Thread: Bass and livewells

Bass and livewells

Hey guys,

I am fairly new to bass fishing and managed to get out last week, landing a couple of bass and yellowbelly from somerset and wivenhoe. My query is regarding bass and yellowbelly in livewells as two "weird" things happened when putting these freshwater fish into my 75L livewell. Of a handful of fish caught only these two fish failed to survive or aclimatise in the livewell.

Scenario one: trolled up a solid yellow in about 5-7m of water which failed to survive in the well upon capture. We didn't have it out of the water for too long at all and handle our fish with utmost care. It didn't matter as the fish was always going to be kept but was stumped as to why it couldn't survive.

Scenario two: caught a healthy 40cm bass from a deep ledge at wivenhoe. We were sitting in about 8-10m of water and caught the bass tight up against the bank in less than 2m's of water. This fella again failed to survive/aclimatise in the livewell.

Are these scenario's instances of barotrauma and hence the need to needle the fish before release? I thought barotrauma only affected fish caught from VERY deep water?

Any replies would be greatly appreciated!

Regards
    CT

Re: Bass and livewells

It does sound like it could be barotrauma...especially in the yellow belly's case...considering the depth the fish came from...now fish have come from deeper I will admit but what also is a factor is to how quickly they came up.

With the bass I would say it could just be 'one of those things'...I have had fish in my livewell survive for hours without a problem...and yet have had same size fish from same place start to go downhill within a hour of being placed in the livewell.