View Full Version : Southern Bay Sun 3rd

04-03-2002, 11:12 AM
Left Weinam ramp at 4.30am (3on board) intentions to try
rainbow and rous, squashed got as far as banana banks
sea very choppy, though it was only going to get worse
when tide turned, so headed for pelican banks. for some
whiting, 1 and half hours changing positions for 4 whiting.
so headed to red beacon top of coochie abt 30m in. started
berley trail for incoming (heaps of small squire/grassies/
moses perch and bream) abt 2 and half hrs after tide changed, seriour bites came on. left at 11.30 getting windy
and choppier. results 6 x grassies 37-41cm 2 x squire
38cm 2 x pilot bream 30 cm, 4 x rays , 3 x grinners.
bait half and whole squid, some bonito strips.
rigs 2 x 2/3' bait holders snelled on 17lb vanish
tried couple of double tailed plastics, lost some tails but no
hook ups, 2 x pillies on floater abt 40m behind but no luck
losts of bait fish down below but no surface activity due
plenty of white caps.

Katrina
04-03-2002, 01:36 PM
;D Good on ya, pity about the weather, but that's how it goes, hey.

aquarius
04-03-2002, 09:51 PM
Gidday Webby.......you did very well considering the rough conditions mate......good to see those grassies are still around.....can't wait to get back out there and have another crack at them...That vanish is magic stuff......i reckon it increases the catch rate.
Did you loose many fish in the sea bed structure?
What depth of water were you fishing?
Cheers Brent : 8)

05-03-2002, 03:44 PM
Yeah new it would be a bit lumpy, that why i put in a redlands,
was going to run via blakeslys and up to bird, usually lot calmer that way. it wasnt that bad at 5am but as day progressed got worse so gald stayed where i did, as seas
nth of peel can bet very lumpy on incoming,
have been using vanish for couple months now and find it
great stuff, matter of fact u mention it once on one of yr reports, so gave it a try.
have been to coochie red a few times now and always some
grassie there, from red beacon top of coochie u go intoward
top corner 25-30 m low tide usually around 1-1.2m top of
tide usual around 2-2.5 very corally bottom , you been ther
its worth it most times, during winter this area and other side
top corner great for bream. few bust off, if u dont get them up
outa that coral quick u loose them. same sort of structures
over top of mcleay, but that area gets hit pretty hard.
shuld come out and have a trip to wello with ya.

aquarius
05-03-2002, 09:43 PM
Yeah Webby come out to Wello with us when you have the time......I only have fridays and saturdays free.......sundays i start work.....someone has to start off the week...pity it has to be me though !!
I bet those 41 cm grassies gave you a fight.......gee they are strong for there size......just send me an e mail when you want to come and join us at wello.
Cheers Brent :)