View Full Version : Its been a while

devocean
21-11-2005, 09:02 PM
Well got the flu thursday pretty bad and a trip to the doctors confirmed that I was unable to go spearing this weekend which meant I pretty sad. So I checked the forcast and with light winds and the tide looking good I deceided to put a few pots in and try my lucjk with the muddies. WEll it went from a crabbin trip to a reef trip the moment I saw out the mouth and off I went in with my neighbour who had come along for a crabbing trip in my 3.95 quinny 5 mile offshore to a secret little patch of reef.

Well we got there and as we were starting the burley trail we knew it was going to be good with 3 cobia coming to the surface for a look. I had previously dropped one there about 15kg so I had brought the crabs ready for some action.

However they were fickle on the bite and hung of the trail but with some slow drifting past them we finally managed a hook up on a nice 85cm fish.

We starting getting a few nice grassy sweetlip and a few spanglies then we were inundated with bludger trevally. In about 45 minutes we caught over 35 of these buggers all on handlines (no gloves) with the average size being about 5kg with some bigger ones amongst them. Soon the fingers started to hurt so we shifted to another closer reef where a few nice spanglies just on legal hit the esky as well as a couple of mackeral.

This reef was full of baby red emperor and we must have caught 30 to 40 fish with the biggest red being 46cm. Geez its getting hard to catch a legal fish. Anyway heres the pics

devocean
21-11-2005, 09:04 PM
Picturers

devocean
21-11-2005, 09:06 PM
Bloody bludgers was also destroyed by a couple of big GTs amonst them

devocean
21-11-2005, 09:07 PM
emperor

devocean
21-11-2005, 09:10 PM
cobia

morty103
21-11-2005, 09:38 PM
Nice fish/photos
Beaut conditions
Good on ya mate
Morty

vertico
21-11-2005, 09:48 PM
cant believe you gaffed a cobia that small

devocean
21-11-2005, 09:52 PM
Had no net have lost several cobia there in the past was making no mistake, by the way photo does not do the fish justice very big man

matthill80
21-11-2005, 09:52 PM
was that cobe legal??

devocean
21-11-2005, 09:55 PM
Measured 841/2 cm like I said picture is decieving

vertico
21-11-2005, 09:56 PM
looks f@$#@$#en small matto

congratulations go to the gaff man

pin pont accuracy was required and he did well to hit it

devocean
21-11-2005, 10:01 PM
Yeah guys I would put undersized fish on here,,, take it easy fellas Ive been on this forum for friggin ages yet you to seem to think you are the godamm fishos or something. Let me guess you guys are the cobia kings or something. Might be a small fish but it was the process of catching the thing whhich is what I was referring to in my original post took a lot of timne and patience to hook the fish as they were very fickle even though they were hanging out the back of the boat.

Let me guess you guys own big arse 21 foot patriots or something geez I only own a tinny mate so take it easy

matthill80
21-11-2005, 10:06 PM
umm nup i have a 14 footer and i was only taking the piss so settle down champ all in the name of fun

Any_Weather
21-11-2005, 10:07 PM
Well said Devocean. If the fish is legal you do what you like with it. If a gaff is what you need to use to get it in safely you bloody use it!!!!!

devocean
21-11-2005, 10:07 PM
Sorry

vertico
21-11-2005, 10:09 PM
hahahaha ;D

Always_offshore
21-11-2005, 10:10 PM
so did you get any crabs ;D

uripper
22-11-2005, 06:18 AM
Devocean

No need for you to apologise - that should come from the keyboard wankers who get their jollies by taking a blindside swipe at someone while hiding behind their monitors >:(

Anyways, am curious about those undersize reds - what port you leave from ?

Rip