PDA

View Full Version : Pulling to the right

MickS
17-05-2006, 11:21 PM
Maybe I should have rephrased my subject title..lol ::)

Anyway, I'm still fairly new to this powerboat game so still learning a few tricks.My boat always pulled to the right, so after asking a few other boaties there thoughts I learn that theres this thing(no idea of the name) that you can adjust on the engine , just above the prop to offset the spin of the prop.

So I did this, to find very little difference. So I'm out with my mates, having a bit of a fang in the boat, and I had a bit of a play with the trim, and I discovered that if I get the nose a little higher than normal the pull to the right goes away, infact I can let go of the wheel and the boat holds it's course.

Do you reckon this means I have a slight twist in the keel, or is there another issue?

onerabbit
17-05-2006, 11:32 PM
Sound like you got the trim right.

Muzz

litenup
17-05-2006, 11:35 PM
There are some questions. What sort of boat, how far in is the motor trimmed when you are "normal". could be you are trimming motor in too far to start with. Is the steering heavy, ie hard to turn, again could be trimmed in too far. Keep trying different things good luck. Pete

MickS
17-05-2006, 11:49 PM
The boat is a 5.25 mtr bowrider(Stacer)When there is a bit of chop I trim down, and the boat pulls to the right.

It may just be a case of having the trim correct, but why the pull when I put the nose down a little. You can actually get to a point of no pull, a slight tweak of the trim, and the pull starts.

The steering does get heavy when trimmed down, but the ride is much smoother, in a bit of chop.

Mr__Bean
18-05-2006, 04:37 AM
MickS,

A standard rotation engine will always pull harder to the right as you trim it down.