View Full Version : Barwon Banks Mixed Bag

outsiderskip
12-12-2005, 08:28 AM
:) #Left Mooloolaba at 12.30am had a 35kph run out to the banks with good conditions, started fishing at 2am. The first fish bite took off at a million miles an hour breaking my rod holder and watching my rod and reel disappear into the depth of the ocean....FINDERS NO KEEPERS, 6 PACK ON RETURN....... things were a bit slow for awhile. #Daybreak started and snapper came on the chew.
Fish were quiet periodically so we moved to a new location pearlies and parrot on the chew. We had a 6ft hammerhead shark around the boat for sometime. #Fishing got a bit slow and was thinking about heading home and all of a sudden the rod took off at an unstoppable pace. #Could not gain any line at all, after awhile I gave the rod to my offsider and after 15minutes we started regaining some line. Got to within 50metres from the top and Say No More.... Don't know what it was but it was very heavy... Stop fishing around 9.30am with a mixed bag of snapper, parrot, pearlies, rosey job fish, Hussars, Kodda and a trag. # Pics Below ;D

outsiderskip
12-12-2005, 08:29 AM
pic 2

outsiderskip
12-12-2005, 08:31 AM
pic3

outsiderskip
12-12-2005, 08:33 AM
pic4

outsiderskip
12-12-2005, 08:34 AM
pic 5

outsiderskip
12-12-2005, 08:35 AM
pic 6

reeldreamer
12-12-2005, 08:38 AM
some solid fish there! Well done

grunta_75
12-12-2005, 08:40 AM
Great mixed feed there Skip - well done & Xmas dinner looks well looked after!!!

grunta

Fixation
12-12-2005, 08:55 AM
Looks like you had a good one. Like the look of those snapper. Conditions certainly were good out there on the weekend. Good work :D

pittymick
12-12-2005, 09:25 AM
sorry to hear bout the rod, you rekon it could have been a dolphin fish(mahi mahi) there been going mental, had them in my berly trail hooked up on a big bull and one of my knots carked it not before it gave the old rod a workout.

Streaker
12-12-2005, 09:51 AM
Good trip Peter. I heard you on the radio pity about the rod and reel. send over the mark and I'll have a look for you. I'll do a post tonight from home.
Wayne

vertico
12-12-2005, 04:16 PM
a nice bag of reefies there pete , pitty about the rod .
you got an excuse to replace it with a tld25 now :)

12-12-2005, 04:34 PM
That's a shame about the rod/reel/holder mate....

Looks like you had a top day with an awesome result though!

12-12-2005, 04:47 PM
Well done Pete. Great mixed bag.

DALEPRICE
12-12-2005, 05:39 PM
nice work pete,
looks like that rod is coppin a work out ;D
cheers dale

outsiderskip
13-12-2005, 06:03 AM
REWARD :)

6PK PRESENT WHO FINDS MY ROD AHD REEL

IN 63 MTS WATER SPOTX TO GOOD TO GIVE OUT

620sf
13-12-2005, 08:08 AM
Abit of bad luck there Pete with losing the rod. We're yet to let one go but i'm sure the day will come. some good snapper still out there.

Luke

rockape
13-12-2005, 08:56 AM
Some nice fish there mate, well done!

Could have been your mate the hammerhead that gave you curry!

outsiderskip
13-12-2005, 05:02 PM
hi dave
this was no shark

vertico
13-12-2005, 08:40 PM
big aj

pittymick
14-12-2005, 01:39 PM
hows the bend in the rod, good day fishing by looks

outsiderskip
14-12-2005, 06:08 PM
hi pittymick
good day fishing i would have to know what is was

pete

outsiderskip
14-12-2005, 06:08 PM
hi pittymick
good day fishing i would have to know what is was

pete

14-12-2005, 09:31 PM
Pete, Heard you on the radio and was almost going to call you up and sneak over but we ended up getting a couple just in the nick of time. Were you fishing the southern banks? or centre? you seem to do really well where ever you were fishing.

14-12-2005, 09:59 PM
Great close-up shots Pete. Sorry to hear about the combo. That must have been some fish. Might have to hook up a safety line next time...it's always Murphy's Law isn't it. Anyway, there's another excuse for a Chrissy present.

outsiderskip
15-12-2005, 07:02 AM
hi dave
we usually fish near northern end

cheers pete

outsiderskip
15-12-2005, 07:06 AM
hi dave
i got a m10 and a tld 30 all ready
could not wait want to go fishing next week

cheers pete

Gbanger
15-12-2005, 10:38 AM
top effort mate, looks like you had a fun trip...