Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast

Thread: Rod building weekend

Re: Rod building weekend

1 spot left guys.

Stu

Hi Guys

Being a member of the old Sydney Rod Buildiers club, and since moving north, it would be good to catch up with some others and chew the fat

Might even get some rod building in too.

See you guys there

Adrian

Quote Originally Posted by 2DKnBJ View Post
    It would be cheaper and quicker to fly down.
    If you change your mind you have a place to stay and i'm only 5 min from Pinheads place.

Cheers Dazza
    Gday Dazza , I did check the airfare prices and they are bloody cheap !!!. Next time.

There are now precisely ZERO places left. If you still want to come then send me a PM and I will put you on a waiting list in case some pulls out.

Stu

Adrian! Mate - catch up with you at the weekend. Awesome!

G'Day Dave, will be good to catch up - I'll give you a call when I get a chance

Adrian

Guys

Just a thought - if anyone wants to build a rod over the weekend, and doesnt want to spend too much money, we could order in some OEM style blanks -> read cheaper end blanks. Would probably have to get them from one of the big suppliers from the states as I dont know anyone locally that stocks this sort of thing. The blanks that come to mind would be in the region of $15 to $20 each for light to medium, 6 to 7ft IM6 graphite spinnig blanks. If theres any interest, we can place an order and get them shipped in and save some $ on postage.

Any takers?

I am happy to organise this.

Adrian

PS - I built some rods on OEM blanks from this supplier about 8 years ago, and they are all still going strong, and get more use than most other rods I own, the quality of graphite is not up there, but neither is the price, and they have proven very durable.

You mean Mudhole blanks??
    Nice blanks for the money and now's the time to order in.

I'm keen for some more
    I intend on living for-ever....so far so good

Quote Originally Posted by finga View Post
    You mean Mudhole blanks??
    Nice blanks for the money and now's the time to order in.

I'm keen for some more
    Thats the ones - didnt want to spell it out too much though. $US to $AUD is pretty good and it makes these pretty good value for what they are.
    Let me know soon as the order will have to go in next week so we get them in time. send email to argh71 at yahoo.com - the PM box is too small here. Shipping would obviously be split, but they can put a few blanks in a tube and is makes it affordable then.

Adrian

Oi Ian...are you going to bring your weaving gismo??

I wouldn't mind having a go at a very simple weave this year.

scott i,ll bring them up.
    what kind of weave are you going to do? a single colour weave is an easy 1 to start with
    ian

Scott,
    Why not start with something simple.
    Like your name?

Owen

The whole world's mad save thee & me (but I'm not too sure about thee)

Yeah, good one Owen.
    We have a vinyl cutter and do a few signs for people around the traps and that design is what we started putting on as a bit of a joke. The old middle finger and then signs written afterwards so it'll be finga signs....
    Now the young fella's just want the finga for some reason.

And a bit of trivia for you fella's. Palfinger cranes' first logo was the middle finger but they had to change it due to public outcry. Now it's the index finger.
    How's that for useless crap to be stored in some ones brainbox??

But back to the story....So how big would that design be in A thread?
    How long do you reckon a complete novice would take to do it?

And thanks matey. Thanks for the thought and time taken to create a masterpiece.

Now. Where's Phil's rod???

Scott,
    The aproximate finished size is on the layer details page.
    Actual results depend on how tight you pack and the tension on the wrap thread.
    It's fit on a bream rod though.
    Took all o 10 minutes I s'pose.
    I didn't do any tidying up to speak of, so you couuld easily change it a bit to make it look better.

It's a pretty basic weave, so just about any goose should be able to do it.
    Probably the only tip with one like this that has threads that only stay visible for one or two turns is not to tighten them too much as you can pull the wrap thread under them down below the level of the adjacent threads and it (the design thread) won't be visible as the adjacent wrap threads tend to go over the top of it.

This is how it SHOULD be
    ......... _
    OOO_/O\_OOOThis is what happens if you tighten the thread too much

OOOO_OOO <- These threads will go over top of the design thread
    . ...._/O\_
    Owen

The whole world's mad save thee & me (but I'm not too sure about thee)

Perfect. Thanks so much Owen.

So if we send Phil up the road to get a loaf of bread we could have it on and a coat of resin on before he gets back.
    I'm thinking black background and hazard orange finger.