View Full Version : Moreton Bay Snapper

Trent_Butler
25-10-2006, 11:22 AM
Threw some plastics around the bay last week and nailed this guy first up in the morning. Very lucky to land this one on the 10lb braid and 14lb leader, with the TT jighead lodged in its throat. The fish measured 93cm and weighed 18lb's. Lost another one as big that I just couldn't stop.

One very happy camper indeed.

Enjoy

Trent

T1
25-10-2006, 11:32 AM
That is one top fish Trent! Where in the bay did you nail him and what SP did the damage?

Take Care T

Benny_78
25-10-2006, 12:03 PM
That is brilliant mate. Green with envy

richieboy
25-10-2006, 12:05 PM
Solid snapper on the light line. This has been another case of large bay snapper caught on the light gear. Proves that it can be done. Well done Trent. Top pics champ. You might be getting a few PM's now I reckon.

Richie ;)

Smailesy
25-10-2006, 12:20 PM
that is a great fish

Biff
25-10-2006, 12:49 PM
http://bestsmileys.com/thumbs/5.gif #Top snap. #Bet there would have been a bit of this http://bestsmileys.com/expressions/3.gif # going on during that fight.

# # # # # # # # # # # # # # # Well done Biff

Fisher4life
25-10-2006, 01:39 PM
That is one hell of a fish on the light line!! Top effort

25-10-2006, 01:55 PM
CHAMPION EFFORT
I thought they'd be gone with the warmer water now

lattic
25-10-2006, 02:26 PM
Well done trent, 1 is still better than none. Where did you get him, Mud Island?

Muz

zach
25-10-2006, 03:34 PM
great fish mate
zach

25-10-2006, 04:54 PM
Wow, what a great fish. Congratulations.

Pitsta
25-10-2006, 05:10 PM
Thats what im taking about HUGE SNAPPER !!! Well done .. ;)

sharkbaithoohaha
25-10-2006, 05:15 PM
Excellent catch on the light gear.How much room did you have between you and the bottom to fight him?

marty+jojo
25-10-2006, 06:29 PM
nice one Trento.
just when i thought i have not seen your ugly mug on every second page of any fishing mag i pick up, you yurn up on ausfish ::).
I am still allowed to go fishing, despite what Tony might tell you ;D.
cheers mate
Marty.

Slient
25-10-2006, 06:45 PM
Stunning bay snapper and congrat's you're in bay 5 kg snapper club... 8-)

Happy fishing
Silent

george_lang
25-10-2006, 06:51 PM
great fish on light line it is all about fun ;D ;D

george_lang
25-10-2006, 06:52 PM
great fish on light line it is all about fun ;D ;D

84mick
25-10-2006, 07:22 PM
Now thats a good looking fish! :o Well done!

Mick.

pegasus
25-10-2006, 07:30 PM
trent,

congratulations- that is an awesome fish :)

Steven78
25-10-2006, 08:39 PM
WELLDONE MATE :)
Good to see that the big fish are still around.

Wyoming
25-10-2006, 08:43 PM
Not a word from Captain Foggy!

foggy
25-10-2006, 08:48 PM
Thats cause some of us started work this morning at 4am and have only just walked in the door.

Nice fish mate. Looks like a Moreton fish to me.

Foggy

26-10-2006, 03:44 AM
I like your style, you must do this often?? ::) ::) ::)

Most of us would write a long mini novel similar to what you would read in a magazine like QFM or bush "N Beach, a few zzzzzzzzzzzz and more ZZZZZZZZ!! ;D ;D #But there you are mate, in all your snapper glory - a simple read but the photo tells a thousand words!!. #Top fish and nice photo!!

Jewfisher55
26-10-2006, 04:42 AM
:o Awesome catch for in the bay, congrats

freddyfish
26-10-2006, 04:46 AM
Ripper mate

Brad

Great_White
26-10-2006, 07:58 AM
That's right up there with the best, well done Trent :D :D :D

What depth in the bay were you fishing to get that monster :o :o :o and loose another like it.

Peter :)

26-10-2006, 09:52 AM
Well done, mate! They don't come much better than that. :)

matt_fraser
26-10-2006, 10:03 AM
Hey Trent,

Mate that's an awesome looking snapper! Well done.

castlemaine
26-10-2006, 10:32 AM
Great catch ... was that your personal best? My wife wants to know why I don't come home with fish like that or any fish really ;D ;D ;D.

TIM-DONSELAAR
26-10-2006, 10:53 AM
excellent snapper there...Well Done [smiley=thumbsup.gif] [smiley=thumbsup.gif] [smiley=thumbsup.gif]

cheers tim :D

KIT
26-10-2006, 12:32 PM
Got to be happy with that. Maybe I'll give the plastics one more try. Well done Trent.

Cheers Kit. ;)

Trent_Butler
26-10-2006, 01:43 PM
Hi guys,

Thanks for the comments.

Blackended: The warmer months have always be quite productive for me in the bay. Most of the spots get a right royal hammering during the official snapper time. Nothing puts a big snapper off the bite more than the noise created from the gathering of boats you get around the popular spots these days.

Silent: I think its about the eighth snapper over 6kg that we have caught in the bay on plastics.

Great White. This fish came from around 60ft inside Moreton Island. Doesn't really matter where you fish the close Islands, Mud, Peel etc or further out in the bay the best way to get a bite from the larger snapper is to fish light line, light leader, fish away from other boats and fish the first hour of light! Nearly all our big fish come before the sun has hit the water.

Marty, Marty, Marty.... I hear you are well and truly p#ssy wooped!!

Caught up with Tony a couple of months ago at the ramp as he pulled the new boat out!

Will have to catch up soon.

Trent

Dirty
26-10-2006, 02:32 PM
Hey there! :D

WOW -- thats one nice trophy fish! :-[ Maybe one day others will share your fortune!

Tip top effort!

George.

lunatic
26-10-2006, 04:27 PM
G'day Trent,
Ripper fish there mate!

That is very interesting what you said about Snapper being around in the warmer months, as I thought they took off after winter. Earlier on this year was the first time I targeted Squire/ Snapper off Mud using baits and we got a couple ::)
When I was showing my mate the pics of what we got he almost backhanded me when he found out I did not give the plastics a go! I will have to have a crack at them next time I am at mud.

Lunatic

snapperm8
26-10-2006, 06:11 PM
thats a nice bay snapper great work

cheers dave

stalker
26-10-2006, 06:19 PM
well done .cheers paul....

moondancer
26-10-2006, 08:08 PM
Awesome fish - keeps on proving the point that the big ones ARE in the bay!!

Lawry