Thread: #2 floats but running like SH#T!!

Re: #2 floats but running like SH#T!!

Hi Scalem and Poodroo,

Thanks for filling us in on #2's maiden voyage. I've been waiting for your post with great anticipation. Sure, it could have gone better but it's a start. I'm sure you'll get that old beast tuned up in no time. Keep us up to date.

Beaut photos Kelly.

Brad

Hi there Poo!

Good to read that she was a floater! But a pity she was not a bit a faster on the water!

Glad that you go home safely.

Catch up soon!
    Janine

Hmmmm... dont know quite what to say here... had hoped it went better Droo... Did you get the sounder fitted? Did it go alright? Mate - if nothing else at least you have a few mates here that are willing to escort you out - including me - you'll get there - if only eventually... Days like that remind me why I upgraded to an electric start.

Good luck mate!!

Adam

Quote Originally Posted by For Steve View Post
    Hi Scalem and Poodroo,

Thanks for filling us in on #2's maiden voyage. I've been waiting for your post with great anticipation. Sure, it could have gone better but it's a start. I'm sure you'll get that old beast tuned up in no time. Keep us up to date.

Beaut photos Kelly.

Brad
    Thanks for your interest Brad. I am sure it won't be long before you will see #2 as a regular out on the water. I think it's becoming a bit of an Ausfish celebrity so I may not need to put AF stickers on it to identify it on the water.

Quote Originally Posted by Herm View Post
    Hi there Poo!

Good to read that she was a floater! But a pity she was not a bit a faster on the water!

Glad that you go home safely.

Catch up soon!
    Janine
    Thanks Janine. I am pleased that it at least ran well enough to return me home safe and for that I am appreciative. Will see you soon I am sure. Say g'day to Pete and the kids from Poodroo

Quote Originally Posted by Adamy View Post
    Hmmmm... dont know quite what to say here... had hoped it went better Droo... Did you get the sounder fitted? Did it go alright? Mate - if nothing else at least you have a few mates here that are willing to escort you out - including me - you'll get there - if only eventually... Days like that remind me why I upgraded to an electric start.

Good luck mate!!

Adam
    Yeah I was really hoping that it would be a rocket on the water too Adam but in the back of my mind I kind of knew I was expecting a lot from a motor that is of 1980's vintage and been sitting idle for nearly 4 years and showing 160 psi in one cylinder and only 70 psi in the other. After soaking it in decarbonizing spray and giving it a run the hope was for it to free itself up and improve but alas it was not meant to be. Improve it did but a second compression check revealed the bad cylinder reading 80psi. Better but not good enough. Now I am faced with the decision of pulling the motor down and doing a recondition which is scary because I have no clue as to what I am doing when it comes to the internal workings of a motor. If I had a friend with that kind of knowledge who I could stand next to and help during the rebuild I'd be a lot more comfortable about it. Will work something out I am sure. I have a sore arm from zip starting. Just one day like that is almost enough to make me upgrade to a newer motor. On a brighter note I did mount the sounder and yes it works fine. Very happy with it. I also bought a 27meg radio and antenna and fitted it and yesterday it all worked great.

Last edited by Poodroo; 06-05-2007 at 09:08 AM.

Well done Poodroo,

About time. No Doubt we will be seeing lots of photos of big fish from Mud and Wello. The kids will love the boat as soon as you acn get it to 100%.

Great Photos Kelly. Tell Dad to keep you on as the official photographer. Dad needs a lot of help as the photos of his Snapper seem to be a bit small but I know they are all monsters because he keeps telling me they are.

Good to see everyone out there Brian.

Frank OO

Okay motor problem solved.

Quote Originally Posted by Poodroo View Post
    Okay motor problem solved.

Solved??? Why is that because you dumped it and put on another??

I have a sore arm from zip starting. Just one day like that is almost enough to make me upgrade to a newer motor.
    Mate I remember the days and the reasons I upgraded in the first place - cause I felt like I was pulling my arm off trying to get it started. Also I was really conscious of the effect it had on my kids... after about 50 pulls as I started cursing, screaming kicking and swearing - finally when I had run out of strength (200 or more pulls)- curling up on the floor in fetal position murmuring and sobbing to myself.... just kidding (...about the kicking)

I think I told you that when I first got it - it started about 3rd time everytime - then I snapped the accelerator cable - took it to the outboard doctor and it never started the same again.... so yeh thats taking me back to the bad ole days.

Glad the sounder works well - think you'll be happy with it!

Adam

Solved??? Why is that because you dumped it and put on another??

Mate I remember the days and the reasons I upgraded in the first place - cause I felt like I was pulling my arm off trying to get it started. Also I was really conscious of the effect it had on my kids... after about 50 pulls as I started cursing, screaming kicking and swearing - finally when I had run out of strength (200 or more pulls)- curling up on the floor in fetal position murmuring and sobbing to myself.... just kidding (...about the kicking)

I think I told you that when I first got it - it started about 3rd time everytime - then I snapped the accelerator cable - took it to the outboard doctor and it never started the same again.... so yeh thats taking me back to the bad ole days.

Glad the sounder works well - think you'll be happy with it!

Adam
    Yeah Adam I still have the sore arm the day after. I was seriously considering rebuilding the old motor but I had to consider a few things. Firstly it was at least a 27 year old motor. Next was just how much it was going to cost to get it right. For someone like me who has no outboard mechanic know how it is simply not worth my while. As luck would have it this 2000 model 25 hp Tohatsu came along at the right price. Heard it running and it sounds mean. Have been warned not to open it up all the way. "Scary" was the word used. I think half throttle will suit me fine. Will see you on the water.

Sounds good!! - Thank heaven for good bosses huh!! Be good to hear about trip 2 with Poo in No.2!! Good luck!

Adam

Sounds good!! - Thank heaven for good bosses huh!! Be good to hear about trip 2 with Poo in No.2!! Good luck!

Adam
    Trip 2 is going to be tomorrow arvo most likely. Have a trip in the wee hours with Scalem which is planned to end pretty early so once I am home I will gather the family up and most likely launch from Carbrook for a quick zap out on the water. Won't even be packing a rod for this one as it will purely be a test with the different motor and see how it handles. If anyone wants to be an escort feel free to PM me. Lol