Page 1 of 35 1234567891011 ... LastLast

Thread: Wooli NSW M&G 16th March 2013

Wooli NSW M&G 16th March 2013

Okay here we go, been planning to make a plan for way too long now

WOOLI/MINNIE WATER M&G IS ON

Boat Hog and I have looked at a few dates that will suit most punters with Jim looking closely at the tides for boats to traverse the Wooli bar and come up with 16th/17th March 2013

some tide information from Boat Hog

Friday 15th March (times adjusted for DST & local tide difference +10 min)
    First Light 6.23 am
    Sunrise 6.47 am
    Low Tide 5.47 am, 0.42 M
    Tide Change (start of run in) 6.42 am - later if there is a lot of fresh water
    High Tide 11.44 am, 1.46 M
    Tide Change (start of run out) 12.44 pm

Sat 16th March
    First Light 6.24 am
    Sunrise 6.48 am
    Low Tide 6.23 am, 0.49 M
    Tide Change (start of run in) 7.23 am - later if there is a lot of fresh water
    High Tide 12.33 pm, 1.36 M
    Tide Change (start of run out) 1.33 pm

Sun 17th March
    First Light 6.24 am
    Sunrise 6.48 am
    Low Tide 7.08 am, 0.55 M
    Tide Change (start of run in) 8.08 am - later if there is a lot of fresh water

I am looking into a house and will be there for a week from Friday 15th March

some activities on offer in this area

deep sea via Wooli Bar chasing pelagics, snapper, Pearlies etc

deep sea via Minnie Water lagoon (4WD beach launch) great for the smaller boats

river fishing (boat or shore) this includes Mud Crabs

beach and breakwall fishing

4WDing up to Sandon Village or Pebbly Beach if weather not suitable for fishing

Stan does Fishing Charters from Wooli if that floats ya boat

Wooli Pub for feeds and meeting spot, also has rooms available with plenty of parking space down the back (ask for a members card )

cleaning table pontoon on the river I am told (haven't seen it yet) + cleaning table at ramp

possibility for an overnighter at North Solitary Island, there are heaps of Marine Parks mooring buoys in the sheltered bays with excellent diving opportunities

Chinese restaurant at the Bowling Club that I always have to get a feed from

there are a range of cabins as well as river front camp sites that you can tie your small boat up to at the caravan park next door to the Pub
    http://www.solitaryislandsresort.com.au/

holiday house accommodation can be found at the Wooli real estate, they have a lot of cabins close to the pub too
    http://www.awhimaway.com.au/

the bad

NSW fishing licence required

Marine Park no fishing zones everywhere (RED means stop fishing in NSW)

cheers Murf

the list so far (thanks Jim )

So far, from those who have mentioned their attendance on this thread, the list of who's coming .......

Murf

Boat Hog + Julie

Muddy Toes

cobiaman

trymyluck + Apollo

hooknpull

netmaker

the lump

fishfeeder

2IC

Tropicrows

burleygu

Captain Seaweed

madmackeral

Stansy

Humdinger

Goodoo haven

rob tranter (pending birth of first grandchild)

mattooty

coucho

Anyone else planning on coming? Any changes?

Re: Wooli NSW M&G 16th March 2013

Well it looks like the dynamic duo from Cockroach land have come up with a winning location. I visited that area a year or so ago for a day trip and cant wait to get back there for a fish. Sign me up
    What will be the main targets at that time of year Murf?

Quote Originally Posted by Horse View Post
    Well it looks like the dynamic duo from Cockroach land have come up with a winning location. I visited that area a year or so ago for a day trip and cant wait to get back there for a fish. Sign me up
    What will be the main targets at that time of year Murf?
    Mackerel season so there will be a selection of Spotties and Spanish just out the front a couple of Km or at North Solitary Is there are Wahoo, Spanish, tuna and Marlin. A bit further out there is a FAD that is normally loaded with Dollies and Wahoo lurking around them

cheers Murf

Just got a glimpse of next years roster and it looks like Murf's nailed it for me......

Yewwww!!!Back to the home land for a M&G....sign me up
    Last edited by mod2; 02-12-2012 at 09:59 AM.

Sounds good Murf, probably looking at the week as well.

No such thing as a fat alcoholic, just fat piss pots...

Hey murf and boat hog.. I'm going to come up for that one.. I'll probably stay from Friday to Monday at a cabin at a caravan park... cheers!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Muddy Toes View Post
    Just got a glimpse of next years roster and it looks like Murf's nailed it for me......

Yewwww!!!Back to the home land for a M&G....sign me up
    I didn't know u was a cockroach...

Quote Originally Posted by hooknpull View Post
    I didn't know u was a cockroach...
    Coz you weren't at the Agnes Water / 1770 M&G cook off.

Takes a true cockroach (or a very silly one for that matter) to rock up in the middle of a QLD redneck hillbilly hoedown in a blues jersey.

Toned down for you Mod2

so, where is wooli and will i need woolies at that time of year?
    fishing's as simple as 3 P's - patience, perserverance and PLASTIC!

Quote Originally Posted by netmaker View Post
    so, where is wooli and will i need woolies at that time of year?
    No need for Woolies at Wooli especially if you have MM to snuggle up to

For those that are saying WTF is Wooli just think a bit up from Coffs. A shot of a Garmin Chart is attached (depth in feet) . The islands are only about 6 or 7 NM offshore so small boats are looking good for this one. My charts don't show the Green/Red Zones so they probably don't count for Queenslanders
    Attached Files Attached Files

342km's, 3hr 52 mins from Brisvegas......

Quote Originally Posted by Muddy Toes View Post
    Coz you weren't at the Agnes Water / 1770 M&G cook off.

Takes a true cockroach (or a very silly one for that matter) to rock up in the middle of a QLD redneck hillbilly hoedown in a blues jersey.

Toned down for you Mod2
    I'm pretty certain that only someone sober would remember what you were wearing that night ...... and there weren't exactly too many of them around!

Quote Originally Posted by Crunchy View Post
    342km's, 3hr 52 mins from Brisvegas......
    and 25mins drive from the Pacific HWY with boat in tow

just spent a glorious day at Wooli eating king prawns and fat Wooli oysters fresh shucked

house booked for 9 days (its just a "HACK" of a thing on the beach)

cheers murf

Yeah.....probably a good explanation why I looked in the car mirror on the way to the tav and saw at least 8 heads in the back.