View Full Version : 40lb Bidgee Cod

Jim_Tait
04-08-2004, 06:17 PM
While living in Canberra a couple of years ago I got to know the local cod and yellow belly population in the near by Murrumbidgee - this 1 m cod I caught on 2 occassions and had several more experiences with over a two year period one of which involved it grabbing a 50 cm yellow belly while I was trying to land it! - Beautiful fish which I hope has avoided the meat fishers brigade - caught this time on a storm hot n tot from a canoe on 4kg fire line. - Jim

release photos follow.

Jim_Tait
04-08-2004, 06:20 PM
January was always my favourite month for both cod and goldens

Jim_Tait
04-08-2004, 06:21 PM
The next time I caught this fish was on a spinner bait

Fitzy
04-08-2004, 06:27 PM
A beatifully colored fish Jim. Come out of clear water?

fitz

Fitzy
04-08-2004, 06:34 PM
A beatifully colored fish Jim. Come out of clear water?

fitz
Question answered by next few pics. I replied between 1st & 2nd pics.

fitzy..

Jim_Tait
04-08-2004, 06:45 PM
Yeah Fitzy the Bidgeeis absolutely beautiful to fish in teh Upper catchments around ACT - generally really clear, great vis'good for lures and fly - makes it possible to sight fish the sand flats for bidgee bonefish (below) a lot of fun - Jim

Jim_Tait
04-08-2004, 06:46 PM
Another large (30lb) cod ourt of the same water

Jim_Tait
04-08-2004, 06:47 PM
The carp even take lures there!

Jim_Tait
04-08-2004, 06:48 PM
Some of the Goldens are real chunky

Jim_Tait
04-08-2004, 06:49 PM
Especially on a 5 wt rod

Jim_Tait
04-08-2004, 06:50 PM
Heres the best I got on fly - over 60 cm

Jim_Tait
04-08-2004, 06:53 PM
and a close up

Jim_Tait
04-08-2004, 06:56 PM
and if you get right up in the catchment you even find these guys (aquatic version of a tassie tiger!) - Macca Perch - the Murray Darling Basin's answer to a Jungle perch or at least a bass!! - A fish that needs investment to bring it back to being part of the recreational fishery - totally gorgous and live in equivalent country.

Fitzy
04-08-2004, 09:09 PM
Great pics Jim. What's the dish lickers name?
Never done that country, but is on the "must do" list.

Fitzy..

MikeC
05-08-2004, 05:56 AM
Thanks for sharing those great pics Jim. Would love to go there. BTW Storm Hot n Tots have been good bass lures for me.

Jeremy87
05-08-2004, 01:46 PM
looks like a cross between a silver and a yellow belly. Some great lokking fish and scenery to match

Jim_Tait
07-08-2004, 09:26 AM
Hey Fitzy,
if you are ever going that way PM me and I'll give you some direstions to good water. The dish licker (took me a while to work out what you meant) is 'Djuga' (Murri word from the Gulf - Waanyi Garawa people)- means 'uninitiated boy' - but going into his 12th year I don't think it suits him anymore!! He comes from a long line of fishing dogs - his gradfather even starred ina Vic McCrystal article in fishing world in 1982! He's a great fishing companion - I've seen him catch a couple of kilo carp unassisted from the rapids in the Molonglo River once and he'll land fish if you let him including largish barra - so you have to get in quick and tell him otherwise if its a catch and release situation. Still charges up creeks with me now - should see him respond to the sound of a reel drag going off! - dogs are definately great fishing mates!

Regards - Jim

ANYFISH
05-09-2004, 09:06 PM
gday mate
good to see you know how to handle those big cod.
it is always best to keep em in the water 'ey.
great quality photoes of all your fish. keep em coming.
cheers anyfish

Randall
06-09-2004, 10:28 AM
Jim.....cool!!

Randall.