Thread: Woodgate / Burrum River ..again

Woodgate / Burrum River ..again

Hey guys

Im lucky enough to have a week off on the Labour day long weekend of October & have decided to get back up to Woodgate to fish the Burrum River.

Does anyone have any fishing reports on the area? would love to hear how the wooden boat ramp is going, last time I was there they were in the process of fixing it up after the wild weather.

Any help would be great, thanks guys

Re: Woodgate / Burrum River ..again

Im heading up to Burrum in about an hour for the weekend.... then will be back up there again next weekend.....

hoping this warm weather has stirred the Jacks up!!!

The Mackerel will be on out the front for sure....

Cheers Lochie

I read somewhere that they are getting a new one million dollar boat ramp at Burrum Heads.
    bazza

Bazza,

Yep that is at Burrum heads.... already started i believe....

Think klf_86 is asking about the wooden one at woodgate.

hey guys, yeh i was curious about the wooden one. We use to use it years ago, but of an experience haha lots of fun tho.

Just had a report that things were a bit slow due to the strong northerlies, but the Mackerel were there a few weeks ago, lets hope this wind settles so we can get out there!

Not too concerned about the bad report, last time I was there the prawns were on & everyone said there were no fish around, but i had a great session on plastics the whole weekend I was there so staying positive.

Let me know how you go on the weekend snaperbasher

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	image.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	62.4 KB 
ID:	96757Hey Klf_86

Just about to head back to Brissie.... Plenty of grunter in the river had a good session just on dark yesterday with 5 fish up to 58cm on plastics.... Got a jack and flathead earlier in the day.. Was back out this morning right up the Gregory... Couldn't raise a jack but got 3 good flatties a bycatch....the close reefs seem to be quiet from all reports however as you know that's not always reliable....weather has been really good but the northerly has started blowing about 20kn as of an hour ago..... Looking forward to getting back next weekend....

Cheers Lochie

Hey klf_86

How did you go at woodgate?

Hey snapperbasher, yeh just got back fishing was slow, got a few GTs in the Channels but concentrated on targeting Jacks in the mangroves and ended up with a nice Jack, lost a few too but highlight was a nice 72cm Threddy and a Barra! All on Plastics, so fishing was slow but the species we were catching made up for it. Got a few muddies too, Cant wait to go again!

I'm at Burrum at the moment trying to chase some Mackerel but I'm struggling to find any about. These northerlies aren't helping
    Shane

Mate there were plenty at the 8 mile 2 weeks ago....funny enough they would only eat pillies on the bottom..... generally I can spin them up on metals but they must have been lazy!!

Northerlies make it very difficult up there....

I have had good success trolling up towards woodgate in the past....just run north/south parallel to the beach in about 8 - 10mtrs of water....

Cheers Lochie

how far up the river where you for the barra

Lochie the pros have been netting the 8mile this week so that probably hasn't been helping things.
    Shane

Yeah I heard that when I was up there... Do you know for a fact they are netting it or only heresay?..... When I was there a pro in a big tinny came over from Toogoom and was spinning metals..... He did have a big net rolled up on a drum just in front of his console..... I wondered if he was spinning metals to see if there were any Mack's there.... Pretty ordinary that they net one of the only close reefs to Burrum....perfectly legal though I guess....do you have marks for Soppirs? It usually fishes reasonably well for Mack also.... Gets a bit less pressure and is slightly closer to the river...

Hi mate

I don't know for a fact that the pro was netting but as I was leaving the 8 mile a pro was sounding around. He may have had rods but I didn't see any, Just saw the big net.

I've never heard of Soppirs! Where abouts is that? Any marks would be appreciated. I've been here a week now with no fish boated
    Shane

G'day Lochie,

How far off the beach do you find the 10metres of water. Also, is there much structure there? Heard that a heap of crap had been dumped in the area from the floods.

Cuzza