Page 7 of 233 FirstFirst 123456789101112131415161757107 ... LastLast

Thread: Vintage Inboard Cruisers to Centre Console Conversion

Re: Vintage Inboard Cruisers to Centre Console Conversion

I guess it's not that they are too close, it's just hard to work out exactly what you are looking at in some pictures. Cutting it to bits is the hardest part.

Might have been easier access if you had cut the top section further forward (a foot or so into the cockpit) and lifted the whole top off. That's how a mate did his Haines. Lot less to repair when you put it back together too.

Yeah Noel a few cut knuckles that glass is all mighty sharp i'm glad the worse part is almost finished that is cutting the glass skin off the transom in a awkward position holding the grinder, removing the stringers will be easy as

Scott i thought about cutting just in front of the splash well but i really wanted to keep the most structure possible i didnt want any sagging or the gunnels to bow out, its a bit more work this way but i'm pretty sure nothing will move when clamped up or when i walk around inside the boat

Actually kind of getting nervous about glassing the transom in i really dont want to screw it up, previous experience glassing the bmd boat sometimes the resin was going off in 15mins i'm thinking i will need a good 30-35mins working time to get it all right i dont want to rush but know i will

I found mixing resin in smaller batches and working sections at a time so the fresh stuff went on before the last one went off was much better, also make sure of quantities, most home handymen put too much hardener just to make sure it goes off, and then it goes off too fast.

I hear that Noel that is why im mmore inclined to go with epoxy i'm looking at using the West System its a added expensice since its the most costly but i think its better than using polyester as the poly hardener there is a good chance to muck it up

I've decided the transom outer skin has to be replaced i have been thinking about it a lot and it must go its doing my head in thinking about the 70 odd screw and bolt holes thru it plus the two large bogged cracks from the engines lower mount i think if i keep it all those holes and repairs will play on my mind

The holes won't matter because you will have glass inside anyway, it's pretty hard to get a good finish on exterior gel coat, it will need sanding and filling numerous times.

Yeah i'm taking that option over a possibly leaky transom i agree there will be a few coats and sanding to get it all flat with no defects i would rather do it now than use the old skin and possibly have a screw hole seep water in from any of the 70 holes and sit stagnant and maybe work its way into the ply i really dont want to be replacing the transom in 2-3 years

I havent decided if to do a full respray the top half needs it but the lower half is pretty good just got to match the new transom skin if it looks odd i'll paint it all

I vacuum around the transom today there is still a bit of work to be done and i can see where the original transom wasnt fully mated with the bottom of hull there is a whole strip of glue that was barely touched by the plywood

Decided today i am going to rip the bench seats out next than finish off cutting back the ass end i'll clean it all up and post progress

Finding it difficult to find 25mm exterior ply with the special glue, also the stringers are 20mm, ply comes in 18mm 25mm so untill i actually remove all the stringers i wont know what i have to work with

Worked on the boat this afternoon no gloves ripped up the front two seats had a shower than went to coles grabbed 2 things than picked up deoderant and started walking to the counter the chick in the express chechout was trying to talk to me i was dazed, walked out of coles and felt like absolute crap like i was going to pass out now have a cracking head not an actual head ache tho feel like the flu but im not sick

Think when u was putting my hands under the seat i may have been bitten by a spider

Probably all sorts of spiders hiding in boats, wouldn't surprise me at all. Don't know about the ply, have you tried a specialist place (not Bunnings)? 25mm would be best, or just laminate layers until it's the thickness you want.

Personally I would laminate. Then even if water gets into one thickness it may not get into all of them. Either that or shell out for one lot of coosa or thermo lite - then it wont matter so much and you can leave the original transom skin there (structurally the best option) and just repair it.

laminate timber is used for everything these days, agree with Scottar to go that option, in Penrith at Meyer timber ive seen laminates as long and thick and wide as you can imagine.

Yeah there were absolutely crap loads of spiders in this boat there were still a few walking around yesterday but anyhow i feel so much better today back to normal it was very weird almost collapsed walking out of coles

Coosa board is one option i contacted the AU dealer over a week ago and was told i would get a call back but no call came than i was looking for some fiberglass products and came across some Thermolite on ebay its only 1200x1200 sheet it is the same stuff as Coosa board not cheap about $500

I will go the CB if i can finda price on it and if its available here i will just need to save a penny here and there to buy it

Noel here's better pictures of the transom (top looking down) that is if my pictures don't rotate i have one more tip run shortly than we can all see the blank hull to work with

EDIT: just got off the phone to the thermoliteboard guy he said to use 19mm board and build it up to 25mm i mentioned i have 25mm plywood transom so i would need to build up that 19mm sheet to around 30mm thats 11 layers of cloth sound right to u guys?

Quote Originally Posted by gazza2006au View Post
    It must be an absolute shit job getting up under the gunnel corner and the transom cap someone has just bogged a whole ball of chopped strand mat in a big mess probably hopping for the best, i might save my glass windows and pre wet out my cloth over the glass than layer it up under this location instead of trying to do all that on my back
    Don't bother trying to re-glass it from underneath. Just taper back the existing glass in the splashwell and glass up from the top. Did you keep the part of the splash well you cut out? if so, its a piece of piss to glass it back in.

Don't cut the rear transom skin out. As you laminate in the new core plenty of resin will leak out of the old holes. Grind back, taper out and then glass them up. Heaps easier than trying to build and fair a new skin.

I did my transom in Bote Cote epoxy. I found it very easy to work.

Have been stressing about getting the boat registered before i carry on anymore work,i just went onto the RMS web site and found a mobile boat coder who is happy to carry out the work, cost is $160 to get a hin validation registration is $110 + sticker/numbers the bloke will come to my house and do it in the backyard, the bit i was stressing about was getting the boat in its current condition on that rusty old trailer to a boat coder and back

Quote Originally Posted by CT View Post
    Don't bother trying to re-glass it from underneath. Just taper back the existing glass in the splashwell and glass up from the top. Did you keep the part of the splash well you cut out? if so, its a piece of piss to glass it back in.

Don't cut the rear transom skin out. As you laminate in the new core plenty of resin will leak out of the old holes. Grind back, taper out and then glass them up. Heaps easier than trying to build and fair a new skin.

I did my transom in Bote Cote epoxy. I found it very easy to work.

Hey Craig, that sounds piss easy i was having some bad thoughts about how i would fit into the tight area under the splash well to glass it and keep it neat as possible

bote cote is one option or a local guy who sells the thermolite also sells epoxy but is 5:1 ratio

i calculated the entire boat will cost around $3000 to build the stringers, floor and transom from thermolite (7sheets) a bit pricey plywood is around $350 what would u go with mate?

i asked about seacast but they charge minimum USD$650 for any size order a one flat delivery fee, there is Arjays and Nida Core but both don't ship to Australia