Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Talica Vs Speedmaster

Talica Vs Speedmaster

Hey All

To go with my great overhead holy grail hunt (7ft , 40lb , long butt) I'm going to be also in the hunt for a reel to go with it

I'll be using 40lb Tasline (likely) ... maybe 50lb

The front runner is the Shimano Talica 12 .... It has 18kgs of drag (lever drag) , good line capacity & is a well made reel by all accounts ..... it should be for $600 ish

What about the Shimano Speed master 12 .... It also has 18kgs of drag (lever drag) etc ...... but it does appear to be a lighter reel - but some $200 less

How would the two reels compare side by side in that heavier bait fishing scenario .

I'm a bit surprised that the Talica is 85 grams lighter

Anyhoos , I 'm keen to hear your comments on both reels . as I've no experience with either ......

Chris
    Give a man a fish & he will eat for a day !
    Teach him how to fish
    & he will sit in a boat - & drink beer all day!
    TEAM MOJIKO

Re: Talica Vs Speedmaster

I have a 2 speed Talica and I think it is great. The 18kg drag is why I have it. Probably wouldn't get a 2 speed again only seem to use the low speed when attached to sharks. I fish with in in Queensland so that is a tick for your plan.

No experience with the Speedmaster

Matt

Both Shimano , both look the goods , why not go which one saves you more $$..

Quote Originally Posted by Volvo View Post
    Both Shimano , both look the goods , why not go which one saves you more $$..
    There has to be a reason for the price difference - you would think . I know the talica is a good reel

I didn't mention it but the Daiwa Saltiga LDs would be in the mix too ...... pricing a bit above the Talica.

I dont really mind paying the coin knowing that you may have this reel for the next decade or so ..... but then I have to weigh up how often will this outfit be used .

Chris
    Teach him how to fish
    TEAM MOJIKO

Quote Originally Posted by NAGG View Post