Page 9 of 15 FirstFirst 123456789101112131415 LastLast

Thread: River Rally - Post Moretum

Re: River Rally - Post Moretum

We need to also consider different ways of getting the message across because the more we do events like this the less interested the media might become in covering it. Sort of like suicides. They happen every day but do we hear about it?
    The only way to make it news worthy is to continue making it BIGGER and better so next time it would be a must to have at least 100-200 boats in attendance. Just my thoughs.

Last edited by Poodroo; 11-02-2008 at 10:16 AM.

He who aims at nothing is sure to hit it.

Re: Views of the washing machine today

Quote Originally Posted by Chris Ryan View Post

Kev - just in case you missed me mate, I was the big ugly bastard on the microphone between the two politicians.

The right man for the job then Chris................frighten the bastards to death

It was a pleasure to be there mate. My first outing in over 6 months and a bit of a rush to syphon off the old stale petrol but worth every minute of it. Sorry I was motoring around a bit whilst you were talking, but for some reason I just couldn't get the anchor to hold where I had initially been.

See my breeder fish photography here: https://kevindickinsonfineartphot.sm...opical-Fish-2/
    Quality digital copies free to Ausfishers............use as wallpaper or can be printed......size up to 20 x16. PM for details.

WELL DONE TO ALL INVOLVED!!!!!

My sincere apologies for not being able to attend yesterday but not for lack of trying! Wifey is carrying Deckie #2 and has 'all day' sickness at the moment, coupled with the fact we go on hol's Thursday, just couldn't escape on the weekend!

Nonetheless, i thought the CH7 coverage was excellent but they stated that there was approx '80' boats... I think someone stated earlier that other boaties were commending those who attended for sticking it up the pollies yet were still going fishing? ASTOUNDING!

IMO, the flipside is the investigation of some new artificial reefs in the Bay - i'm just waiting for the 'flea picking tree huggers' to jump up and down about this too... "oh the concrete will damage the environment blah blah blah...

Take Care T
    home is where the loan is...
    Helping people get the RIGHT Home Loan

That's right mate. We also need to keep changing the location and the type of protest. We went from land to water and it generated more news than any fisho protest before it.

With only 3 weeks really to go, we can't do another on water one as we need 90 days to get those approvals.

Some quick thoughts this morning (once some coffee set in) was something along the lines of a mass meeting point (or 3 different locations) for people to come and fill out submissions to the EPA and we can lodge them on their behalf as a service.

As a protest event, need more coffee.

Quote Originally Posted by Poodroo View Post
    Chris I guess there are already ideas in fruition about the next time but I would like to make a suggestion if we are to do another rally on the water. I think they are a great idea because at least we do not have traffic and traffic lights to split us up. My suggestion for the next one would be to let all of the smaller boats ie: tinnies etc to lead the pack. This way they will not have to endure such large wash from the larger boats which at times were very scary. We don't want to scare off any support from people all because they have smaller craft. If the big boats trail behind they can all handle the larger wash from themselves. Good idea or not?

My suggestion would be to go faster..sitting on 10 knots just leaves the bum of the boat buried and creating bigger wash...20 knots would have been far better.

Quote Originally Posted by Chris Ryan View Post

Some quick thoughts this morning (once some coffee set in) was something along the lines of a mass meeting point (or 3 different locations) for people to come and fill out submissions to the EPA and we can lodge them on their behalf as a service.

As a protest event, need more coffee.
    3 meeting points would split the numbers Chris, and wouldn't look as impressive as one big rally. I appreciate your thinking (convenience) but if we, and I mean all fishos, are serious about this, then we need to expect to be inconvenienced. Nothing is achieved without sacrifice. Whether it's Northside, or Southside, or how about outside EPA offices then we need to make the effort to be there.

See my breeder fish photography here: https://kevindickinsonfineartphot.sm...opical-Fish-2/
    Quality digital copies free to Ausfishers............use as wallpaper or can be printed......size up to 20 x16. PM for details.

Quote:
    Originally Posted by Poodroo
    Chris I guess there are already ideas in fruition about the next time but I would like to make a suggestion if we are to do another rally on the water. I think they are a great idea because at least we do not have traffic and traffic lights to split us up. My suggestion for the next one would be to let all of the smaller boats ie: tinnies etc to lead the pack. This way they will not have to endure such large wash from the larger boats which at times were very scary. We don't want to scare off any support from people all because they have smaller craft. If the big boats trail behind they can all handle the larger wash from themselves. Good idea or not?

My suggestion would be to go faster..sitting on 10 knots just leaves the bum of the boat buried and creating bigger wash...20 knots would have been far better.
    My left arm (tiller arm - which is now a seperate entity to the rest of me) agrees wholeheartedly.

Tinnies up front, all on the plane, and single file.
    Last edited by baitwaster; 11-02-2008 at 10:41 AM.

It's all well and good for the EPA to make some rules to control the the fish raping in Moreton bay, but if they are serious, they should think about the reefs where the poor boatie can only bring home 20-30 reef fish at a time for the "Relatives". I know you guys are OWED fish... You pay $50k plus for your boat.. Increasing fuel costs.. Rego... Strueth.. You should be able to take as many as you like.. After all they are a renewable resource. As for Crabs... They should make crab pots COMPULSORY.. There's nothing better than trapping a dangerous Sand Crab and boiling it alive.. It's about time we eradicated all fish and crustateons in the name of Family Boating...

Quote Originally Posted by PinHead View Post

10 knots, 20 knots I am flat ot doing 8.5 knots!!
    Barker Transport Logistic Services
    Transport Solutions for Every Job

For a fantastic adventure: www.mvwaiben.com

http://s269.photobucket.com/albums/jj63/Waiben/

There's nothing better than trapping a dangerous Sand Crab and boiling it alive
    I don't recall ever having cooked a crab alive.

Maybe we should stop all the poor cows from being turned into whoppers. And plants have a right to live too don't they?

You are right, we should stop the rec. fishing so that more pressure is put on commercial fishing to provide food. Hey! we could all turn vegetarian, then the run-off from farming would kill all the fish for us

Re: Some happy snaps of the rally

Was a good morning!! That poor bloke did have some kinda battery problem I went over early on to check on him and ended up getting Phil to tow him back into the group to anchor. Here is a couple of pics from the smallest boat on the day Was quite interesting going up and down the river in those conditions!! My partner dosn't want to EVER go on the Brisbane river again lol

Pics left to right.. Bru Guru's big rig showing lots of support, the group just before the talking started, our escort of 4 smaller and 1 large police boats and the first boat at anchor

Brandon...

I know the 2 stroke outboards hate idling for any length of time however I was thinking we should have allowed more time on the water and simply gone slower? Would have got more attention than boats flying past at 20 knots as suggested. At least people on the banks would have been able to read the messages on the boats. Should have just been a no wash situation or as I suggested do 10 knots and keep the small craft way up the front out of the wash of the bigger boats.

He who aims at nothing is sure to hit it.

Lol bait waster my left arm feels like it wants to fall off too the misses doesn't wanta go up the Brisbane River EVER again after that trip. I took 2 waves over the back, one was due to the police asking me to stop for a city cat that didn't end up leaving the dock (they were probably worried the cat wouldn't see my 3.7mtr tinny disappearing between the waves!)

It was all worth it though, I was so happy watching what channel 7 did for us! The choppa shot of the rally underway was impressive!!

I didn't get back in time to drop off the vest to you Phil, let me know what you would like me to do..

Brandon...

More rally pic's

Here's some pic's I took on Sunday. bit late sorry.
    I was on the shore as I'm boatless but it was still a great feeling to be there.

Michael

Hopefully a short vid of some of the boats waiting. More turned up after this was shot.

http://s27.photobucket.com/albums/c1...0022008006.flv