View Full Version : The "Macks" have come to town !!!

craigie
01-11-2005, 12:26 AM
The Summer Pelagics have returned !!!

I refer specifically to School and Spottie Mackerel.

A session Saturday morning on the fringes of the Northern Bay produced this fine catch of mixed Macks.
Trolled pillies in 20 metres produced the goods.

The fish ranged in size from 60 - 90 cm and around 4kg's.

Craigie.

craigie
01-11-2005, 12:27 AM
Great day for it 8-)

craigie
01-11-2005, 12:30 AM
oops, wrong pick, try that again.

craigie
01-11-2005, 12:31 AM
I give up #:-[

craigie
01-11-2005, 12:33 AM
a couple more

craigie
01-11-2005, 12:34 AM
Andy with his hands full

Sportfish_5
01-11-2005, 12:34 AM
:P :P :P Mack Alley firing again Craig ??

Top stuff ;)

adriancorrea
01-11-2005, 12:35 AM
Well done there craigie
thanks for the report, Im sure everyone who can will be out there this weekend chasing them.
Wish my boat was fixed and back :'( :'( ::)

Tight Lines
Adrian

01-11-2005, 07:07 AM
nice fish craigie, looks like I know where Im going this week end

cheers steven

chemmy
01-11-2005, 07:25 AM
great work at what speed do you trol the pillies?

Jono_SS
01-11-2005, 07:28 AM
nice work! that's more spotties than you caught last year! you know where to take the frames Craigie don't you!!!! :) :)

Ed and I are heading north to 1770 next week for a quick bash. will let you know how we go.

jono

Scott15
01-11-2005, 07:29 AM
shouldnt have done that lol, every man and his dog will be out this weekend :( :(. great fish though, good quality. You just using the standard skirt rig?

JB
01-11-2005, 09:07 AM
hahahah, good on ya mate. I was wondering who would be the first to get into the summer speedsters in the bay, you win ;)

Hopefully this is only the begining of a good season ahead. :D

I can taste the sweet chili deep fried fillets now :P

DaneCross
01-11-2005, 10:18 AM
Already! Woohoo ;D Good stuff Craigie, leading the way! [smiley=2thumbsup.gif] Your trolled pillies didn't have little pink skirts on them by any chance did they??

speedy
01-11-2005, 03:12 PM
good stuff there are heaps of spaniards out there to
looks like a great pelagic season :D

craigie
01-11-2005, 08:49 PM
Speedy,

Where are the Spaniards ??

Dane & Jas, Scott15,

Are we going to see you blokes carving around the bay in persuit of those high speed lure munchers ?
Bloody good chewing those big slabs of Mackerel, hope this is the start of a very festive season ;)

No pink skirts around the top of my pillies, just simply trolled with a gang of hooks with the Pillie upside-down, the slower trolled the better.

Johno SS,

Sorry mate, this lot went to crab bait :-[ :-[, but from now on, I'll send them your way (if I catch any more :-/).

Catch plenty at 1770, hope you get wide and dong a Reddie or two !!

Chemmy,

Thanks mate, slower the better for trolled pillies, will help them sink down a few metres as well.

Snappyone & Sportfish 5,

Thanks guys, may it be a long and memorable season.

Craigie.

bazzaman
01-11-2005, 09:03 PM
good haul craigie.......I thought id mention when the spots were on up here in NQ when i first got here, they were eatn gold halcos. Shallow diver model trolled at about 5/6 knots. Might be worth a shot down ur way aswell.

Baithoven
01-11-2005, 09:21 PM
Hey Craigie - I recognise that dial! We were the mugs :'( that tried the Barwons and came up short. Parked behind you packing up the Savage at the boat ramp! Nice haul mate, well done, and thanks for the tip! ;D Hopefully chat again............

Brian

02-11-2005, 12:40 PM
I assume no wire was used and that it was gangs straight to mono with no sinkers Cragie?

CT

craigie
02-11-2005, 04:08 PM
Baithoven,

Yes mate, I remember our chat. Were you the skipper or the Deckie ??
Well you'll know a bit more about the location for next time ;)
Nice boat by the way !!

A lot of the reports for the Barwons that weekend were ordinary, so don't be too disheartened.

CT,

No wire mate !! Gangs (with swivels) straight to mono leader and no sinker ;)

We only lost one rig to a bite-off.

Craigie

Scott15
02-11-2005, 05:12 PM
Ill be out on the weekend for sure. Get stuck into some of those

Baithoven
02-11-2005, 11:28 PM
G'Day Craigie,

I was the older sunburnt crusty one - young fella was #1 Son (grunta_75). Savage is a joint effort - co-skippers you might say ;)

nice to meet you guys.

Brian