View Full Version : Cruise Craft Restoration

tengals123
18-05-2005, 06:53 AM
Here is the repost after the recent forum crash.
*UPDATED PICTURES HERE*

http://www.shareaproject.com/pages/projectThumbs,p,49,00.html

let me know what you think.

rando
18-05-2005, 08:26 AM
Quality Job that, Im impressed. Cant wait to see the finished product :)

tengals123
18-05-2005, 08:32 AM
thanks rando.

HAZ
19-05-2005, 06:55 AM
Nice job Tengals,
Did you replace the rub strip with new stuff ? If so where do you get it and did you just use contact cement or another product to reapply it ? I have a Cruisecraft Colt and the rub strip is starting to perish so any info would be great.
Thanks,
Harry.

tengals123
19-05-2005, 09:32 AM
thanks for the post HAZ. yes the rub rail will be replaced with a white rubber one from whitworths. The one im getting is alot less bulky than the original and fits perfectly over my deck join. It will be fixed with epoxy.

James_V17L
19-05-2005, 03:52 PM
Awesome job Tengals..Very impressive.

tengals123
24-05-2005, 05:56 PM
*updated pics available*

tengals123
29-05-2005, 01:35 PM
Final undercoat are on, 1st topcoat going on tomorrow.
Sked also finished, will post final motor pics tomorrow also.
*UPDATED PICS AVAILABLE*

rando
31-05-2005, 06:55 PM
WOW 8)

01-06-2005, 12:43 PM
That just looks awesome Tengals! Good work mate!!!

Keep up the updates!

johndo
02-06-2005, 10:03 AM
Excellent stuff, you have inspired me. I've been looking for a while and it wasn't until 2 weeks ago that I spied a CC Rogue. The fellow bought it for $500 c/w trailer. As soon as I spied it, I knew it was my next project, but he doesn't want to sell. If mine turns out as 1/2 good as yours I'll be pleased.

Anyone out there got one or know of a cheap one for sale ?

tengals123
02-06-2005, 02:44 PM
thanks heaps guys. Screen and upholstery ready friday. Trailer ready sunday and final coat on tomorrow.

Kiktz
02-06-2005, 03:48 PM
Mate You have excelled yourself..........

Truely awesome

chemmy
02-06-2005, 06:19 PM
every thing looks great hull, motor every thing

tengals123
05-06-2005, 01:37 PM
thanks guys, more updated pictures now available.

youngfisho
05-06-2005, 03:11 PM
Things coming along nicely. Wouldn't mind doing the same to my boat. Need to cut my floor out and fix things up. Big undertaking though. Good luck with the restoration.

andrew

tengals123
08-06-2005, 01:08 PM
thanks andrew.

Big_Kev
08-06-2005, 02:34 PM
She's looking good.

tengals123
09-06-2005, 12:45 PM
just have to get the carpet in now.

tengals123
14-06-2005, 12:59 PM
*UPDATED PICTURES AVALABLE*
SCREEN AND GUNWALE FENDER STRIP ARE ON AND INSTALLED.

CHEERS

tengals123
19-06-2005, 01:57 PM
more updated pics....

chemmy
19-06-2005, 06:34 PM
looking great

tengals123
21-06-2005, 08:26 AM
thanks chemmy, getting there.

Runamuck
21-06-2005, 03:40 PM
Its an absolute pleasure watching this fantastic boat unfold. Great work!
I will be asking you for tips in the future.
Im looking at respraying my Yamaha. Where can i get the paint and decals to match?? The etch primer and spray putty..is it automotive?
looking forward to the finished project [smiley=builder.gif]
Adam

tengals123
21-06-2005, 04:10 PM
thanks heaps runamuck. You can buy you yami paint in australia. even prolly from a yami dealer. If you still struggle I can get it for you in Melbourne. The decal set you should be able to get from your dealer also, but be prepared to pay for the originals. If you want the cheaper option, I can get you onto a guy in QLD that custom did mine, he can do the same for you. Mine cost me $40 including postage. That's cheap as. The etch primer is standard etching primer. I used white knight or wattle, I can't remember. The spray putty is automotive. The topcoat was by Quicksilver as was the clear coat. The key to a lasting finish is the drying times. People don't wait long enough, or wait to long to re-coat. Mate, i'd be glad to help you out anytime. By the way, I have in excess of 3000 pics of this rebuild, in your case at leat 50 of the motor restoration. I you or anyone needs a specific shot or description just give me a hoy and i'll shot em over.

Runamuck
21-06-2005, 04:45 PM
tengals

Ill try my local Yamaha dealer and if theres problem ill give you a holla.

I agree with your comments on drying times...most important
Thanks for your offer to help....much appreciated.

look forward to the pics of the finished project

Adam

tengals123
21-06-2005, 05:35 PM
anytime mate.
let me know how you go.

22-06-2005, 04:11 PM
The resto looks fantastic ... keep up with the updates!

Looking foward to seeing the finished product.

tengals123
23-06-2005, 12:29 PM
thanks 333000.

stu68
23-06-2005, 03:52 PM
THAT"S GOLD!
:o :o :o :o

tengals123
25-06-2005, 03:23 PM
*UPDATED PICTURES AVAILABLE*

chemmy
25-06-2005, 04:38 PM
Top-notch job there the transformation is unbelievable

tengals123
04-07-2005, 04:13 PM
thanks heaps chemmy.
Still working, hopefully finished soon.

tengals123
11-07-2005, 04:24 PM
*UPDATED PICS AVAILABLE*
Nearly finished.

tengals123
11-07-2005, 04:26 PM
and this......

chemmy
11-07-2005, 05:48 PM
it turned out great looks a treet well do and hope i see you on the water soon

tengals123
11-07-2005, 06:09 PM
thanks chemmy here's one of the motor....

tengals123
11-07-2005, 06:12 PM
sorry here....

tengals123
11-07-2005, 06:13 PM
sorry here....

tengals123
12-07-2005, 06:45 PM
Control box installed.

Runamuck
13-07-2005, 07:18 AM
Whens the launching ceremony?

tengals123
13-07-2005, 09:01 AM
Thanks for the post. I'm hoping for 4 weeks time. If it's finished.

Runamuck
13-07-2005, 05:12 PM
I look forwrd to it! ;D

tengals123
13-07-2005, 06:26 PM
thanks mate. I just seems like it's never going to end!

tengals123
20-07-2005, 06:48 PM
*UPDATED PICTURES AVAILABLE*
check em out.
almost finished.

20-07-2005, 07:00 PM
Looking fantastic mate!

rando
21-07-2005, 11:18 AM
A credit to you

Mr_Bean
21-07-2005, 11:40 AM
G'Day Tengals,

Great project and you have done it well.

Must admit when I first looked at what you were taking on I thought it was kinda like giving the missus a face lift.

Same noise, same ride, just a bit better looking.

But now that I have again reviewed the photos and the work you have done on the walk through etc, I reckon you went the full hog and did the boob job as well.

Well done.

- Darren

tengals123
21-07-2005, 05:34 PM
Thanks heaps guys. I am just timing and tuning the motor ATM. Hope to 'test' her this weekend.
Maybe.....:)
Thanks once again for your support.

phewy
21-07-2005, 05:50 PM
Simply amazing job Tengals. :o Sure it will give you great satisfaction when you finally get to launch it. Proud as punch I should think. Good luck with the final details and the forthcoming launch. Any ideas about the color scheme yet? :)

tengals123
21-07-2005, 06:05 PM
Phewy, thanks for your kind words. I just cross my fingers everything goes to plan. As far as the pinstripe is concerned, I can't find anything I like, so at the moment i'm sticking with the bare white hull.

phewy
21-07-2005, 06:11 PM
Looks awesome just bare for the moment Tengals. Something in 2 tone blue/grey would suit it down to the ground, but nothing too flashy I'd reckon. Would spoil that classic look.

tengals123
21-07-2005, 06:25 PM
I know. I had a designer mock up 12 different stripes and none of them looked appealing.
what to do?
any idea's? / pictures?
BTW I want to try and book a launch at the Nationalk watersports center in carrum to test the boat one morning. I can't find their phone number anywhere.

phewy
21-07-2005, 06:44 PM
Could only come up with this page to book the park for educational purposes. You have probably come across this yourself. http://www.parkweb.vic.gov.au/education/booking.cfm?FparkId=138
Fill it out and you may get a response anyway with more contact info.

tengals123
21-07-2005, 06:47 PM
yeah I tries that already. Seems like alot of effort, for 1hrs use. How strange, they don't have a phone number??

tengals123
05-08-2005, 08:12 AM
Guys, i'm almost done. New motor, new everything. Just a few last final touches to go. What do you think?

tengals123
05-08-2005, 08:13 AM
here

tengals123
05-08-2005, 08:14 AM
mmm.....not sure why it's deleting the pics anyway....

check out here.
http://www.shareaproject.com/pages/projectTut,p,49,00.html

stunnedmullet
05-08-2005, 09:01 AM
Nothing to say but absolutely brilliant job tengals123
All credit to you mate
The mullet salutes you [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]

tengals123
05-08-2005, 04:07 PM
thanks heaps stunn.

noluck
05-08-2005, 04:30 PM
can not bolive :o very nice
awesome [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]
i hope u will not take that boat fishing
no_luck

tengals123
05-08-2005, 07:04 PM
I will be fishing every week in that boat. I will be getting a full lenth bait board donated by bermuda and rod holders the same, on saturday.

tengals123
06-08-2005, 02:21 PM
FINISHED****

Final water shots at
http://www.shareaproject.com/pages/projectTut,p,49,00.html

Clocked 92.5Kmh

Thanks 'Deano', love ya mate......

Bosunsmate
07-08-2005, 07:38 AM
Well done tengals, outstanding job.

What was the total time taken from start to finish.

tengals123
07-08-2005, 11:55 AM
total time was over 500 manhours

Big_Kev
07-08-2005, 12:27 PM
She looks great. Now it's time for the fun bit.

tengals123
08-08-2005, 09:58 AM
yep, can't wait

tengals123
12-08-2005, 02:52 PM
have worked most of my motor issues out.
will keep you all updated

MIKOS
18-08-2005, 11:33 AM
Tengles,That is a credit to you.Your perserverance has finaaly paid off.I felt sorry for you about the last out board blowing up.Mate shes better than new.Great sea boat those.Have a great time in it ;)

chemmy
18-08-2005, 09:13 PM
Looks great it would b chewing a bit of fuel ay but on the up side if the weather turns to crap you will be the first one bank to the boat ramp ;D ;D ;D