Portable/Countertop Ice maker

Thread: Portable/Countertop Ice maker

My Classifieds Feedback

(0% Positive Feedback)

Portable/Countertop Ice maker

As the title sex , Who onboard has /uses one for their ice making??.
    No ice vending machines locally and my ususal ice purchase outlet now gone was thining og maybe purchasing one of the above..
    Any advice ??.

My Classifieds Feedback

(0% Positive Feedback)

Re: Portable/Countertop Ice maker

Quantity produced per 24 hours is the issue in my experience....I like to take 15kg at a tme.

I bought some 3kg ice molds, I freeze them up and stock pile them now plus they last longer in the slurry.

My Classifieds Feedback

(0% Positive Feedback)

Quote Originally Posted by tunaticer View Post
    Quantity produced per 24 hours is the issue in my experience....I like to take 15kg at a tme.

I bought some 3kg ice molds, I freeze them up and stock pile them now plus they last longer in the slurry.
    Same here, 2 litre icecream containers work well for me although I did use 3kg blocks previously until that freezer died and it wouldn't fit in the next one I got.
    One of the sad signs of our times is that we have demonized those who produce, subsidized those who refuse to produce and canonized those who complain.
    Thomas Sowell

Ausfish Addict

My Classifieds Feedback

(0% Positive Feedback)

We have one in our first aid room at work and your basicaly olny getting a large ice cub tray for the effort and its not the best ice, as other have said make your own blocks.

At the local servo they sell 1 bag for $4.50 or 2 for $6.95 but they will never sell me that second bag for the 2 bag price.

My Classifieds Feedback

(0% Positive Feedback)

Additionally all the ones I've known where people have bought them they usually fail once out of warranty, I'm not sure of the maintenance involved.
    I'm a little fortunate in that I have an ice station 1/2 km away and if I need party ice I get it there, pretty cheap @ $6 for a 10kg bag but I usually get it the day before and throw it in the freezer as it's not very hard and melts quickly.
    One of the sad signs of our times is that we have demonized those who produce, subsidized those who refuse to produce and canonized those who complain.
    Thomas Sowell

Ausfish Platinum Member marto78's Avatar

My Classifieds Feedback

(0% Positive Feedback)

I've got one that I don't use anymore. It worked alright once it had done a couple of trays of ice and the water was cold but it was a constant job of removing ice and refilling with water.

Now days I just run 600ml water bottles in the freezer, they last ages in the esky and when you get home just give them a rinse and pop them back in the freezer.

You can buy a 24 pack of 600s for under $10 at woollies and that's 15kg of reusable ice if the kids don't drink them all.

My Classifieds Feedback

(0% Positive Feedback)

Thanks for the imput Gang , yep i used / use the plastic container method for keeping the bin coll but when fishing offshore i like to smother my catch in ice keep it as cool and as freshas possible.
    Usingthe block ice method may be okay but find some fish cool better than others hence for the want of cube ice when fishing offshore.
    Used to buy my bacs of ice from the loacal fish coop till the decided to shut shop,
    Can get the big bags from loacl butchery but a tad hard on tye ole backbone lifting 20 kg bag onto the boat and the breakig it but to spread among the fish.
    Mate bought a second hand ice maker which turns out quite a bit overnight but a tad much for me justy fo a trip here n there when weather allows ey.
    Just have to keep sussing .

My Classifieds Feedback

(0% Positive Feedback)

Mate if you're near Brisbane northside I'll give you my old one, it's just sitting in the garage collecting dust.

My Classifieds Feedback

(0% Positive Feedback)

You can't beat crushed ice in a saltwater slurry--that said, I use the frozen containers a lot, when I have no other option, such as when we are remote, and having to refreeze them overnight.

My Classifieds Feedback

(0% Positive Feedback)

Quote Originally Posted by marto78 View Post
    Mate if you're near Brisbane northside I'll give you my old one, it's just sitting in the garage collecting dust.
    Kind Thanks Marto apprecite your offer but a tad north of you ,
    Will keep sussing out my options..

My Classifieds Feedback

(0% Positive Feedback)

Quote Originally Posted by Volvo View Post
    Kind Thanks Marto apprecite your offer but a tad north of you ,
    Will keep sussing out my options..
    only 6 hrs or so
    Thomas Sowell

My Classifieds Feedback

(0% Positive Feedback)

Quote Originally Posted by Dignity View Post
    only 6 hrs or so
    Know Mate but on new Steroid drops for the eyeballs which are a tad sensative to light still till about midday .
    Makes driving okay but a little tireing to the eyes ..

My Classifieds Feedback

(0% Positive Feedback)

Quote Originally Posted by Volvo View Post
    Know Mate but on new Steroid drops for the eyeballs which are a tad sensative to light still till about midday .
    Makes driving okay but a little tireing to the eyes ..
    Look after them mate, you may have started exerting yourself too early in the process.
    Thomas Sowell

My Classifieds Feedback

(0% Positive Feedback)

I just came across these reusable bags of ice cubes.

No idea what they're like

https://ezeefreeze.com.au/?srsltid=A...3HGLH8BmYU4wLt

My Classifieds Feedback

(0% Positive Feedback)

Quote Originally Posted by marto78 View Post
    I just came across these reusable bags of ice cubes.

No idea what they're like

https://ezeefreeze.com.au/?srsltid=A...3HGLH8BmYU4wLt
    Be interesting to know what they're made from, some sort of plastic encapsulating a gell maybe, if so I'm not sure how that is more environmentally friendly. The bulk of the item is what most people would object. Would you use it for putting fish in it with all the blood and often stomach contents getting them dirty requiring lots of washing. For food I prefer the gel pouches that often is used when medication is delivered (neighbour used to get them) or food delivered by weight watch companies (mate used to use them). Lighter, stack in the freezer and easily distributed throughout the esky as well as lasting longer. For fish, ice is hard to go by.
    Thomas Sowell