Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Botany Bay. Bait/Tackle shops, and Flathead.

Botany Bay. Bait/Tackle shops, and Flathead.

G'day to all. I am new to fishing in Botany Bat - I have travel about an hour to launch at Foreshore Dr, but am retired, so iI'm happy to do it. I have 2 questions. one, can anyone recommend a good bait and tackle shop in the area. By that I mean someone who sells decent bait etc, and maybe give some good advice. Two, I would like to catch a decent flathead in the Bay, George's River etc area. How do I go about this? Thanks to all. yugrewop.

Re: Botany Bay. Bait/Tackle shops, and Flathead.

Hi Yugrewop, Macs Bait Bar on Tom Uglies bridge is the go for bait.
    If you want to get onto some Botany Bay flathead the best bet is softplastics on the shallow flats. If your not a soft plastics man go to Gumtree and buy some snapper flashers and just drift the bay until you find them. Dont buy the cheap ones as they dont last. The best ones are the handmade ones. They are deadly on Flathead, reusable and your a good chance of picking up a flounder or two as well.

Buy yourself a Nipper pump and get some for bait, all sorts of fish go for them, if you are just after a feed (not catch and release) it's pretty hard to beat small live Mullet, that you can easily catch yourself too.

Used to get plenty of trevally round Mollineaux Pt. Close to the rocks and get a good barley trail going.

If you really want to get to know the bay quickly your best bet is to buy the Sydney Harbour/Botany Bay book by Gary Brown and to take a charter with Scotty Lyons https://www.fishingsydney.com.au/cat...shing-reports/
    I started fishing the bay based on Gary Browns recomendations but didnt really crack the code until i went out with Scotty a few times.
    Live bait is great if you have the time but for a feed of flatties drifting with good quality snapper flashers is the most effective.