View Full Version : 4x4 action shots/boggings

DaneCross
03-04-2004, 07:23 AM
With the introduction of the new section, I thought it might be good to see a few pics of everyones failures/triumphs over the sometimes unforgiving off-road terrian.

Thought I'd go through a few OLD pics and pulled out these two of our old Nissan 720. The old girl did some miles but had bugger-all clearance and we often found ourselves ploughing a nice track for the following cars with the brush bar. It also had a disliking to any gear box we'd try and put in her - spitting at least 4 ::) Our hilux on the other hand... will she ever stop [smiley=2thumbsup.gif] ;D

The first pic was taken after attemping to drive along what seemed to be a nice firm beach on the western side of Frazer around the Wathumba area. Turned out to be a bogg of stinky green weed covered by sand. Needless to say the Nissan sank rather quickly up to the floor boards.

The second pic, not really off-road but a bit of a laugh, was when we claimed poll position at bathurst... :P

Lets see some action shots...
Dane

P.S. Mums taken the old fashioned 'crop tool' (scissors) to the pics, hence the overlapping of the pics.

DaneCross
03-04-2004, 07:24 AM
pic 1

DaneCross
03-04-2004, 07:24 AM
pic 2

landy1
03-04-2004, 08:03 AM
Heres the piccy of my girl again. Ploughing through a soft sand water hole on the Harrys hut track. On my honeymoon #:o

basserman
03-04-2004, 08:52 AM
bugger no matter how hard i try i just can't get the hilux bogged ;)

landy1
03-04-2004, 09:02 AM
Thats cause youve got to take it off road ;D ::) :D :-X

neptune
03-04-2004, 09:46 AM
Don't take the hilux over too much rough stuff, with the light chassis and toy suspension it might break in half.

stevo
03-04-2004, 04:16 PM
try this one

stevo
03-04-2004, 04:27 PM
Getting of wisdom

sharkbait
03-04-2004, 06:49 PM
got plenty dane, will try and get them scanned at work in the next couple of days for your viewing pleasure ;D

Barrymundi
03-04-2004, 11:17 PM
2 tides went over this car, new batery and oil and she drove away.

Not my car, just found it in a creek at Mapoon

landy1
04-04-2004, 12:44 AM
Maybe he had to surface to use his radio ;D

Gorilla_in_Manila
04-04-2004, 05:43 AM
Al_NFI,
Just curious, how did he drop the old oil out?
Jeff

NQCairns
04-04-2004, 06:01 AM
Is that a dog in the back corner of the tray?

mossy43
04-04-2004, 09:04 AM
I think they are just waiting around for low tide so they can put the boat back on the trailer. Mossy

Barrymundi
04-04-2004, 11:12 AM
No Dog in the Tray. The boat in the picture is a mate of mine and his wife. The owners of the car were not around. They were travelling along the beach - creek at low tide and were bogged. We were told by some other campers they pulled her out the next morning.
Oil - I could only assume they put it in a drum and took it to the local waste disposal station with the diesel and the dead battery. ;D

Brett_Hoskin
04-04-2004, 02:52 PM
Washing the dirt from under the car and trailer.

Kerry
05-04-2004, 04:29 AM
A dozer ;D should be a standard accessory for ALL Toyota's.
http://www.cqnet.com.au/~user/mattk/images\toyota-dozer.jpg

Cheers, Kerry.

Kerry
05-04-2004, 04:40 AM
The first time accross wasn't much different either, just that after this we actually made a "road" to get stuck in.
http://www.cqnet.com.au/~user/mattk/images\toyota-stuck.jpg
This was just before the winch sheer pin broke and only being a 2 day old vehicle #:o, didn't have a spare. After this it got sort of ugly and this river (yes it is actually a river) doesn't have a lot of bottom to it.

Must have filed down about 3 dozen nails (to use as sheer pins) until one fnally held enough. Mind you once the fan starts to thrash water power take-off winches are a useless heap of sh.. but then power take-off winches are useless anyway, aren't they :-X

Cheers, Kerry.

Big_Kev
05-04-2004, 06:31 AM
Jesus Kerry I think the D6 would have struggled getting through that one.
Cheers Kev. ;D

DaneCross
05-04-2004, 07:02 AM
Tell the truth Kerry, the Toyotas actually towing the dozer! ;) ;D

shawn
07-04-2004, 04:08 PM
Here are some photos my brother took in the USA a couple of years ago. :o

shawn
07-04-2004, 04:10 PM
:o

shawn
07-04-2004, 04:11 PM
:o

shawn
07-04-2004, 04:13 PM
8)

shawn
07-04-2004, 04:15 PM
::)

shawn
07-04-2004, 04:16 PM
8)

shawn
07-04-2004, 04:19 PM
All of the 4WD's are stock standard. ;D

paz
07-04-2004, 04:44 PM
very smick pics there shawn,,where was ya brother at???moab??
paz

landy1
07-04-2004, 07:48 PM
Yep definately looks stock ::) :o ;D

Thebuffalo
09-04-2004, 10:18 AM
American muscle :) That guy holding the snatch strap obviously knows his stuff........ Seeing is believing. I don't think the Chev would get over that.

Moffy
15-04-2004, 10:01 AM
favourite pic of my nissan

caloundra
18-04-2004, 03:01 AM
when the fishing is slow sometimes the drive home is just as fun
sorry about the quality (down loaded fromVHS recorder)

DoubleD
23-04-2004, 07:36 AM
Hi,
This is my mate BOGGED in the mud on a fishing weekend at
Lake Sinclaire ;D ;D ;D

Zeeke
24-04-2004, 05:29 PM
Not an action photo but a video i found in my travels while looking at snorkels for my pajero.. anyways, here it is, http://www.safari4x4.com.au/docs/video.htm

bloody good! hehe

Cruiser93
02-06-2006, 10:39 AM
Bump

bruce4x4
03-06-2006, 07:07 AM

bruce4x4
03-06-2006, 07:14 AM

bruce4x4
03-06-2006, 07:17 AM
We might not be bogged but it is a 'TOYOTA' :P 8-) ;D ;D

eggbeater
04-06-2006, 06:28 PM
BUGGER

eggbeater
04-06-2006, 06:31 PM
Cape york 2005

eggbeater
04-06-2006, 06:34 PM
Shotgun Cape York 2005

krico
05-06-2006, 08:15 PM
Not my truck, but my brother-in-law's LAV in Timor.

http://img366.imageshack.us/img366/5919/aslavinthecreek9pl.jpg

And a bucket that tried to swim

http://img396.imageshack.us/img396/2101/ap####itanic4lw.jpg

09-06-2006, 10:15 PM
This one taken at Black Duck Valley last year. Yellow Suzi just rolled front over back down a embankment and into a swb cruiser. The tow vehicle has a 350 chevie EFI donk and was part of the Logan City Challenge. The boys from On Trac won.

I learnt 2 things that day....

diff lock & swb vehicles go ANYWHERE :o :o

10-06-2006, 11:12 PM
Just a shot of my hilux up the northern flats of moreton. Since done a 2'' spring lift and slid some 32'' BFG AT's under it. And a set of spotties on the front.

Fat Chilli
19-06-2006, 01:40 AM
The tow vehicle, playing around on a wreck.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v202/ausjeep/CarRamp1.jpg

The team I navigate for.
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v202/ausjeep/Fat%20Chili/Round12006.jpg

BrandonH
20-06-2006, 11:50 PM
Nothing serios but a good pic of my old cruiser on morton. (82 4spd diesel extractors and exhust)

http://members.optusnet.com.au/bjh79/images/CruiserMorton.JPG

out with the old and in with the new ::) no action shots yet but it now has BFG A/T 285s pushing it along ;) (96 diesel DX 2 inch spring lift and more to come slowly :( after i get my polycraft ;))

http://members.optusnet.com.au/bjh79/images/IMG_1149.jpg

Brandon...

21-06-2006, 10:46 AM
Hi Guys

This pic came to me by email with a comment "is this your 4wd?"

Answer is no it is not mine and I reckon the picturue is fake

What do you experts reckon ?

Russ

theVan
21-06-2006, 03:50 PM
me playing chicken with Eli creek.....

the same creek with the Hilux buried.....

That creek has eaten many a 4x4....

borisdog
22-06-2006, 07:26 PM
Where's Eli Ck? I ask cos that photo is a bit of a debate topic on another forum I 'm in and no-one knows where the photo's taken. General concensus is photo is genuine.

Barrymundi
22-06-2006, 08:18 PM
Fraser Island

Al

whykickacatalong
22-06-2006, 09:58 PM
Bugger me getting a pic on here can be hard :( Will just put links for now

whykickacatalong
22-06-2006, 10:21 PM
The new Hiolux's dont have much clearance ;)

TonyM
23-06-2006, 08:02 AM
lmao - This post was made for you Alistair! ;D

I reckon you did that intentionally to save jacking the wheel up to change the spare (would be less embarrassing than saying you were just doing a U-turn) :D

whykickacatalong
23-06-2006, 09:45 AM
Thanks. That happened out the back of hicksville where very little traffic comes along. Typical though just as we were hooking it up to reverse it out the local bus full of school kids turned up to be let off at the corner :-[. Luckily I did not have my door magnets on the car so they probably just though I was a stupid cop (I was not going to correct them on that assumption ;D)

This is up a Bass river. So many places a 4wd can get you, who would own a 2wd??

BenDover
24-06-2006, 05:24 PM
My 4bie... Dont do much hardcore 4x4ing anymore. Just use it for fraser.

BenDover
24-06-2006, 05:28 PM
But its been everywhere and done everything, and ive broken everything aswell ;D ;D yes even rolled it. Now it just tows my boat.

candogu
02-07-2006, 03:42 PM
Opp's just a bit deeper then I thought :D

http://www.members.optusnet.com.au/bateslatimer/4wd/bigred/slides/BB10.jpg

http://www.members.optusnet.com.au/bateslatimer/4wd/bigred/slides/gu1.jpg

fishingjew
10-07-2006, 10:11 PM
Now thats bogged #:'( :'( ;D ;D

fishingjew
10-07-2006, 10:12 PM
Now thats bogged :'( :'( ;D ;D

Cruiser93
21-08-2006, 04:39 PM
First time bogged !!!!!! On Moreton June July school hols 2006....... Add insult to injury had to be recovered by a Nissan .....
Fortunatley the Nissan driver was inexpierenced so the wife had to jump in the tow vehicle , so a toyota driver in the nissan pulled me out .......

banshee
21-08-2006, 08:20 PM
G'day Dirtysanchez,the photo is for real,I know the lady in the green top looking in the window and two of the other people (her daughters)standing around,Don't know whose vehicle it is/was.

Fisher4life
29-08-2006, 12:23 AM
yet to get into a bog that i can't get out of....

when i work out how to download pictures from my mobile i'll grab a few of my nissan towing a toyota out of a bog hole ;D
Coming Soon!

Smailesy
29-08-2006, 04:12 PM
some great shots there some people have all the fun

Ian_Reeders
16-10-2006, 03:26 PM
Never let your dog drive when there's mud around. They can't help themselves!

Ian_Reeders
16-10-2006, 03:28 PM
Fishing the kimberly in the wet can be trying at times.

Ian_Reeders
16-10-2006, 03:29 PM
The Jardine river back when we used to drive across.

Ian_Reeders
16-10-2006, 03:31 PM
On out way to the Limen Bight river just after the first storms for the year

18-10-2006, 10:31 PM
Came across this guy bogged on the side of the Highway on the way to the Sunny Coast. We were belting through the mud and found some dry (apparently dry) land... This guy was stuck good with all the traffic heading north beeping and calling out ;D

murf
19-10-2006, 08:28 PM
On out way to the Limen Bight river just after the first storms for the year
that boat is gunna float
hope shes tied on tight

BrandonH
20-10-2006, 11:55 AM
Some good shots there guys!! I have played around Roy's rd in my old truck ;) some of those mud holes are WAY deeper than you think :o

Never got stuck though ;) ;D ;D ;D

Brandon...

kleyny
22-10-2006, 07:38 PM
heres me and my old rodeo playing in the glass house mnts

kleyny
22-10-2006, 07:40 PM
woops that didnt work :-[ :-[

i'll have to look in help and find out why

kleyny
22-10-2006, 08:20 PM
last try

David_P
22-10-2006, 08:48 PM
Wathumba Creek, January 2006. Snorkelled on it next morning with about 2.5m of water over the roof.