View Full Version : Shimano LTD 25 Question ??

10-09-2004, 04:43 AM
Could be a question for Agnes_Jack ;D
Recently bought a Shimano LTD 25 and have a question in relation to the threaded bolts for the clamp and nuts supplied. The nuts when wound down as far as they will go won't sit hard against the metal backing plate on the base of the reel and have quite a bit of slack about 1mm - 2mm ? This is different to the Penn 330 GTI levelwind I have as the nuts to sit hard against the metal backing plate :-/ Is this normal ??? ???
Black_Rat.

Ps: the tool supplied was to large to fit the nuts supplied ??

10-09-2004, 04:45 AM
PPS: need to make sure its right for the trip to Swains next year ;D

Tony_N
10-09-2004, 04:51 AM
g'day Black rat

It is normal for them not to come up tight. It all becomes clear (and tight) when you clamp it on to your rod.

10-09-2004, 05:36 AM
Cheers Tony ;)

agnes_jack
10-09-2004, 06:09 AM
Black rat
AS tony n said, They are designed to move around to suit width of rod. Once the clamp is in position it all pulls down tight together.

Regards, Tony

clutter
10-09-2004, 05:41 PM
The nuts aren't to lock the threads against the backing plate but rather lock up against the clap nuts once they have been wound down. This stops the clamp nuts coming loose. Just be careful not to overtighten the clamp because it is possible to crush the rod blank if you are heavy fisted.

Cheers, Clutter

11-09-2004, 03:12 AM
??? ??? ??? Clutter, now i'm confused the hexagonal nuts are for the clamp nuts you say :-/ There was no diagram supplied to show how the clamp and nuts go together.
Black_Rat.

trout3030
11-09-2004, 02:12 PM
I thought an LTD was a car?

Tony_N
11-09-2004, 02:59 PM
Black rat

Probably best to do the whole thing before you put line on the reel. The bolts go through the rectangular holes from the spool side. Then the hex nuts go on to the rod side, then the shackle (?) anyway the moulded black bit of graphite, then the tubular nuts (clamp nuts). If necessary at the end of the processyou may need to tighten the hex nuts back towards the moulded bit of graphite to tighten the whole thing up.

Once you have put it onto your rod, it is pretty obvious how it should go. if it looks (or more particularly) feels wrong ie it wobbbles at all, just think how else it might go together. Failing that, the smart thing to do is to take it down to your friendly local tackle store and get them to have a look at it.

Hope this makes sense

clutter
12-09-2004, 07:36 AM
Black Rat,

Give me a ring on 0407 732948 and I'll talk you through it. I confuse even myself sometimes when I try to write things.

Follow what Tony said. When the clamp is secured sufficiently by the black tube nuts, then lock the hex nuts down against these. This prevents the black tube nuts coming loose. Its the "double nutting" principal.

Just give me a ring anytime.

Cheers, Clutter

trout3030
14-09-2004, 09:57 PM
is it necessary to use the clamp at all? Don't they come with a reel foot that just gets held to the rod by reel seat?

agnes_jack
15-09-2004, 04:45 AM
Trout
The clamps hold the rod much more firmly to the rod, if you start talking big powerful fish, hard fights, heavy runs and a heavy overhead reel. Stops it twisting , makes it a much stronger connection.

Regards, Tony

15-09-2004, 08:46 AM
I got onto the Shimano website and rang the nominated contact in Brisbane. Expailed my query in my original post to them and got an answer of the third bloke I spoke to. :) Explained that the hexagonal nuts are wound up against the nuts through the clamp to lock in the clamp nuts. To a lesser extent they give you a guide by keeping the hexagonal nuts the same distance down the thread to ensure the clamp is done up level and not to one side. ;)

16-09-2004, 07:54 PM
Only paid $259.00 ooPPPSS ssHHHSSHHHHH. cATCH ME IF YOU CAN >?????

agnes_jack
17-09-2004, 12:44 PM
Black Rat
You just got ripped off!!!
Shimano has just put them on special (about 2-3 weeks ago) The price on the Tld 25 should be $249.00.

Regards, Tony

17-09-2004, 12:47 PM
AARRRRGGGGHHHHH !!! [smiley=angryfire.gif] [smiley=angryfire.gif] [smiley=angryfire.gif] ;D
Thanks Tony

agnes_jack
18-09-2004, 05:24 AM
Sorry to burst your bubble mate!
I just like people to know that the marts aren't always the best place to buy!

Sorry, Tony :-X

18-09-2004, 03:22 PM
True Tony but it's a long drive to 1770 from Brissie ;D ;D ;D

trout3030
18-09-2004, 05:34 PM
Tony,
So to connect a TLD to a rod you use both the reel foot onto the rod seat and the clamp around the rod? Sorry for my ignorance but i've never used one.

18-09-2004, 05:40 PM
Trout,
It's best to do both to ensure an almost failsafe connection in the event of hooking a big fish ;)
Black_Rat.

agnes_jack
19-09-2004, 05:38 AM
Blackrat
All shimano dealers worth dealing with will have the new prices. No need to drive to 1770. Check your local tackle shop, they will look after you! ;)
Trout- as blackrat said. Use both for the best connection.

Regards, Tony

19-09-2004, 04:58 PM
Geeze Tony, I was looking for an excuse to do a trip up to 1770 and chase some coral trout ! ;D ;D ;D

agnes_jack
20-09-2004, 04:03 AM
YA don't need an excuse for that!!
Come up anytime mate, I'll show you where to put that Formosa!! ;D ;D ;D
The next few months are prime time for all sorts of species around here.
DO IT!!!!!!!

Regards, Tony ;)

opimax
20-09-2004, 09:47 AM
just another hint put some tape on the reel seat

NeilD
20-09-2004, 04:27 PM
What sort of tape? Are you looking for more grip or corrosion resistance ie, dissimiliar metals.

trout3030
20-09-2004, 06:47 PM
Thanks guys. Might look at buying one. Also interested in why the use of tape and what sort?

24-09-2004, 07:07 PM
Looking for a partner for the TLD25 ???
Live fibre or UGLY STIK 14-24kg ??
10 months before Swains :-X about time :) :D ;D !!!

agnes_jack
25-09-2004, 04:31 AM
Blackrat
Go the 15-24 livefibre overhead!
Beautiful!!!!!!!!
Regards, Tony

25-09-2004, 01:13 PM
Tony,
Just put one on lay - buy at that Mart ;D at the moment all Live Fibre 20% off. :) The guy I spoke to in the store said they had sent a few back due to the guides mis - aligned so the one I bought got a good looking over.
Damien.

agnes_jack
26-09-2004, 07:08 AM
Way to go Blackrat!
They are beautiful rods, so long as you gave it the once-over you should be happy as!

Regards, Tony

dazza
29-09-2004, 09:23 AM
hi all,
bit off the subject,
tony, are all shimanos comming down in price or just certain ones. i am on the lookout for a few new threadlines
dazza

agnes_jack
29-09-2004, 09:33 AM
G'day Dazza
Not all, Stellas have dropped, sustain's,symetre's, sedona's, spheros, aernos and alvio's.
Some others have dropped just for the summer sale as well.

Regards, Tony :D

NeilD
29-09-2004, 01:16 PM
Getting back to the LiveFibre TLD combo I can certainly recommend it. After many years of using a Diawa 15 -24 STP I recently changed to a LiveFibre 15 -24. I have checked the drag twice after feeling the difference in the way the rod handles 5.5kg of drag. It certainly is a dream to use.

30-09-2004, 07:11 PM
agnes_jack
I can't wait to get the Live Fibre off lay - buy to see how it does with a TLD25 and 50lb mono. BRING ON SUMMER ;D