Page 9 of 26 FirstFirst 12345678910111213141516171819 ... LastLast

Thread: I would love to take this on, Big Huntsman

Re: I would love to take this on, Big Huntsman

Quote Originally Posted by Cobbo1 View Post
    A Territory will not do any more than what your current car does Gaz, the only thing that will change is the ride height that will help with your driveway but they don't tow much, even the newer models are max 2700kg braked, plus they're weak as piss
    Mate i had a AWD turbo deisel Territory & towed an 18ft van to the NT down WA a total of 16,000 km & loved it heaps of power & good fuel consumption

I probably cant get a TD territory for 4k, i found a misubishi challenger early model v6 low gear never been offroad, are these any good?

Quote Originally Posted by Barry Ehsman View Post
    Mate i had a AWD turbo deisel Territory & towed an 18ft van to the NT down WA a total of 16,000 km & loved it heaps of power & good fuel consumption
    Yes, very different model to what Gaz will be looking at, turbo diesel will not be an option for him in his price range. An 18ft van will likely weigh less than 2500kg loaded, and I maintain that Ford Territory's are weak as piss when it comes to anything outside of their duty, which is taking the kids to soccer on Saturday morning.

Its a pretty hard market atm there are not many options for tow vehicles under 4k all the tow cars that were 4-5.5k before corona are all now 8k+

Yes, very different model to what Gaz will be looking at, turbo diesel will not be an option for him in his price range. An 18ft van will likely weigh less than 2500kg loaded, and I maintain that Ford Territory's are weak as piss when it comes to anything outside of their duty, which is taking the kids to soccer on Saturday morning.
    The naturally aspirated petrol Territory has heaps of power and torque for towing (I'd be worried about keeping my driver's licence with the turbo petrol). You keep saying 'weak as piss,' 'no better than what he has now'. I don't know on what basis though. For a start the vehicle mass is much higher than his old falcon which helps it to tow higher weights more safely. Add to that 4wd is advantage on slippery boat ramps.

The territory i looked at is only 2wd the goods it has the heavy duty towbar fitted and it has lpg, looked like it may have a leaky oil pan which is easy for me to fix, the seller has offered it for $2800

I will be keeping the ford LTD V8 to run mum around in i'll be chipping in for her rego

Thoughts? Its the cheapest territory on the market at $2800

Quote Originally Posted by gazza2006au View Post
    Thoughts? Its the cheapest territory on the market at $2800
    My thoughts - you're crazy throwing money at a new car + rego + insurance when you haven't tried the BMT behind your Fairlane that you've already spent money on and which you won't get back. Provided a 5 point hitch ($130) provides the clearance to get the drawbar over the top of your driveway, I'd be quietly confident that it'll tow, launch and retrieve your boat without issue.

Hey Moph the V8 will go in my mums name her rego i just chuck in half (old age pensioner rego) it will likely get driven twice a week for hospital visits

The territory will be the daily if my mum can get in and out of the territory i'll aell the V8

The driveway clearance is only one factor, than there will be pulling up a slipery ramp, and the soft rear susspension on the V8 plus 4 blokes in the car

Quote Originally Posted by billfisher View Post
    The naturally aspirated petrol Territory has heaps of power and torque for towing (I'd be worried about keeping my driver's licence with the turbo petrol). You keep saying 'weak as piss,' 'no better than what he has now'. I don't know on what basis though. For a start the vehicle mass is much higher than his old falcon which helps it to tow higher weights more safely. Add to that 4wd is advantage on slippery boat ramps.
    Sure, plenty of power, probably a similar amount to what he has now but I don’t think that’s the problem. Gaz is clearly very mindful on fuel efficiency, hit a hill in that territory it will drink faster than you or I on a Friday afternoon. Ford aren’t exactly known for their gearbox and diff reliability, well exemplified by Gazza’s Fairlane. He’s already considering a bigger boat and as much as I disagree with Gaz on many things, credit where it’s due and he does give his projects his best shot, three years ago people were giving him shit for wanting to do this project, now he’s on the home straight to getting it wet, so what would be the point of buying a Territory to replace the Fairlane that still won’t tow a bigger boat reliably and ultimately still going to produce the same dilemma down the track?

The Territory uses the ZF six speed transmission, same as BMW uses. It's totally different to his old Fairlane. It will tow and retrieve more than the Fairlane for the reasons I pointed out. Whether a 23 foot boat is a good question but that's getting near the upper limit for a trailer boat. . PS: there aren't many hills going down the M5 from western Sydney to the coast and it will still use less than an old V8. You will use far more once you are out on the water.

A problem i forgot about is the transmission specialist said the V8's transmission is well worn and very dirty he said it may last 50,000kms and to stay close to home as in Sydney he said to just drive it untill the transmission dies, to rebuild it cost $2200 and he said good luck finding a second hand transmission

I probably cant get a TD territory for 4k, i found a misubishi challenger early model v6 low gear never been offroad, are these any good?
    they are a pig , running the 3.0 magna engine, no guts , mate has one and tows his camper , only 600kg auto trans light comes on

Hey Moph the V8 will go in my mums name her rego i just chuck in half (old age pensioner rego) it will likely get driven twice a week for hospital visits

The territory will be the daily if my mum can get in and out of the territory i'll aell the V8

The driveway clearance is only one factor, than there will be pulling up a slipery ramp, and the soft rear susspension on the V8 plus 4 blokes in the car
    the fairlane is a nice car , factory sunroof V8 etc , watch those car yards trying to sweat you , in a car yard they mark that car up too 8-9k
    replacement tow car for a potential 23 footer , ford terry AWD argubuly best engine ever made , landcruiser 80 old and trusty , jeep v8 quadra drive and comfort , all have fulltime drive systems , very safe on wet roads ,

A problem i forgot about is the transmission specialist said the V8's transmission is well worn and very dirty he said it may last 50,000kms and to stay close to home as in Sydney he said to just drive it untill the transmission dies, to rebuild it cost $2200 and he said good luck finding a second hand transmission
    plenty of wreckers around , would have a second hand auto $400 tops , ive never heard of a ford gearbox failing, holden however ha ah

Sorry Cobbo just seen your last post, my brother bought a brand new territory back in 2004-2005 for full cost about 45k he done 160k and its been sitting in his driveway for over 2 years now, vandalised by my nephew and trashed but the engine and transmission should still be good