View Full Version : Do it yourself servicing

bruce4x4
25-07-2004, 04:10 AM
O.K guys you're right, we should all know a little more about whats under our vechiles. So... what would be the best oil and filters for diesel/petrol motor, and any idea of price?
What interval should oil changes occur?
Should filters be changed every 5 or 10 thousand k's?
Also diff/gear box oils?
While I'm here, what's a good allround tyre? (size 30/10.5)
Thnx Bruce......

GiddyUp
25-07-2004, 05:31 AM
Bruce...When it comes to anything to do with a car/4x4 its really a choice of how much you want to spend....I normally run Penrite oils and change every 5000kms and filter at 10000kms, as for tyres i like the BF Goodrich All Terrain..but thats only my opinion
GiddyUp ;D ;D

MTpockets
25-07-2004, 05:53 AM
My experience so far Bruce is with Toyota, there is a diesel oil called Castrol J-Max and is 15w-40. It is designed specificly for Japanese diesels. It has less detergents in it and is disigned for high ash as the Japanese design as opposed to the US deisel's and European. I use that and it sells for $65 for 20 litres at Qld Diesel Spares at Browns Plains. I think its essetial to change the oil every 5k, and because the filters are fairly cheap, I change them at the same time. I havnt needed to change fuel filters yet but they tell me every 20k for them along with air filters as well.
As far as tyres are concerned I ditched my Desert Duelers and now run the TOYO OPAT all terrain. My mate has just replaced his with a new set after 105,000 klms on his cruiser. They have no road noise and handle the wet and offraod really well. Tyre Power at Beenleigh sold me a set for $175 fitted and balanced each corner.
Hope that helps.
Les

bruce4x4
25-07-2004, 12:02 PM
Thanks GiddyUp, I'll look into BF Goodrich All Terrian.
MTPockets, I have an 80 series cruiser so the 15w-40 would be a good choice for oil. I also think that you should change every 5,000 k's, no sense in running clean oil through dirty filters.
I have not heard of Toyo opat all terrian. but will endevour to have a look. ;D

Big_Kev
25-07-2004, 01:56 PM
Castrol RX Super for the 80. 15w/40 is fine for Toowoomba climate.
Fleet gaurd or one of the other major brands.
Change the oil = change the filter.
Stay away from cheap filters, they are cheap for a reason.
Fuel fiters every 10 000 or longer if you have a good fuel supplier.
Don't for get to grease the driveline and check the battery and water. And of course spray the shiny stuff on the tyres.
I recomend to read the owners manual as this will give you the details of service items.
Thats what I think anyhow.Cheers Kev :)

Big_Kev
25-07-2004, 02:00 PM
OH and as for tyres I run 31x10.5x15 Goodyear Wrangler A/T.
No good off road and the old 2H has no trouble lighting them up in the wet so spend the dollars on something else.
Kev. :D

bruce4x4
26-07-2004, 03:40 AM
Thanks Kev, I'll give that a go. Have u heard of toyo opat all terrian.I though that goodyear wrangler a/t's where good tyres,will look at something diffrent now but thanks Bruce. ;D

MTpockets
26-07-2004, 03:57 AM
Bruce I just tried to get to the Toyo website to point you to the testimonials but the site is down atm. Try www.toyo.com.au later when its up and read the testimonal page. Then ring peter at tyre power at beenleigh. He will tell you about them and ask him for a price, you wont be dissapointed. Also ring John at 4wd offraod wrecking at archerfield. He owns the company and runs Toyo Opats.
Les

bruce4x4
26-07-2004, 01:37 PM
Thanks Les, Have to go camping for work but will have a look when i get back. ;D

scott_b
11-08-2004, 04:28 PM
Bruce4x4
If your want tyres for the bush don't look at brands look for a tyre with straight vertical side walls so sticks don't push though the side walls and avoid tyres that bulge on the sides ,They look good but are made for looks not practacallity. Look for a high side wall ply rating.
wamjam

ross_woody
11-08-2004, 07:00 PM
I Change the oil every 5000 km and the filter every 10000. Still running great. Just make sure the cooling system is ready for Summer.

bruce4x4
14-08-2004, 02:03 PM
Thanks ross_woody that seems to be the general concesses (cant spell ) ;D

bruce4x4
14-08-2004, 02:07 PM
G'day wamjam, can you get tyres like that in 31x10.5x15 and what would they be :-/

scott_b
15-08-2004, 02:46 PM
Hey bruce4x4
Mate better off walking down Ruthven street on Saturday morning after it rains ,when the cockies are in town and see what they're using .For eg ;TA,s look good and D Dulers look a bit bulgey in the side walls.
wamjam

bruce4x4
15-08-2004, 03:45 PM
So many i think i need a beer or 2 or 3 [smiley=laugh.gif]

scott_b
16-08-2004, 12:36 PM
Gday Bruce
3 beers sounds better than 2 or 1. Mate youl have to work out ware most of your driving is going to be;

Full on mud terrain big chunky tread ,if your drive off road in the mud 50% of the time.

All terrain still fairly aggressive tread good if you go off road 10%- 50% of the time.

Road tyers good if you don't know ware the 4WD lever is (tar). Think they may be good in the sand.

Bruce I only made this up to try and help your selection .
wamjam

bruce4x4
16-08-2004, 01:07 PM
All Terrain here i come [smiley=drunk.gif]

scott_b
16-08-2004, 01:42 PM
Bruce how many beers did that take to decide :o
wamjam

07-09-2004, 11:04 AM
I used to run BFG All terrains, but switched over to the 33" Mud Terrains a few years back. And I have to say, I will never go back again! The new Muddies are by far the best they have ever made. Also my younger brother runs the Goodyear MTR's - They are a very good tyre as well, but don't quite handle as well off road as the BFG's. They do however make a very cool sound when cornering at higher speeds... Kinda "Howl"! :D

12-09-2004, 06:55 PM
I have a Land cruiser ute diesel '89. I change oil and filter every 5000 fuel every 10000. Check air when ever I remember. As for tyres, have found bridgestone best value (every one has an opinion) put on olympic tyres once - never again. Good luck from Roz.

bruce4x4
13-09-2004, 02:02 PM
Wamjam, Can't remember. ;D

G'Day Roz,Yea alot to think about when it comes to tyres, big bucks involved. :)

Were u from?