View Full Version : 1770 24-09-06

trout3030
26-09-2006, 09:27 AM
Got a chance to take the new boat for its first trip of 1770 first weekend of the school holidays. #First day was a bit quiet and finding fish was hard work. #Got a feed of hussar and parrot. #Whales put on a great aerial display for us for about 30 minutes. #First time I've seen them fully breach. #Had 2 adults breaching in synch with eachother. #Sunday morning started off very slow also. #Fish came on the bite at lunchtime and in a couple of hours we had a nice esky of hussar, parrot, moses perch, railway and coral trout. #These two trout were the first 2 trout caught in the new boat. #At 5.5kg and 6.5kg it could be a while before they get beaten. Check out the state of the poor little baldy bream that got nailed on the way up.

trout3030
26-09-2006, 09:29 AM
Tony,
Any news on the Noosacat that was turned over on the bar Sunday afternoon? #Hope all were OK.

snappa
26-09-2006, 10:58 AM
that is a great fish ..... so can u send me the gps mark ..

ready for the 1770 ausfish / pba. FISH OFF.... ;)

pm will do

F1SH_BOY
26-09-2006, 02:24 PM
is the new boat a sailfish catamarang 6500?

trout3030
26-09-2006, 06:19 PM
Sailfish 5500. Twin 70hp Johnson 4 strokes. Not overly quick but very comfortable.

straddy77
26-09-2006, 10:41 PM
nice trout mate. love 1770, great part of the world

griz066
27-09-2006, 11:08 AM
Top pics mate top spot 1770 8-)

Badone
27-09-2006, 04:31 PM
Stuie, Gday saw you at the ramp and the servo, we had the longboat. We drove home Sat night after fishing all day sat. Sounds like you had a good day Sunday. Simon.

trout3030
27-09-2006, 04:38 PM
Yep the fishing was far away improved on Sunday. Fished the same areas and the water temp was about 1-1.5 degrees higher on Sunday. Weather was very similar to Saturday. Did you guys do some spearing as well as line fishing? Just looked like you might have been over the side at some stage.

agnes_jack
28-09-2006, 01:50 PM
G'day Stuie
About the only thing I have heard about the cat was that it was locals!!!
no injuries apparently....
Got me buggered as to how they did that in those conditions though mate!!! :o :o :o
They did something silly.....thats for sure

Regards, Tony ::)

trout3030
28-09-2006, 06:51 PM
Tony,
It was dead low tide with a bit of a swell. The bigger swells were breaking across most of the entrance. Can only assume they picked the wrong one to come in with or didn't pay it the respect it deserves.

agnes_jack
30-09-2006, 12:42 PM
I heard that they came in on the shallow side near the headland, and when the driver realized he was about to hit bottom, he swung it around sideways to the swell and gunned the motor to try to get back to the channel. A very slight roll lifted his right pontoon, and because he still had the motor at full bikies he drove the front left side down into the sand and flipped!!! From all reports from a boatie who saw it at the time it happened, there were no breaking swells at all, only a slight roll from the wind. One of the blokes who helped pick up the gear that was still floating, rekoned it was that calm that he just drifted sideways across the bar in a 16' tinnie while picking up the gear!!
There was three blokes on board at the time, and they apparently had a hard time getting out because the canopy had been squashed down around them. They lost heaps of tackle and rods, keys etc. All three blokes were locals, and should have known better.
Fortunatley no one was seriously hurt.

Regards, Tony

Badone
30-09-2006, 07:39 PM
Stuie, Yeah we only went spearing. It was hard work as the current was running over the deeper patches off the reef. Gave Bustard Head a go but the vis was only about 2m and a Tiger snuck up on my mate so we moved on to the reef. Good fun but the fish were patchy. Simon.

trout3030
30-09-2006, 10:52 PM
Havent had a tiger around the boat for a few years out there now. But they are around. Much prefer to be in the boat than out of it when they show up but.
Thanks for the info Tony. Glad they were ok. We personally haven't come in close to the headland for many years now.