells you all about it in the price list im sending.. so mate you wouldnt need a cabin as it only takes about 10 hours to do the run across... (might be abit fast for trolling thou and i couldnt find any rod holders on the stern ).....mate those stormy seas jakets sure are nice. i was going to get me one when i brought the ally but the missus said that the kids had grown out of there old ones... so that was the end of that.. i decided to buy 5 pfd instead for the same price as 1 stormy seas.. still would like one though..there is a lot of other toys i would like before i buy one. the pfd i brought are not to bad to wear,they are suprisingly comfy..as you now mick it is compulsory to wear them down here... i hated the idea of it at first and thought it was big brother type stuff trying to take away my personal freedom of choice..but now i think it is probbibly not so bad cause if it saves one life because i and others set an example by wearing one then it is a good thing.... there are still a few cowboys not wearing them.. but if they drown its there business as long as its only them that drowns and not some poor bugger out looking for them so be it...any way mick enough out of me tonight talk to you again soon mate..... brian

gday blaze.. mate that sounds great i just was telling the wife and she said if we had a bit of spare money at the time we could probibly come up and stay there some where for the weekend.. so i could spend a day fishing with you.. and spend the other with her and the kids..mate im real keen on having a bit of a go at those snapper.. but i understand that they are real hard to catch so i wont be expecting to much.. just a day fishing some where i've never been before will do me.. thanks for the report mate we will have to keep in touch..ps i am still keeping my ears and eyes open down here for that other thing we talked about....thanks again mate....brian

Gday Brian

Mate my Parents said they were going for a look over the boats but i they wouldnt have given it a thought on getting any broucheres mate....Mate i look forward to the stuff ya sending mate specially the spirit stuff.....

Mate i know its cheap anyone can really afford to come across the straight now that they have a relaxed there prices on cars....

Mate if and when you decide to come over to the mainland for a holiday mate to get to adelaide in the quickest possible time would be an 8 hour drive which it isnt to bad i have done the drive a few times and the 8 hours is allowing for toilet break and food stops mate....if ya come across to adelaide mate your accomadation is free.....

Mate my life jackets are pretty new ones but really they dont fit me that well as i am not a small lad rather got a big build...but i am going for the stormy seas jackets becuase i think they are very easy worn they dont hinder you while fishing and the safety is all there ready when ya hit the water...As i see things Brian ya just cant put a price on safety Specially in the gulf waters mate when it chops up out there its not single waves its double wave action very similar to what ya see on the lakes as the gulf is shallow water and is allowing the wind to give a bit of turbulance in the water....

Mate i never did get the chores around the house this weekend as i had a mate ring me up and said do i wanna go and try for some trout so i had to say yes..anyway i ended up with a bit of a mixture 2 trout 1 rainbow and 1 brown.... all in all i managed to get out fishing 2 days in a row...

anyway enuff of my prattle talk to ya soon mate

mick

gday mick.. mate i know what you mean about shallow water wind and waves...i remember a trip to lake pedder years ago and got caught out in the middle in a 13ft dinghy in a 40 knot wind.... mate i dont think i have ever been so worried the waves were shorter and sharper than i ever imagined a lake could get...mate is good that you got to go after some trout,sounds like you had a good day...i keep looking at the trout rods standing in the corner and wonder why i dont go and get a licence.. mate i used to love my trout fishing..but i know if i get one it will be a waste of money cause i brought one last year and used it 4 times then when the weather warmed up i headed of to the salt, spending most weekends diving until the albacore and yellow fin turned up.. then the blues turned up and i just never got around to going trout fishing.. any way mate i dont know if you have heard or not but we have a great bream fishery now down here in the derwent.. they are almost in plage proportion and there is some big ones in amongst them..i dont know what you think mate but give me a bream any day as far as a sport fish goes there a lot tougher than trout and atleast you can eat them unlike trout mate i just cant come at them for eating.. so i might get in to them soon instead... that way mate i can still use the trout gear and when its to rough for proper fishing i wont be so bored on the weekends..mate the missus didnt get time at her work today to do that stuff for you, but said she would do it tommorow... any way mick i had some visitors tonight so im running a bit behind and its just about snowing outside would you beleive so im hopeing i wont get to work tommorow but i still better make some lunch just incase.... so better go for now mate.....brian

Gday Brian

The days of Pedder mate i have heard recently this lake has been firing once again but not like the good old days that have gone.....

Mate the trout over here isnt that crash hot mate all it is pan size fish not that i mind as i release most of my trout that i catch here in South Oz...Mate the only real trout i eat is the sea run trout mate as they have a salty taste to them instead of a muddy taste but i know what ya mean about the trout and bream

Mate Bream fishing was one of the fish i was brought up on over in Tas....I can Remember heading up to little swanport just out of Triabunna mate what great Spot that was some real great bream out of there but in my recent years before i moved here to south oz i was doing alot of bream fishing and mate As i have always said the Derwent is very under estimated people just think its real polutted no fish but mate i sure in the hell can tell ya the derwent has cleaned up over the years specially since they stopped the jarisite removal from the Zinc Works....

Mate The bream fishing in Tas ha been going strong for the last8 years mate I have fished the Jorden derwent as far as the cottage just before ya get to the speedway....Mate Some good Spots i have fished for bream in The derwent would be around east risdon where the old punts used to go when the tasman was down the baily bridge spit otago bay but My favorite in the derwent would have to be Jorden River Also Browns river down Kingston Mate can hold some good bream.....

Mate Bream fishing is great fun the sport from these fish is just brilliant and they are just about in every state around Australia....

South Australia would have to be the unlucky state as far as the bream goes as the average bream here would be around 400 grams just on legal size with just the odd one above a kilo but not very often

Mate when ever ya wife gets the chance to do it work will be fine with me mate....

Oh by the way i still never recieved the proper email that you tried sending me mate.......

Mate i better go as well as its getting late here and i am finding it hard to keep the eyes open.....

gday mick.. sorry about the email mate i was trying to send you some things i scanned out of a magazine news paper type thing i dont think you would have heard of it...its called tas fishing and boating news... any way mate i couldnt send it for some reason..(bloody computer or the idiot driving it dont know)... it was an article on a run of big blues caught on the big pig..any way mate im going to send it with the rest of the stuff so i wont tell the story now... mate your right about lake pedder they do catch fish but mate there not worth the drive in my opinion... there only small not like they used to be... mate i dont know if you ever fished it when the fish cakes were all the rage.. mate i can remember going up there with dad an we were there no more than an hour using fish cakes and i caught my biggest trout to this day it nailed that fish cake at my feet 11 and half pounds of the shortest fatest trout you ever seen in your life... 20 min later dad landed one 13 pounds all this like i say mate in the space of an hour.. thats what i call trout fishing..last time i fished pedder about 5 year ago the bigest we managed was 1 pound.. any way mate no good living in ther past...mate i used to work at e.z and your right mate they have cleaned up there act a fair bit still not perfect but i dont think it could ever be considering the sort of chemicals and metals there dealing with there.. mate i have fished the jordon many times myself and caught many nice bream and trout from there ... one place you didnt meantion mate was the old train station area opposite the old granton pub that is my personal favorite...we have caught lots of big bream and trout from ther over the years...mate i have been taking some old issues of those tas fish news i was telling you about to work.. today mate i was reading about a bloke that blaze mentioned a while back a snapper guru by the name of damon sherriff telling of a pair of snapper he caught in the tamar area one weighting 21lb and the other 24lb compleat with photos.. mate this story is great stuff i will send that one to ya as well... mate the wife told me today that here work ran out of photo paper.. i think mate that she may be mucking me around cause yesterday she said that didnt get time so im gunna have to sack her and get a new secratary...(not to mention the ausfish stickers i told here i wanted 2 weeeeeks ago and still havent got... mate i would go and do all this sort of stuff my self but i go to work about 5 oclock and dont get home till about 6 so it mackes it a bit hard.. any way mate we will get there eventully. any way mate enought of my ravings for one night,look after yourself mate..... till next time mate ......brian