View Full Version : Beaut Thai Fish Cakes

Boxhead
07-03-2005, 06:33 AM
Does anyone want a easy yummy recipe for Thai Fish Cakes? If so respond to this and I will type the bugger out for yas.. [smiley=chef.gif]

Nath...

07-03-2005, 06:45 AM
YEP YEP, BUT I THINK IT WILL GET MOVED TO THE CAMPING/COOKING BOARD.
ROZ.

Big_unit
07-03-2005, 09:33 AM
Yeah man go for it.
James.

nonibbles
07-03-2005, 11:15 AM
go on do it, ya know you want to

ba229
07-03-2005, 11:17 AM
We could all do with a good recipe for our undersized bream ;)

dasher
07-03-2005, 12:11 PM
We could all do with a good recipe for our undersized bream #;)

Bad boy. :o Go to your room. ::) ;D

Boxhead
07-03-2005, 12:21 PM
Right ooh, here it is. But firstly I must confess that it's coming out of a yuppie seafood recipe book that my wife bought.... Before this book I was a firm believer that fish came 2 ways - Crumbed or Battered. I doubled the following quanities 'cause yuppies don't eat much....

Thai Fish Cakes

450g skinned white firm fish fillets such as Cod, Hake or for the Village People, undersized bream ;D (I used Long Finned Perch, but anything will do)
45g of Rice Flour
1 Tablespoon of Fish Sauce (or the blood off the baitboard that's been out in the sun all day)
1 egg
3 Tablespoons of Coriander Leaves
3 Teaspoons of red curry paste
1-2 Teaspoons of finely chopped chilli (Optional-But don't be a chook [smiley=helpa.gif])
100g of green beans, very thinly sliced
2 Spring onions (Finely Chopped)

Sweet Chilli sauce for dipping
3-4 Stubbies so you don't die of thurst whilst preparing and cooking

It goes on to tell you what to add and when to add it... But, seriously, the go is to chuck it all in the food processor (yes, the one your wife doesn't think your using to make berley) chop it until it is the consistancy of Clag, roll them up into little balls, fry it and eat it....

Yes, its the goods, try it. Enjoy....

Nath....

philip_thomson
07-03-2005, 12:35 PM
if im not doubling the quantities of the items then which half of the egg do i use ???

just the yoke? just the white? or grab out the knife and cut both in half? ???

ba229
07-03-2005, 12:40 PM
Geez phil that is about the most intelligent and observant thing I have ever seen you pick up on.

I doubled the following quanities 'cause yuppies don't eat much....

Lmao, those poor undernourished yuppies. Psssst...Don't tell em there is meat in fish cause they are mostly vegetarians too.

Boxhead
07-03-2005, 12:41 PM
Philip,

You double the "Following Quanities" therefore 1 egg + 1 egg = 2 eggs ::) OK, and maybe I have some spelling issues...

Nath....

philip_thomson
07-03-2005, 01:21 PM
thanks for clearing that up nath was a bit confused about the egg :-[

hint for next time "i double the following quantities"
rather than "i doubled the following quantities"

should help eliminate the confusion :)

cheers phil

Boxhead
07-03-2005, 01:55 PM
No worries Phil... Anyway, give them a go, however many eggs you use... They are tasty little buggers [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]

FishingGurl
07-03-2005, 03:08 PM
[smiley=chef.gif]this is my Thai fish cake recipe (Tod Man Pla)
450g of Australian salmon/Tailor or another strong oily fish
3tbs cornflour
1 egg beaten
2 clove garlic
grated ginger
1/4cup mint
1/4cup coriander or flat pasley
2 teaspoons of curry powder
100g of fresh or frozen peas
1 oinon diced
1/2 cup oil for the frying
chillie if that way inclined or just a couple of drops of tabasco
(also can use some capsicain)
i like to first bake the fish whole for about half hour then pull the meat away from the bones and if there is some strong blood lines still in the fish these can also be removed
flake the fish and all the finly choped ingredents together in to a bowl and get your hands dirty mixing it all together (please make sure your hands are not dirty before getting them dirty in the mixture)
form either patties or balls and fry in a heated frying pan over a medum heat
cook untill golden brown with a nice crisp surface [smiley=chef.gif]
sit back with your favoit dipping sauce and a nice cold wine or beer and enjoy

this is a great meal to use those fish that we all other wise just chuck back or as you men say give to the mother in law ;D
hope you enjoy all the best vanessa [smiley=gorgeous.gif]

Boxhead
07-03-2005, 03:12 PM
Thanks Vanessa, I will give your recipe a go and see how she turns out... Any excuse for more Thai Fish Cakes.... Oh yeah, and Beer... ::)

kc
07-03-2005, 07:05 PM
We sell about 600 of these a week so scale down the recipe accordingly...or invite an awful lot of mates around.

6kg fish fillets...stong flavour is best...sharky mackerel number 1

2 bunches corriander
6 large red chillies
200 gms Ginger
4 bulbs garlic
3 brown onions
100 grms galang-galang
8 limes (juice)
4 Kafar Lime leaves
1 jar Pataks Rogun Josh
2 400 ml tins coconut cream
200 mls Sweet Chilli sauce or 200 grms brown Palm Sugar
6 eggs
100 mls fish sauce

Bung the lot in a food processor and blend till smooth.

Add 200 grms green beans, finely sliced, 1 bunch shallots, finely sliced and 3 large red chillis, finely sliced (important for visual and texture).

Fry in hot pan w/ peanut oil & serve with a dipping sauce of Kepac Manus (sweet Soy), sweet Chilli & Fish Sauce 45/45/10

Yum!! Don't know why we sell them so cheap.

KC

DICER
07-03-2005, 09:42 PM
Gaud thanks for the recipes!!!

Boxhead
08-03-2005, 05:39 AM
KC,

Your making me salivate.... MUST EAT MORE THAI FISH CAKES :D

heatway
01-02-2008, 10:02 AM
I would like the recipe please

sleepygreg
02-02-2008, 01:50 AM
then print it out or copy it down on paper!!!!!!!