View Full Version : 92cm flathead & 59cm Jew (Pics)

Lone_Wolf
17-11-2005, 06:26 PM
DOUBLE ISLAND POINT TO COOLANGATTAA strong wind warning is current. Thursday until midnight: S/SE winds 20/30 knots. Seas to 3 metres on a 3 metre southerly swell. Isolated showers

After reading the weather report for today, my fishing buddy aptly named "Crazy Horse" still wanted to take the boat out. Well there was no f@*!*!# way I was going too far afield so I convinced him the Logan River was the way to go.

Dropped in at Horizon Shores at 6am and literally had the river to ourselves. On the advice of a seasoned local "GWH" we headed up to a likely hole giving ample protection from impending weather, anchored up and got the crab pots ready for the morning.

GWH had given me the hot tip that 3-6 fresh greasies(river prawns) on a metre long trace was a proven rig for this hole. We had barely baited up 4 crab pots and off went the first rod. Not having done a lot of fishing in the Logan, I really did not know what to expect. After some stiff resistance, we netted a flathead that went 92cm. After a couple of pics she was put back where she belonged to fight another day.

The rest of the incoming tide was pretty uneventful, give or take a few bream caught by Crazy Horse (best went 35cm)

Just before top of the tide, the whiting rods rigged with mud worms and 6lb line went off. After numerous runs I finally boated a 59cm School Jew. (lucky it was lipped with 8lb trace) #Over the next half hour Crazy was bitten off and I missed another similar fish.

Pots were checked on the way home, 7 muddies as well. All in all a great day out. #

# # #

Lone_Wolf
17-11-2005, 06:28 PM
forgot the pics, sorry! ::)

Lone_Wolf
17-11-2005, 06:29 PM
and again

Lone_Wolf
17-11-2005, 06:30 PM
take 3..

Lone_Wolf
17-11-2005, 06:31 PM
jewie 8-)

lukesnapper
17-11-2005, 06:31 PM
good work mate sounds like a good day! it would of been a buzz pulling up that flaty :othats a monster!

shorty_04
17-11-2005, 06:55 PM
nice fish mate [smiley=2vrolijk_08.gif] ;D ;D ;D

Jay_S
17-11-2005, 07:04 PM
Great work mate ;) that flaty would have been great fun to pull in.
Did you end up getting any whiting.

Jay [smiley=bandana.gif]

Lone_Wolf
17-11-2005, 07:11 PM
Jay,

That's just it mate, me and Crazy went fishing for whiting and got none but the day was good!

longtail
17-11-2005, 07:49 PM
nice flatty mate and good little jew :D
that's the thing about the logan , you just never know what your gunna hook .
taking the kids down there on sat , would love to see the little bloke hook a flatty like that :o

jason

Scott15
17-11-2005, 08:34 PM
Niiice ;)

morty103
17-11-2005, 08:42 PM
ripper of a flattie :)

DNO40
17-11-2005, 08:51 PM
Best MF Flatty I have seen in a long time. Where's the photo's of the Muddies ?

DNO

Lone_Wolf
17-11-2005, 09:03 PM
DNO,

Hmm... photos of muddies vs losing my big toe. Sorry mate, big toe won ;D
Crazy Horse is cooking em up tonight, will try and get a photo and a crab sandwich for you.

2DKnBJ
17-11-2005, 09:07 PM
The old Logan never ceases to amaze....Some days you can go out there and catch bugger all and then you can go out and have a blinder day.
Nice work guys.
Cheers Dazza

DNO40
17-11-2005, 09:24 PM
I'll hold you to that Crab sanger.....I'll be down at XMAS. Perhaps we can catch a few fresher ones then.

DNO

land_based
17-11-2005, 10:51 PM
GReat flatty mate and a great report aswell!!

JayT
18-11-2005, 12:00 AM
Hey bud, nice lizard not to mention the schoolie, have noticed that you have the same boat as mine, is it a Scorpion 4.85, mine is a 99 model yours looks to be the year after.
Cheers Jason

Franco
18-11-2005, 12:08 AM
Great flatty mate.

I like the first photo with the knife on the fish's neck ....... "Now, just stay still for the camera, punk. The question is, Do you feel lucky? ................well ... Do Ya, Punk! Go ahead ..... make My day!"

CHRIS_aka_GWH
18-11-2005, 07:02 AM
well done guys - I was in half a mind (after that first pic on my phone) to tell you yesterday to steam up the river a few km's & get me from work

Crazy might have to get a bigger esky (i like that pic) - i know a 160l Tropical box that hasn't been used for months :'(

DNO40
18-11-2005, 07:18 AM
Franco,

You been watching too much tele man !

DNO

Lone_Wolf
18-11-2005, 07:23 AM
GWH,

Thanks for the tips mate although target species whiting were non existent. We were going to chase spotties in the bay next week. Any tips for us (send via e-mail please) Hope your tips are as good as this week, we had a ball. I am only an apprentice deckie so Crazy Horse and I are a laugh trying to coordinate some teamwork, especially when one of the bucks fell out of the pot in the boat. ;D

DNO40
18-11-2005, 07:28 AM
A loose Buck on the deck seems to get people moving. For some reason they always seem to be angry.

DNO

Why-ting
18-11-2005, 08:34 AM
Nice catch guys! Ive seen some big flatties come from the logan, that would be one of the biggest, great work. Good luck with the spotties next week.

18-11-2005, 09:09 AM
Stonker flathead boys well done, wish i got stuck with "by catch" like that when I go whiting fishing!

Gbanger
18-11-2005, 09:17 AM
congratulations on the nice fish and crabs..

im jealous ;D

fishomatic
19-11-2005, 07:28 AM
Good job on releasing the lizard too.

Lone_Wolf
19-11-2005, 07:31 AM
Hey Jason (JayT)

I checked with Crazy Horse last night, his boat is a Scorpion 4.85m and it is a 2000 model. It's a very comfortable boat to fish in and if it had not been for his screen and full canopy it would have been a very wet ride back past Cabbage Tree Point as there was an outgoing tide and 25 knots + of south easter.

Lone_Wolf
19-11-2005, 07:35 AM
Thanks Matt,

What do you do mate? it's a buzz to catch one that big but you just know she has a lot more breeding to do and she has to go back... so thank god for cameras as I don't think my mates would have believed me without the photo

MidgieFood
19-11-2005, 08:09 AM
Thats a big girl indeed.
Would have been quite a site coming to the surface.
Well done.

fishomatic
19-11-2005, 03:14 PM
Thanks Matt,

What do you do mate? it's a buzz to catch one that big but you just know she has a lot more breeding to do and she has to go back... so thank god for cameras as I don't think my mates would have believed me without the photo

Lone_Wolf,
I release all my lizards over 50cm and very rarely keep any smaller ones for a feed. Although they taste great, I'd much rather know that I'm doing my bit to help the local lizard pop.
Last year I took a 56cm fish home and when I cleaned it I found it was full of eggs so I don't keep any that size anymore.

cyclops
19-11-2005, 03:23 PM
Very nice flatty that's one to remember :D

cuzzamundi
19-11-2005, 10:52 PM
great lizard mate! well done.

cuzza