Poor bugga goes overboard... - Page 2

Thread: Poor bugga goes overboard...

Ausfish Gold Member Barry Ehsman's Avatar

My Classifieds Feedback

(0% Positive Feedback)

Re: Poor bugga goes overboard...

Quote Originally Posted by disorderly View Post
    Do you wear it all day.?.Like one of those old fella gourd guys from New guinea..you must be a real hit with the ladies..

I used to be able to pull myself into the splashwell of most boats I have owned..sometimes with difficulty though...these days in my mid fifties I would certainly struggle and even the ladder is a pain if its rough and the boat is pitching and rolling..I think I'll add another rung to my ladder and modify the hand grip as well to make it easier..a short length of rope attached also might assist to pull it down from in the water if needed....

As far as the peeing goes, last thursday it blew up to about 20 knots out at the reef (closest wind station had gusts to 28 knots0 so i just stepped one foot through the door to the swim deck but only managed to pee all down my leg... There just has to be a better way...

And a bit embarrassing to admit but when I have fished in fast currents and rough seas before at night out on the edge of the shelf I have lashed a rope around my waist if my missus was asleep...I used to do the same for my young fella overnight as he is a sleepwalker...
    Hahaha no mate it is not a strapon, back in the day i went alright but now i could go back to a 30mm pipe, age does that to you.

My Classifieds Feedback

(0% Positive Feedback)

Quote Originally Posted by Dignity View Post
    I know exactly what you mean.
    My missus always struggles to get her leg up and over.
    Yep. My missus has had that problem for while now.

My Classifieds Feedback

(0% Positive Feedback)

Quote Originally Posted by gunna View Post
    Yep. My missus has had that problem for while now.
    I was waiting for that reply, it was a bet on who it would be

Unfortunately this is a very sad set of circumstances that has occurred. There would be many people out there who would have not too much trouble getting back aboard but I suggest that there are probably many more that wouldn't be able to climb back especially when a large amount of effort is put into getting back to the vessel. I was considerably younger when my event occurred and was totally surprised by my lack of strength in the upper body as the water wants to keep hold of you. Even my legs were struggling. I now use a PFD when crossing the bar in anyone's boat (mine include) and of late I've forgotten to take it off as it has become a part of attire. Should it be mandatory to wear a PFD as in other States, probably but then there will be heaps of people who will consider it to be a Nanny state if introduced.
    One of the sad signs of our times is that we have demonized those who produce, subsidized those who refuse to produce and canonized those who complain.
    Thomas Sowell

My Classifieds Feedback

(0% Positive Feedback)

Quote Originally Posted by Dignity View Post
    I was waiting for that reply, it was a bet on who it would be

Unfortunately this is a very sad set of circumstances that has occurred. There would be many people out there who would have not too much trouble getting back aboard but I suggest that there are probably many more that wouldn't be able to climb back especially when a large amount of effort is put into getting back to the vessel. I was considerably younger when my event occurred and was totally surprised by my lack of strength in the upper body as the water wants to keep hold of you. Even my legs were struggling. I now use a PFD when crossing the bar in anyone's boat (mine include) and of late I've forgotten to take it off as it has become a part of attire. Should it be mandatory to wear a PFD as in other States, probably but then there will be heaps of people who will consider it to be a Nanny state if introduced.
    Yes Sam, it sux getting old and coming to the realisation that you just cant do the things that you used to be able to quite easily...

and working a physical job in the tropical summer heat means I now need to take a siesta or "nana nap" after lunch to get the energy before getting back into it..

Docasters offhand comment about how easy is should be to climb back in shows that he is obviously still young and bulletproof and I'm envious.....

and I'm surprised this missing boaties body hasnt been found washed up somewhere yet...that must make it even harder for the family.

My Classifieds Feedback

(0% Positive Feedback)

Quote Originally Posted by Barry Ehsman View Post
    Hahaha no mate it is not a strapon, back in the day i went alright but now i could go back to a 30mm pipe, age does that to you.
    but with age comes wisdom and chasing tail becomes less important anyway, doesnt it....though I do wonder what it would be like to be a youngster again and have Tinder at our disposal...hooking up sounds a lot easier and cheaper then the old days of having to take someone on a date or buy them drinks...

My Classifieds Feedback

(0% Positive Feedback)

"Docasters offhand comment about how easy is should be to climb back in shows that he is obviously still young and bulletproof and I'm envious..."

Nah, I'm retired now. But being a sparky in and out of ceilings still fairly agile.
    To be honest I've never had to or tried to get in a boat in water over my head. I'm scared of sharks since "jaws" .
    I'd never be able to swim to the boat drifting that's for sure. And with an inflatable around ones neck...........
    Must try a MOB on the shoreline one day off an island with a sandy beach. My ladder drops down to the depth of the outboard, so not necessarily low enough. But could spell a while holding on.

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk

My Classifieds Feedback

(0% Positive Feedback)

I've always put ladders on my boat since seeing the movie "Open Water 2 Adrift" which is about a group of friends who went for a swim off a yacht and forgot to put the boarding ladder down and couldn't get back on
    It didn't end all that well for them, I've never forgotten that
    Also for a pee I have a small 2 litre bucket which I hold just under the appendage, Never spilled a drop that way even in rough water while driving

My Classifieds Feedback

(0% Positive Feedback)

Another one bites the dust with the motor still running....

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2023-12-...agui/103221778

Quote Originally Posted by purnong View Post
    I've always put ladders on my boat since seeing the movie "Open Water 2 Adrift" which is about a group of friends who went for a swim off a yacht and forgot to put the boarding ladder down and couldn't get back on
    It didn't end all that well for them, I've never forgotten that
    The original "Open Water" based on the Lonergans out of Cairns happened to me once while Divemastering in a third world country in the Carribean ..My own fault for not listening to the briefing that it was a drift dive....when myself and the female client I was escorting finally surfaced in the original location no boat was in sight and it was a remote location where the likelihood of other boats was pretty non-existant......Stupid me also was not wearing a BCD or any flotation device so when I eventually became fatigued from treading water the female suggested I hold onto her ...fortunately someone on the boat returning to port realised we were missing and after an hour or so of drifting we were extremely relieved to see a boat heading back our way....Unfortunately for the poor Lonergans the boat never returned for them...

My Classifieds Feedback

(0% Positive Feedback)

Last edited by Qlder1; 13-12-2023 at 01:28 PM. Reason: disorderly beat me to it

My Classifieds Feedback

(0% Positive Feedback)

Things alway come in threes so put your life jacket on.