View Full Version : AMAZING GREAT WHITE PICS

flickflack
09-12-2005, 10:59 PM
A fellow Fisho from South Africa sent me thes awesome pics of Great Whites in South Africa. They were taken on the west coast at a place called GansBaai which is well known for them. Thought that they would be enjoyed by you all.

Cheers Rod

flickflack
09-12-2005, 11:01 PM
:o

flickflack
09-12-2005, 11:02 PM
:o

flickflack
09-12-2005, 11:02 PM
:o :o :o

Darryl
09-12-2005, 11:18 PM
Yeah ive caught them that big at the houseboat at peel Rod on a 4 inch minnow in watermelon. :D

No seriously thanxs for sharing the pics. Absolutely awsome mate.

cuzzamundi
09-12-2005, 11:25 PM
unbelieveable! they never cease to amaze me those eating machines! what a moment it would be being that bloke in the foreground! thanks for that mate.

cuzza

Darryl
09-12-2005, 11:32 PM
They actually all look like different whites too. as one has the battle scars under him in the pics , and it seems the others dont.

Could be the scotch though.

I would hate the thought of having to put in the old maday call in those waters.

Take that back , two of the pics are the same shark. Fiesty bitch. :o

skippa
09-12-2005, 11:49 PM
Darryl,

good going working in the Peel houseboat into this thread ;D

But you told me it was 4" Zoom in watermelon :-X

love the pics anyway, that bloke's a braver man than me ...

Tony 8-)

FOOCKCHUCKER
10-12-2005, 01:29 AM
saw a couple feeding on a whale carcas once each frenzed attack would have flocks of shearwaters diving like crazy. surfings out this weekend thank you very much , great shots

land_based
10-12-2005, 02:48 AM
Those pictures are incredible, i wouldnt be putting my hands anywhere near him :o

outsiderskip
10-12-2005, 05:21 AM
great pics

reeldreamer
10-12-2005, 08:53 AM
Absolutely awesome! Thanks for sharing!

sunny
10-12-2005, 09:19 AM
Awesome pics :o

I've done the Gaansbaai thing and it is pretty wild. #I'll never forget when the first shark came up to the boat and circled past the transom, head out the one end and tail out the other. #This American tourist looks at this and drawls "Oh they're not as big as I thought they were."

A moment's stunned silence followed, then the skipper turned to her and replied in a good heavy farmboy accent. "Maybe so lady, did you know the transom of my boat is 3.5m wide"

We got to see five that day and they were all about 5m long. #One of the stunning things we realised was that they needed the entire length of the 8m charter boat just to turn around.

fishingnottake
10-12-2005, 09:20 AM
where they fishing? what was making it rise?

flickflack
10-12-2005, 09:55 AM
They suspend a bait below a float and then pull it towards the boat as the white follows .As it gets to the boat they lift the bait out the water and grab the shark on the nose. It then rears its head up out the water like in the pics. There are a few charter guys that have got it pretty well sussed. There is also one guy that free dives with them. He can have it mate, I have seen quite a few of them in SA and they are huge, you cannot believe something that big is a predator.

kingcobe
10-12-2005, 10:12 AM
:oholy sh*t :o how did they get that close to that big bugger

kingcobe

aussiefool
10-12-2005, 10:15 AM
There is also one guy that free dives with them. He can have it mate, ?????????????? Free dives does he have a death wish or what???
great pics though Rod. So are you going to start fishing for them next?

Billo
10-12-2005, 10:36 AM
Too right Rod ...thoroughly enjoyed !

They are an awesome creature aren't they .. :o

It's a goal of mine over the next few years to get down South Oz and get a real close up encounter, hopefully even cage dive .
I have seen big a$$ bastards off sydney up to approx 800kgs ( them and tigers ) but never seen them breach , not even a nose out of the water ....need to get closer ;) ;D

Owen
10-12-2005, 10:44 AM
Now there's a fella destined to be known as Lefty ;D ;D

So ahhhh, what's the surfing like around there?? [smiley=jester.gif]

Awesome creature.
Gotta say I'm not sure I agree with toursit boats teaching large bitey things that jumping out of the water at boats is a good way to get a feed.
Re-inforces my completely irrational fear of sharks and crocodiles.

Owen

10-12-2005, 10:51 AM
How could you get in the water with that hangin around :o ::)

I must admit it would be a buzz to pat one 8-)

noluck
10-12-2005, 12:16 PM
it is amazing
and this man look like dfoxy
are shor it is not him ;D
cheers NO_luck

rando
10-12-2005, 01:19 PM
Owen,
nothing whatsoever irrational about being scared s...less of being inhaled by a big scaley thing with a brain the size of a walnut and a mouth the size of a bobcat bucket. ;D ;D ME TOO

caloundra
10-12-2005, 02:04 PM
Rod those pic's look great
I wouldn't be standing that close to the side of the boat [smiley=oops.gif] there goes my arm

Daniel

10-12-2005, 03:04 PM
Won't be dangling my foot in the water there.

flickflack
10-12-2005, 03:16 PM
We have actually seen them chase seals like a trevally chasing a herring and then lau :Pnch themselves onto the island and grab them, once the whole show is over you start to grab for the camera. It has to be the greatest thing to see. They are beutifull animals to look at in the water BUT I wont be going in to the water to have a look, They will probably say here comes Roderick GET HIM!!

10-12-2005, 07:18 PM
#:oholy sh*t :o how did they get that close to that big bugger

kingcobe

I'm watching you boy! ;)

Thanks for sharing Rod. Awesome pics.

Kid
10-12-2005, 07:59 PM
Thanks for sharing. They were great!!! (no pun intended!!)

Mad-One
10-12-2005, 10:07 PM
Totally awesome. Would love to see that up close but wouldn't like to be the one to wash my pants ;D ;D :o

Phil

maztez
11-12-2005, 06:44 AM
what a specticle. Now I know why I live on the gold coast and never ever go in the surf or creeks canals etc unless Im in the Mistress
Awesome pics

jeffo
11-12-2005, 07:46 AM
we saw 2 of them out here this year (mooloolaba) one out past the banks, he was a monster... about 14 foot long and about 4 foot across the shoulders!! the other was insde the banks but he was a bit smaller, maybe 10 feet. both were whites.

dorado
11-12-2005, 10:21 AM
Awesome pics! Thanks for putting them up. Was half expecting you to say you caught them trolling for Jacks :D !!

Jusel
11-12-2005, 01:43 PM
Amazing Pictures!!! Not so sure about the guy that swims with them though!

flickflack
11-12-2005, 01:50 PM
Dorado

No mate but we did used to fish for them off the beach with Swim baits(Live sharks and stingrays) in South Africa. Very hard fish to land. They jump heaps when you hook them and like to saw through wire trace.They werent anywhere near as big as these brutes but they were quite plentifull around september when the stingrays started to breed. We used to target the stingrays in our Rock and Surf comps and at times it was hard to get one to the beach without it getting eaten off. Pretty exciting stuff

burkleybeginner
11-12-2005, 04:27 PM
:o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :-?never seizes to amaze me how they do it

wewak1111
12-12-2005, 07:12 AM
Mate, they're some of the best shark pics I've ever seen! Thanks! Can't sleep well now.....

A_DIFF_PERSPECTIVE
12-12-2005, 09:11 AM
Roderick,
Thanks mate. We obviously all enjoyed the pics of one of nature's wildest and commanding creatures at its best. Thorough excitement in all those pics.
Johnny M

Frank_Oostenbroek
12-12-2005, 09:48 AM
You have got to be crazy/ I have become quite attached to both my hands.
I wouldn't want to lose them.\\

Great Pictures, Thanks Mate....

FrankOO

Gbanger
12-12-2005, 10:47 AM
insane...

bazzacuda
12-12-2005, 12:23 PM
Strewth, my tin boat thinks those teeth look like giant smily can openers. There is something to be said for playing golf afterall. (I might try it one day ;D)

szopen
12-12-2005, 01:05 PM
These pictures are great.

I guess I was not the only one that thought that Roderick has caught one and these will be his pictures.

Mad_Barry
12-12-2005, 01:24 PM
Great pics

There was a documentary on discovery or national geographic a few mths ago about a few guys traveling around the world with a mission of free diving with as many of the various shark species as possible. If it comes on again be sure to catch it. Those guys were nuts.

Besides most of the 'lesser' species, they were diving & filming (uncaged) with Great Whites off Sth Africa & huge Tigers out the other side of the barrier reef. Even sitting in the safety of my lounge room, I was nervous and expecting any second to see a big chomp & the screen just go black. ;D

Scott_Watson
12-12-2005, 02:23 PM
I've heard of a lot of animals that are able to be trained to do tricks, but a GW, thats 1 desperate #[smiley=helpa.gif]fisherman or 1 hungry Great White. Too bad if sucker jumped and landed in their boat. Make sure you send us the pics of this Rod.

Awsome pics just the same.

Watto

sacman
12-12-2005, 09:43 PM
Of all the things said here the shark in the boat bit is the most frightening aspect of all. To half train a great white to relate food and boats and breaching and think that there will not be an incident of a shark launching itself in close proximity to a boat and landing in it is fools thinking. The chances of one of these tour group guys getting his arm bitten off or the shark landing in their boat is small, but one day the same shark will be chasing a fish which you are about to gaff, it will not be scared of a boat, it will in fact associate the boat with food because that is how they get them close to photograph them. It will come out the water and land in your lap and all you will be able to do is take your chances overboard.

stingermuz
13-12-2005, 09:35 AM
Hey, cool pics, the thread is starting to turn tho..... and I'm up for Devil's Advocate as well.

Re: training the sharks to relate food and boats and breaching ---- there's a thread on this very forum that should make us think twice about this sort of stuff. Pictures of a Great White attaching a rec fishing boat NW of Adelaide:

http://www.ausfish.com.au/cgi-ausfish/yabb2/YaBB.cgi?num=1134301780

These sharks are migratory. One shark gets trained to breach by a Discovery Channel film crew towing cutouts of seals behind a boat in South Africa. It then swims down to South Australia and sees a young fellow being towed on his surfboard behind tinnie... sound familiar?

flickflack
13-12-2005, 09:51 AM
There have been many such cases as this one in South Africa of Whites biting the propellors of fishing boats and scaring the hell out of the fishos. Thes "attacks" occured all over SA and it seems to be something the electro thingies around the metal of the prop or something . We also have had heaps of stories of mako sharks chasing a fish and ending up inside the boat or just free jumping straight into the air and landing in the boat. I have actually seen this happen on three seperate occasions so I dont think that it is limited to whites.
Me I think that they should be left to carry on their merry way without us burleying for them and trying to entice them to boats.

HarryO
14-12-2005, 11:08 AM
Bloody incredible pickies, tho...

Trying to picture catching stingrays to use for live bait...

Awesome....

Reminds me of when tailor fishing nut deep in the surf
with mates up Fraser a cupla years back, hooked a nice
tailor and reeling it in whe the BTR6500 got spooled...
The 3 of us looked up and saw a 4m+ black shadow in the
crest of the wave right in front of us, absconding with my tailor.... We all crapped ourselves, it was a deadset race who got outta tthe water quicker... that was close encounters enough for us..

Todays angler could be tomorrows shark sh*t...

Harry.

Moffy
15-12-2005, 10:39 AM
only "fairly tense" :o :o

flickflack
15-12-2005, 01:41 PM
Ouch, man I would definately learn how to fly in that situation.

sf17fisherman
15-12-2005, 01:52 PM
;)

flickflack
15-12-2005, 06:31 PM
wouldnt want to be the guy still in the water, I saw that pic a few days ago with the heading that it was an actual photo taken somewhere in South Africa while the navy was doing training.

HAMMER740
18-12-2005, 10:27 PM
I hope i never see one do that beside my 14 footer. [smiley=helpa.gif]

beancounter
19-12-2005, 08:50 PM
I think the guy in the boat is called "Steve Irwin" !!!! (alias "Man with a death-wish")

DR
20-12-2005, 09:23 AM
;)

great pics. would be a rush to pat one of those suckers, i know i would need to wear the brown corduroy shorts...

http://www.snopes.com/photos/animals/shark.asp

sf17fisherman
20-12-2005, 10:05 AM
;) another

DR
20-12-2005, 10:28 AM
here you go sf17, somemore to enjoy
http://search.atomz.com/search/?sp-q=sharks&getit=Go&sp-a=00062d45-sp00000000&sp-advanced=1&sp-p=all&sp-w-control=1&sp-w=alike&sp-date-range=-1&sp-x=any&sp-c=100&sp-m=1&sp-s=0 [smiley=beer.gif]

20-12-2005, 11:18 AM
re: The "Fairly Tense" picture:-

PADDLE CHANQUETAS PADDLE!!!!!

;D ;D ;D

mintwerb
03-02-2006, 09:16 AM
just to follow up DR's post...

http://news.nationalgeographic.com/news/2002/08/0815_020815_photooftheyear.html

..if only we could get some more "real" photoslike that to enjoy...

onerabbit
04-02-2006, 07:45 AM
Too bad if sucker jumped and landed in their boat.

Scott15
04-02-2006, 01:59 PM
Wonder where he ended up :o :o ::)

flickflack
04-02-2006, 04:12 PM
Dunno but I recon I know where the guys looking over the side did. ;D

noluck
05-02-2006, 02:18 AM
wouldnt want to be the guy still in the water, I saw that pic a few days ago with the heading that it was an actual photo taken somewhere in South Africa while the navy was doing training.
i dont know mate but i wouldnt think that big shark will be #in river under bridge
Cheers no_luck

flickflack
05-02-2006, 09:48 AM
No Luck.

Have since found out that it isnt a real pic. Still looks pretty good though.

rod

Phoenix
06-02-2006, 07:40 AM
The pic of the helicopter & shark is BS.

hicksy
07-02-2006, 09:35 AM
HUGE BUGGER THAT TOO CLOSE FOR MY LIKING!