View Full Version : Winter Jack

Jim_Byrne
03-08-2006, 09:00 PM
Went for a fish after work lastnight with a mate.

Pretty quiet he got a 50cm trevor and a few bites. Got onto somthing with a bit of weight behind it and it ran me into some snags. I waited 25mins and let some line out hoping it would come out with no luck, but I could still feel it there. Didn't wana stick around any longer so busted it off.

Went to check out some other areas in search of more run.

Found a bit of run, and after a few casts and a bit of surface action, I got a bite, so droped the lure back in the tide and Whack! After 5 action packed minutes on the light gear, and calls ranging from good sized trevor, to big flathead, to massive bream, I realised it was a Jack! all 64cm and in the middle of winter.

Definately a first for me as all of mine todate have been caught in summer when the water temp is up and they are on the chew.

Another 20 mins later and my mate was on to what looked a pretty solid fish. A couple of minutes later and my mate had himself a 50cm jack too!

A great way to finish a hard day at work!

Cheers Jim

R_K_HILL
03-08-2006, 09:07 PM
Gees thats a nice Jack.. Are they redder in winter?

And where did you catch that anyway?

Why-ting
03-08-2006, 09:20 PM
Top fish. What part of the world did he come from? Iknow of a 68cm speciman coming from the Gold Coast last month. Looks like i might have to start a little early this year. Well done again.

Cheers Whytey

Why-ting
03-08-2006, 09:24 PM
Are they redder in winter?

Jacks change their colour to suit their enviroment they live in

BennyJ
03-08-2006, 10:02 PM
hey jim isnt that the fish you caught up here at cape richards last summer ;D No, nice fish mate and here i am thinking i'll give it another six weeks till i dust of the jack gear to let the water warm up a bit its blowing 20 this weekend i might just charge up the electric and go for a flick

jackextracter
03-08-2006, 11:38 PM
nice fish were was the photo taken at and did you keep it.

manangatang
04-08-2006, 07:25 AM
thats a top jack mate ,good effort ;)

Tinn
04-08-2006, 07:25 AM
Excellent jack mate nice stuff

LUMOX
04-08-2006, 08:36 AM
great fish odd time to catch

Dogbream
04-08-2006, 01:43 PM
Nice jack mate!
what stretch of water were you fishing???

Did u release him or let him go??

nice jack for winter, 64cm is an absolute snodger, and getting another 50cm one is a ripper of a bonus. Well done boss

dogbream

jackash
04-08-2006, 02:07 PM
Thats a horse! Good on ya mate. How heavy was the gear you were fishing?
Jackash

Matthias
04-08-2006, 09:46 PM
I'm frothing at the mouth...What a fish :o :o
What part of the country did you get them mate??

Pete.

Jim_Byrne
05-08-2006, 12:26 AM
Yeh Why-ting it was the Coast .......

Dogbream I did keep him, but the smaller one went back in.

Jackash, I was fishing real lite, for bream, with 3kg fireline and 10lb leader.

BennyJ your a dead set comedian, lets hope your skippering skills in this tournament are as good as your gags hey!

gogecko
05-08-2006, 06:08 AM
Thats a stonker. Nice to hear it wasnt on its own.

Got_the_Fever
05-08-2006, 09:00 AM
jim that is a fantastic jack for this time of year. You have all done very well.

Kel

Slient
05-08-2006, 02:31 PM
Quite Classic Jack... 8-)
Good job

Happy fishing
Silent

shaman
05-08-2006, 06:58 PM
I'm gettin' a tad twitchy now :o :o
I think you've awakened the beast, my wife will kill ya.........Billy

cuzzamundi
06-08-2006, 06:41 PM
that is an absolute stonker of an estuary jack mate. i think come summer though you wouldn't be calling that machine as a big breambo or lizard whilst fighting it!!! awesome, just awesome.

cuzza

Brenno
06-08-2006, 06:59 PM
great jack, you've well to land a fish that size let along on bream gear. Well done.

Jim_Byrne
07-08-2006, 08:48 PM
It tasted just as wicked as it looked! There is plenty more out there, go get some!