Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Safeguarding Queensland's Marine Resources: another LNP fishing policy announcement

Re: Safeguarding Queensland's Marine Resources: another LNP fishing policy announceme

Quote Originally Posted by Lucky_Phill View Post
    I like that idea.

might talk to the boss and see if we should follow the " Act ".

LP
    LOL..we aren't the media Phill..and you have the power..lock all those political threads...they are good comedic relief though.

Let's get back to more serious issues..grog in supermarkets and the check out dividers..these are things that really matter.

Re: Safeguarding Queensland's Marine Resources: another LNP fishing policy announceme

But we are........... we are " Social Media ".

I didn't have " spacer " issues today.......... I went through the 12 items or less Checkout......

But, I did see a yummy mummy fondling the Lebanese cucumbers....... pity I was in a hurry, because that is a great conversation starter...

LP

come on rando sunfish has it all under control,no need to worry
    Quote Originally Posted by rando View Post
    Ask a commercial fisherman whether the beliefs of recreational fishermen upset him.

If Mark Robinson wants to represent me in the parliament of Queensland as the minister in charge of fisheries, he better bloody listen to what I want to happen in Queenslands fisheries,,, and attempt to achieve it because thats what I will be paying him a fat salary to do.

rando

[QUOTE=bg1000;1363135]Can't beleive the negativity on here. Everyone whinges about net fishing and then the moment someone announces something that may help out, you pick every little thing he has to say apart. No wonder he does not answer your questions.

Now you all will probly have a go at me for pointing this out.

/QUOTE]

Licence buy backs do work - no doubt about it ! - However what most of us realise that what Mark has proposed is just a election stunt that has just been thrown out there to make us fishoes all warm and fuzzy about the LNP.
    $10M (buyback) will do SFA for Qld ..... add to that it is voluntary .. Those that will sell are those that are looking for a golden parachute prior to retirement - and then they will want a mint for it . So how many licences will be bought with $10 M ...... ?? 50 maybe .. a 100 How many licences are in circulation between the Tweed & Noosa ? - A 100 plus ........ so what about the rest of the state ?.

The only way to get real benefit is to buyout all licences within a estuary system or region - ( Noosa , Moreton bay , Tweed ,Fraser , Curtis Is , Townsville , Cairns , Mackay etc etc ) ...... as part of an overall strategy . Yes peoples livelihoods would be lost but sadly commercial net fishing is neither sustainable or the way forward.
    I would rather see the nets taken out of the system & money put into the development aquaculture ( business models have to change)....... lets face it - a hell of a lot of the fish eaten these days is farmed anyway!
    As for those commercial fishermen - I've met / seen quite a few in my travels over the years the one thing that stands true ....... they are only in it for the money & will take as much as they can (or allowed to ) - Anyone who saw their behavior at Gladstone from the 1st Feb 2011 can attest to that ....... taking of 100s of tonne of Awoonga escapee barra - that were neither fit for human consumption but worst still sold as wild fish - and then ..... a high percentage of the catch was rejected and dumped .
    They see their licence as a right to plunder and make as much as they can ........ No it's time to move on ....... besides Rec fishing is worth so much more to this state than commercial fishing anyway - time for the pollies to realise it! (NSW did over 10 years ago ..... and NT did it with their barra fishery even longer still.)

A good policy from the LNP to reverse the stampo duty increases (Suits me anyway).
    http://www.candoqld.com.au/policies/...ing-stamp-duty

Now, my question to Mark,
    If THIS policy can be reversed, WHY cant the Can Do team REVERSE the huge increases on Regos? Why state that the rego increases are such a "rip off" but the LNP policy is to "freeze" them? (What does freeze the mean anyway? Does this just mean freeze until the next hike in 12 months time??). So, CanDo reverse the rego hike? Or Cant Do???
    You are all for us "fisho's" and keeping the cost down for us to go fishing (remember your slagging off the Fed Lab carbon tax), this is something you do have some power over (forget federal issuses).

Me, I dont really have a problem with the rego costs (as long as the money is used where it needs to be) BUT I do have a problem with the LNP going on about the "unfair" rego increases but doing nothing about them. To freeze them says you agree with them, do not tell me otherwise. If you DO NOT agree with them...... then reverse them!

I reckon that is simple.

Mark, I reckon it is time for you to "grow some" and answer some of the questions put to you on this forum. You seem to find time to use it as an advertisment for the LNP but are no where to be seen after you "drop the bomb" (as mentioned by someone else).

If you want the votes, then treat the people here with some respect.

All of this stuff about fishing policies is a bit academic.

If the LNP gets elected to government, discretionary policies affecting recreations like fishing are likely to be so far down the priority list for the first term of government that I reckon that you won't see any implementation of anything at all until the second year of their second term.

By that time, Phill will have resigned his membership in frustration and joined the Labor Party.

Thumbs up Re: Safeguarding Queensland's Marine Resources: another LNP fishing policy announceme

Phillet your fish , Mark my words

Reduce RecBoat rego's by 50% now , and only CPI increases in future

Allow one(1) rod one(1) hook in present NFZ's

Reinstate the Snapper bag limit to 5min.

Declare the VMR/Coastguard as "Essential Services" and fund adequately from Cons.Rev.

Quarantine any RecFishing fines into an audited "Honey Pot" to supplement further arti reefs.
    ....AND.... I'd be as happy as a Pig in Mud

Over to you Mark , please do your best to "Deliver" on our behalf.
    Last edited by Gazza; 17-03-2012 at 02:45 PM. Reason: pink drink speling correction within qte

Quote Originally Posted by Homer_Jay View Post
    A good policy from the LNP to reverse the stampo duty increases (Suits me anyway).
    http://www.candoqld.com.au/policies/...ing-stamp-duty

Now, my question to Mark,
    If THIS policy can be reversed, WHY cant the Can Do team REVERSE the huge increases on Regos? Why state that the rego increases are such a "rip off" but the LNP policy is to "freeze" them? .
    The reason is that if you add the ALP-Green Federal Debt per QLD'er to the ALP-Green State QLD Debt per QLD'er we have a per capita debt higher than that of Greece. Have you seen what has been going on in Greece???? If China stops buying our dirt we'll be in the same boat. Maybe Kate Jones' partner can give some of his $450,000 taxpayer funded salary to paying off the debt? Or maybe Blights partner with his $300,000 taxpayer funded salary..... Then they have the hyde to go on about Campbell's "web of lies and deceit" Seeehhhhss!!!! Oh and for the record - I'm not voting LNP. I'll be voting KAP No1; then Shooters and Fishers, then...then... then.... then LNP, Then ALP, Then other Leftards.

For 20 years the electorate has voted for idiots - and now we are paying our masters (eg foreign Bankers). I'm sure the ALP-Greens care though, that the working families they apparentley represent can't afford basic utility bills now...... Call me callous but if you voted for ALP-Green over the last 20 years and now you complain about utility bills / lack of fishing access etc...really, you have got what you voted for in the past... Growing up all my 40 years in and around Moreton Bay I have seen what these Leftards have done with their rules regulations and Fun Police. I hope they are consigned to the dustbin come Saturday.

Goes to show just how committed any of them are to real governance'
    The best they can do after supposedly consulting the stakeholders is a bogus voluntary buyback. A bogus dredging program, and some boat-ramps pontoons and artificials. To name but a few the miserable vote buying bribes

No real effort applied to the hard questions, just an poor attempt to be seen to be doing something.
    I am disgusted.

What is the bet that Marky will front again one or two nights before the election with some grandiose statement hoping we will take it as a bonus for the rec sector??

Personally i think the best thing that could be done by the next govt is to minimise the imports and exports much more tightly. This will shorten the number of commercial licences that are specialising in export and give the local markets more local fish and less crap and dangerous imports.
    The ramps, pontoons, arti reefs and freezing regos are just vote buyers and will not make much difference to the average Joe unless he uses that particular ramp.

Why should the govt go on about protecting the stocks yet let the stocks be reaped for export at the same time? All but close off the latter and the fish stocks will fare much better and we will get a real look at the domestic market and how it affects the stock levels.

I don't care if the coles and woolies must source local produce, I don't care if the Markwells and the Morgans and the rest of the coops must source locally, if they cherish their businesses they will adapt, if they don't they will close. The retail sector will still be here and the demand will be met with local seafoods, that have employed local people to harvest and sell.

Quote Originally Posted by frogfuzz View Post
    The reason is that if you add the ALP-Green Federal Debt per QLD'er to the ALP-Green State QLD Debt per QLD'er we have a per capita debt higher than that of Greece. Have you seen what has been going on in Greece???? If China stops buying our dirt we'll be in the same boat. Maybe Kate Jones' partner can give some of his $450,000 taxpayer funded salary to paying off the debt? Or maybe Blights partner with his $300,000 taxpayer funded salary..... Then they have the hyde to go on about Campbell's "web of lies and deceit" Seeehhhhss!!!! Oh and for the record - I'm not voting LNP. I'll be voting KAP No1; then Shooters and Fishers, then...then... then.... then LNP, Then ALP, Then other Leftards.

For 20 years the electorate has voted for idiots - and now we are paying our masters (eg foreign Bankers). I'm sure the ALP-Greens care though, that the working families they apparentley represent can't afford basic utility bills now...... Call me callous but if you voted for ALP-Green over the last 20 years and now you complain about utility bills / lack of fishing access etc...really, you have got what you voted for in the past... Growing up all my 40 years in and around Moreton Bay I have seen what these Leftards have done with their rules regulations and Fun Police. I hope they are consigned to the dustbin come Saturday.
    I have to ask..have you done any reasearch on the electorate you are voting in?

Quote Originally Posted by Gazza View Post
    Yeah mayer60 , ADD to that.....

Reduce RecBoat rego's by 50% now , and only CPI increases in future

Allow one(1) rod one(1) hook in present NFZ's

Re-Instate the Snapper baglimit to 5min.

Declare the VMR/Coastguard as "Essential Services" and fund adequately from Cons.Rev.

Quarantine any RecFishing fines into an audited "Honey Pot" to supplement further arti reefs.
    ....AND.... I'd be as happy as a Pig in Mud
    Yes- a flying pig in mud.

Well that 10million will not go far as others have said. The policy only needs a few tweaks to be a cracker. Mark Robinson, you want something for Rec Anglers to jump up and down about and only comitt 10million dollars and leave it open ended for future "advancements" of Rec Fishing and Tourism policy? Here's how a LNP policy should look (emphasis is mine).

Safeguarding Queensland's Marine Resources: another LNP fishing policy announcement
    A CanDo LNP will act to safeguard Queensland's marine resources for the future by ensuring we have an environmentally and economically sustainable fishing industry.
    An LNP Government will invest $10 million into a package which will help to restore the health and wellbeing of our fisheries and sustainability in the commercial fishing industry.

The LNP will grow a four pillar economy across our industry, and understands the importance of a viable seafood industry and the interests of the over 750,000 Queenslanders who enjoy recreational fishing.
    The tired 20 year Labor Government has ignored the needs of both Queensland seafood industry and our recreational fishers.
    Most fishing activity occurs in the East Coast Inshore Fin Fish Fishery, which operates up the entire Queensland east coast.
    Fishery management arrangements are complex, however all stakeholders agree that a reduction in fishing pressure is an important step in improving the health of our fishery.
    The LNP is committed to delivering a strong, viable, healthy and sustainable commercial fishing industry. Under the Bligh Labor Government the commercial fishing industry has struggled and many fishermen face an uncertain future.
    The LNP is committed to the health and wellbeing of our fisheries and will undertake a $10 million project to create the States first and Australia's largest Recreational Fishing Haven. The project will entail the mandatory buy back of all commercial netting and crabbing licences from the inland rivers and open beachs within the area of Point Cartwright on the Sunshine Coast to the most northern tip of Fraser Island(excluding the great sandy straights). This will ensure that the seafood resources in the rivers of Mooloolaba, Maroochydore and Noosa and all the open beaches between Point Cartwright and the tip of Fraser Island will only be accessible by Recreational Anglers. Additionally the CanDo LNP government will set up a salt water stocking program to return the Mooloolaba, Maroochydore and Noosa rivers commonly targeted fish stocks back to thier former glory days. This will ensure long term sustainability of commonly targeted species like, whiting, flathead, mulloway and mangrove jack simultaneously creating a fishing Mecca in the area which will boost tourism considerably-just one pillar of our four pillar economy.
    In addition, to ensure the long term sustainability of our fisheries, we will invest up to $1 million in a range of sustainability measures including enhanced monitoring of fisheries on a regional basis.
    This will be just one first step in ensuring the sustainability of our resources while enhancing the already billion dollar Recreational Angling industry already in place in Queensland.
    The LNP understands fishing is one of the most popular pastimes in Queensland, with an estimated 750,000 recreational fishers in this State. Fishing is very much a part of life in Queensland and with measures like these we will see an influx of fishing dollars entering the state from other parts of Australia and all over the world.
    It's time for a change. With your help a strong and united LNP Government will get Queensland back on track.

LNP Policy Commitments:
    • $10 million dollars to establish QLD's first and Australia's largest Recreational Fishng Haven and Saltwater Restocking program.
    • Restore the health of Queensland's fishery
    Democracy: Simply a system that allows the 51% to steal from the other 49%.

Quote Originally Posted by PinHead View Post
    I have to ask..have you done any reasearch on the electorate you are voting in?
    Yes Pinhead I have.

Quote Originally Posted by frogfuzz View Post
    Yes Pinhead I have.
    "I'll be voting KAP No1; then Shooters and Fishers, then...then... then.... then LNP, Then ALP, Then other Leftards."

what electorate is that...there are no shooters and fishers party candidates in the Qld election