Thread: UHF channels

UHF channels

OK...now I've got Mrs Palmer and she has a UHF installed in the dash I've been listening a bit on it mainly for traffic reports and I've come to the realisation that the UHF on land is worse then VHF on the water for tossers.
    Channel 7 seems to be the worst affected by the Mrs Palmer syndrome.
    So which users mainly use what channels?? ie truckies channel 40.
    Cheers then
    I intend on living for-ever....so far so good

Re: UHF channels

lol, welcome to UHF . it i somewhat disgusting what gets said and goes on, on channel 7 thats for sure! the funny thing is it's the same people over and over doing it. mainly towing companies i think.

some UHF info for you here http://www.uhfcb.com/UHF--Channel-Infomation.php

scott you might also find truckies using chan 29 down your way or at least goldcoast area and south. Brisbane usually chan 40

yeah 7 is full of tossers or uhf nerds with no jobs! 40 is all i have mine on! plenty tossers there too!

Scott ,

go thru and take the undesireables out of your scanning mode ie channel 7.. I find most good info is on 27 29 and 40

What unit do you have.. I just put a new model GME TX3100 in he new truk

Retired Honda Master Tech

With the uhf i generally only use it west of Dalby and then only channel 40 and out there it's a great tool , to help with passing long vehicles and grey nomads and also recieving useful info like stock on the roads or poor road conditions ahead. There are very few mrs palmers using it out there but once yourthis side of the range there is no way you can have it on with the kids in the car, its a shame really as i would leave it on more often, i find it amazing that some poeple are that primative that they cant have a conversation without expletives for every second word!!
    Alcohol doesn't agree with me, but i sure do enjoy the argument!!!

Ta guys and I have quickly come to the realisation that people the other side of the range must have had sheltered lives as the method of communication is far less descriptive then it is around Brisbane.
    Yesterday I had a day tripping around the various doctors so needed a laugh so I went to channel 7. Total tossers there...but they amused me. But in saying that if kids or my mum were in the car the radio would be off.
    Some very useful info from 40 ie traffic and flash for cash reports.

Gary...A Uniden radio...I'll have to have a closer look to tell you what model. I haven't taken that much notice yet.
    It only took me two weeks to figure out the engine oil cooler on the front and another week to figure out the after-market switching in it.
    I only found the jack last week
    Now...where's the wheel brace
    I intend on living for-ever....so far so good

Quote Originally Posted by finding_time View Post
    With the uhf i generally only use it west of Dalby and then only channel 40 and out there it's a great tool , to help with passing long vehicles and grey nomads and also recieving useful info like stock on the roads or poor road conditions ahead. There are very few mrs palmers using it out there but once yourthis side of the range there is no way you can have it on with the kids in the car, its a shame really as i would leave it on more often, i find it amazing that some poeple are that primative that they cant have a conversation without expletives for every second word!!
    It's a handy piece of equipment when driving the roads in CQ. You certainly know when you're back in Brisbane.

I use 40 in Qld and 29 over the border.

Once out of Brisvegas, the conversations are sedate. I call up trucks that want to pass me ( when towing boat ), at the next overtaking lane.

I can listen in on accident reports, radars and mobile patrols.

Evil Knevil north bound.............. Candy Car....south bound..... Flash for cash.... uniform with a hair dryer............ Bears about..........Double Bubble ahead....etc etc

I can also call up the grey nomads in their slow going vans which usually have a UHF channel printed on the back of the van. " Shirley and Tom UHF 18 "....etc.

In Brisvegas, it is a nightmare........... funny though, when the swearing and abuse gets heated, most statements end in " bro ".... " ey ".

I had a GME and will install another similar one in the new truck asap.

Scotty, if you want fun, get a scanner...........

Phil, having just bought a new ute, i'm putting in a UHF and i'm thinking that knowing the meaning of 'flash for cash' would be very handy.
    What about the others? uniform with a hair dryer (cops/radar??) Bears About? Double Bubble?

Throw some water in my face. just realised they're all terms for cops. Flash for cash, speed camera?

Yes all terms relating to the boys in blue and their specific activities.

Evil Knevil. ..... cop on motorcycle

Candy Car........... highway patrol

Double Bubble....... marked police car

and many more.... you'll get used to them.

You know what the worse thing is... When you are in the middle of nowhere, out for a run with your mates and the 1 low frequecy channel you decide to use there are people already on it. We just all buy the coded ones these days (Dont know the correct term). But you choose a channel, then select a code number for that channel and it locks out and blocks out anyone who doesnt have the exact same code number as you.

Scanners are awsome fun. A mate use to have 1. This unit was HUGE. Took up most of the room ontop of his dash. I hope they have got smaller and more compact these days. Ive still got a few radar detecters laying around aswell. They are good until the blue birds changed their signal to laser. Then 6 months later out comes the new model thats cloaked. And then cops change again etc etc... Technology costs alot to keep up with.

Quote Originally Posted by BenDover View Post
    You know what the worse thing is... When you are in the middle of nowhere, out for a run with your mates and the 1 low frequecy channel you decide to use there are people already on it. We just all buy the coded ones these days (Dont know the correct term). But you choose a channel, then select a code number for that channel and it locks out and blocks out anyone who doesnt have the exact same code number as you.

It's called CTCSS C ontinuous T one C oded S queltch S ystem
    and you have to be careful using it
    as it only stops you hearing others, it doesn't stop others hearing you
    so it is not, like some people believe, a private channel
    most radios by default don't allow CTCSS on channels 31-38 as they are the input channels for repeaters(I'll get to my opinions on them later)

using the CTCSS feature should also be used with the busy channel lockout so you don't transmit over other uses on the channels, like maybe a wide load escort Others have every right to use the channel without people using CTCSS interfering with them , just because you can't hear them doesn't mean they aren't there

Scanners are awsome fun. A mate use to have 1. This unit was HUGE. Took up most of the room ontop of his dash. I hope they have got smaller and more compact these days. Ive still got a few radar detecters laying around aswell. They are good until the blue birds changed their signal to laser. Then 6 months later out comes the new model thats cloaked. And then cops change again etc etc... Technology costs alot to keep up with.
    Most UHF CBs these days come with extra receive channels that you can program yourself, so you have a CB and scanner in one
    Most of QLD and NSW are still using analogue for Police so you can listen to that

and for those on the Gold Coast Seaway Tower has a couple of cross band UHF freqs that transmit over from channels 91(hf) 16 and 73(VHF) marine freqs
    so you can drive to work and listen to all those lucky bastards out there catching the big GTs while you have to go to work
    plus if you want to hear all the goings on with the City Train system you can. better than the Police at times

As for the 7 Repeater in Brisbane
    I'd rather listen to that than the braindead morons who call themselves Professional Transport Drivers on 40
    mornings and afternoons on 40 is a disgrace to my chosen profession

at least for most of the day between 9am and 3pm you can hold a conversation on 7, same after about 6pm and before 6am
    those peak times are of course full of the braindeads going to and from their brain numbingly boring jobs that turn their brains to mush, hence their carry on

There are plenty of avid fisher folk and 4WDing types on 7 as well, been on a couple of fishing/camping trips with these guys
    maybe instead of hearing one loser yelling about his Big C%%K and turning off, have a listen and pick out the real people, and talk to them

As for the Radio Nerd comment made by Shano earlier in this thread
    Is it because you don't understand things technical that you call us Nerds??
    It's a hobby(do you have a hobby???) that takes lots of technical knowledge like most things electronic. In fact if you got to know some of these people, me included, we could maybe help you save a bucket load of cash on most things electronic, like maybe fixing your VHF marine radio, updating your GPS maps(both marine and car nav) even as far as helping you get the most out of your $300 UHF CB(lot of money to spend just to listen to moron truck drivers)
    If You Can't Run With The Dogs....... Stay On The Porch

We all use the internet.. That makes all of us nerds .

Roger that good buddy, over
    If You Can't Run With The Dogs....... Stay On The Porch