View Full Version : Peel 10-12-2005

joeT
10-12-2005, 06:12 PM
After getting home from a work Christmas party yesterday, didn't have much to drink so thought the time was about right for a quick sunrise fish around Peel with SP's. Packed up the boat and launched from Vicky Pt in the pitch dark around 3am. Wind was a good 10-15knots against the tide so a bit of a bumpy ride out.

Spot X A was a little quiet with only nibbles and and one 30cm cod. Went to spot x b and the bit was a lot better. A bunch of ~35cm squire and 3 better keepers at 44cm, 41cm, and 39cm. Couple of grinners too which will make great crab pot bait.

All shut down after sunrise, so decided to try something different and fish a few deeper channels with a heavier jighead. First cast and hooked this bugger, he came up with about 5 or 6 of his mates around him. Can someone id? Baby cobie? Poor bugger had swallowed the sp and had some blood running out, cut the line and he swam away, but don't fancy his chances.

Started to get really hot by 7am and was a bit tired from lack of sleep, so called it a day. Wind died down and was an easy ride home.

Sp's used were assassins in baby bass, watermelon seed, and pumpkinseed. Lost heaps of tails so might try snapbacks soon.

joeT
10-12-2005, 06:21 PM
Note the tomato juice berley ;D

vertico
10-12-2005, 06:21 PM
definately cobia

Just_chips
10-12-2005, 06:22 PM
Yep, nice little cobe you got there, maybe next one will be bigger

Cheers Kev

skippa
10-12-2005, 07:29 PM
G'day Joe,

Mate I went out Mon nite for a Peel bash and the same thing for me too. definately fishing better at nite.

Tony 8-)

PS midweek always better too ;D

jackextracter
11-12-2005, 11:54 AM
Is that a grinner in the bottom of your bucket under the squire do you eat them .

bazzaman
11-12-2005, 01:18 PM
grinners are beautiful havent you tried em jack?? ::) ::) :P :P ;D

Shane

joeT
11-12-2005, 09:50 PM
#Couple of grinners too which will make great crab pot bait.