42lbs
116cm
Caught on silver B52 off the bank
20lb braid, with 40lb Jinkai leader
6kg custom rod with Dai wa Million aire 203 CV-X

Jim_Tait
09-11-2004, 06:02 AM
My PB 50lbs caught 1979 on a vibrotail, 15lb amilin S line- Ginarm River Escott Station in the Gulf on dusk, bank fishing - boofed me in the shallows - thought I was crock crap!!

Jim_Tait
09-11-2004, 06:30 PM
Last for the season was a session on small fish around legal size at an old honey hole on the outskirts of Townsville that I got the chance to check over in late October at dawn with a mate using soft plastics. Site is freshwater lagoons and fish were cramped into open slots amongst extensive weed growth - made for some hot action even if the fish were not that big.

Jim_Tait
09-11-2004, 06:32 PM
And anothery - one of five for the morning.

Wild_Side
11-11-2004, 01:52 PM
And another ::) Don't see to many, I think it's a barra

aussiebasser
11-11-2004, 04:47 PM
My best
110cm Faust on a Lively Lures Arafura Barra

DRJ
12-11-2004, 05:34 AM
Heres my first Barra on Fly - a Teemburra Dam special.

Bad_Bubby
12-11-2004, 09:10 AM
Heres my best freshie this year, went 94cm. Just before I got a much needed haircut ;).

rossco
12-11-2004, 04:26 PM
my son's first barra he caught at Callied Dam

max_power
13-11-2004, 04:37 AM
Another tinaroo barra approx 90cm and 16 - 18 lbs

Moffy
25-11-2004, 05:02 PM
i'll continue the tinaroo trend

this one from a few years ago. (hope to improve on it this Christmas)

FlyRod
25-11-2004, 09:52 PM
:oOne must be carefull not to fall in at Tinnaroo hey?? :o

Moffy
28-11-2004, 11:10 AM
and another

Wild_Side
29-11-2004, 07:25 AM
another little rat

FlyRod
02-12-2004, 11:49 AM
This is my personal best and the night still runs through my mind like it was just last night!!

McCod
03-12-2004, 01:50 PM
PB 118 cm Faust Barra

Wild_Side
04-12-2004, 03:48 PM
Oh my cod thats a lump of a fish :o :o
Good day to boot. Glassed out. [smiley=thumbsup.gif]

pugs
22-12-2004, 02:04 PM
Here is Barra I caught at Lake Awonga 107cm 21.4kg on 20lb Braid casting a gold Reidys lure.

Pugs

FlyRod
23-12-2004, 12:48 PM
Heres one that wont get away!!! ;)

luskin
25-12-2004, 11:05 AM
here's my heaviest one from peter Faust 38lb 114cm
Caught on a Lucinda Lures Tricky Troller green colour
Cheers and Merry Xmas

Sy

Jack_Lives_Here
09-01-2005, 11:53 AM
Better late than never - my best effort was a couple of days before xmas at Faust.
115cm

Jack_Lives_Here
09-01-2005, 11:57 AM
The one on fly at Teemburra the week before was also memorable - fisrt for me on fly.

krtazy
10-01-2005, 11:15 AM
a couple from monduaran before christmas

krtazy
10-01-2005, 11:16 AM
my pb so far

Julie_J
16-01-2005, 01:20 PM
I got this one at Awoonga in October.
Didn't break the metre mark but I was pretty happy being my first ever Barra at 94cm. Caught this beauty while casting a gold koolabung on one of Big George's custom bass rods among the sticks. Fought well and took about 15 mins to land. A couple of photos and back in the water.

Wild_Side
17-01-2005, 02:49 PM
Another mug with another barra

Wild_Side
18-01-2005, 01:26 PM
Have noticed that most of fish on this thread are impoundment fish! ???
Doesn't anyone go out into the wilds anymore. :-/
Just a thought.

Jason.

Barraholic
20-01-2005, 07:28 AM
Here's a wild caught one, my pb at 110cms. Caught in the north west of WA on a gold 125 scorpion.

Barraholic

Bad_Bubby
20-01-2005, 12:38 PM
Have noticed that most of fish on this thread are impoundment fish!
Doesn't anyone go out into the wilds anymore.
Just a thought.

I was thinking this thread was meant to be of impoundment fish since we are in freshwater photos forum. Anyway heres my wild saltie contribution (my avatar)

Wild_Side
20-01-2005, 04:47 PM
Mate any pics you see of mine on here are all wild and all fresh. 8)

Fitzy
26-01-2005, 07:09 PM
a 107 from Faust. Caught on a 14cm Husky Jerk, 20 lb Bionic Braid over a 1kg bass rod. ;D
http://www.sweetwaterfishing.com.au/gallery/images/107Barra.jpg

gf

Mak579
22-02-2005, 01:15 PM
Keeping the Faust theme going - 116cm 52pound horse caught casting in the timber.

FlyRod
25-02-2005, 04:34 PM
;D ;D ;D ;D I love these big Barra!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
This is one my mate Davo caught a couple of weeks ago at Kinchant dam.
This is his best Barra so far!!!!He was stoked!!!!
Caught it casting a Tango Dancer ,after missing a good fish the day before he had to get one ...and came up with the goods!!!
101cm 17.5kg

aussiebasser
25-02-2005, 05:43 PM
Got this rat on Sunday at Awoonga. 67cm.

McCod
13-06-2005, 12:09 AM
Mates best to date. Its a good thing they have handles on them or ya would not be able to hold them up for a pic [smiley=shocked2.gif]

luskin
16-06-2005, 05:52 PM
A nice one from Prossie caught trolling in the early am.
111cm and a bit over 30lb

Sy

krtazy
30-06-2005, 01:39 PM
some absolutely awesome photos in there how lucky we are to have these fish to chase :) :) :)

A_DIFF_PERSPECTIVE
07-07-2005, 02:47 PM
i'll dig up a couple of pics of barra from gladstone harbour and awoonga. yes we are lucky to enjoy and admire such an awesome tropical species. don't think they will ever be under threat of extinction when they are being developed and mass produced in a test tube. Congratulations to all those who participate in such programmes, a big plus for our water ways! photos coming soon.

McCod
12-09-2005, 12:50 AM
Just a few from a Faust night session... fish of around 115 cm... casting Predatek Vipers..... they don't like em much ;)

McCod
12-09-2005, 12:55 AM
Other one 111cm

Jim_Tait
12-09-2005, 10:22 AM
Here one of my best lately - 68cm WILD FRESHWATER BARRA (not stocked) - I appreciate stocked impoundment fisheries (takes pressure off wild fish) - but its important we don't forget the natural habitats and fish populations while our fishing desires are being satiated by dams!

This fish was the best of eight all caught on squidgy fish SPs before 7.00 am in the morning from a coastal freshwater lagoon on the outskirts of Townsville. I LUV blackwater lagoons with healthy barra populations. This lagoon is a window into the regional groundwater and water quality is good as is the fish eating quality - only this one kept. - Jim

Jim_Tait
12-09-2005, 10:26 AM
Here's the habitat it came out of. These type of lagoons are commonly hammered by exotic weeds and stuffed fishwise by passage barriers - particularly ponded pasture bunds in the supratidal zone.

McCod
12-09-2005, 08:01 PM
Jim... Just asking mate... how do ya know that it is a wild river fish?
Do they not stock that area from time to time?
There is some stocking around the Townsville area.

Cheers Les

Jim_Tait
13-09-2005, 06:46 AM
Fair question Les, it is possible that the fish recruited 'over the wall' from stocked weirs in the region but there is no direct stocking into the creek concerned and I have personally sampled numerous 'young of the year' from about 40 - 200 mm from the system which is well connected to nursery habitat so assume that most fish are 'wild'.

Floresent tagging of hatchery fingerlings is the only way we can really sort out stocked from wild fish and it is an important question. I suppose I push the wild fish barrow a bit because I'm concerned that agencies can get to view stocking as the 'easy fix' for fish stocks (with all the co-committant risks to genetic viability and species hardiness) rather than address the harder issues associated with habitat management and rehabilitation.

Regards - Jim

darryl_l
14-09-2005, 05:32 PM
Yeah Yeah everyone can catch BIG barra but how many can catch live bait size ;D ;D ;D

McCod
14-09-2005, 09:50 PM
Yeah .... pelagic_chaser... good to see a wee wittle one ;) . Give it a few years and it will grow up to a Braid Buster of a Barra :o .

Mad_Barry
15-09-2005, 10:23 AM
I'll see see yours palegic, and raise, lower you 2 inches ;D

darryl_l
15-09-2005, 10:31 AM
DOH

Done by a *&%$&* inch ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Darryl L

chemmy
16-09-2005, 12:26 AM
nice shirt dicko ;D ;D

fishsmith
16-09-2005, 03:01 PM
Another prossie barra caught this week..... :)

fishsmith
16-09-2005, 03:08 PM
My youngfella outfished me but with this one..Had to grab him by the ankles a few times but as it nearly pulled him out of the boat...

SULLY73
19-09-2005, 08:06 PM
AWOONGA BARRA. BEST SICKIE EVER! ::)

fishsmith
27-09-2005, 08:07 PM
A fat Faust barra caught by my son last week..

cod_buster
04-10-2005, 08:41 PM
callide dam barra

Doomy
10-10-2005, 05:01 PM
Burdekin River 77cm

BigChiefBarra
10-10-2005, 09:52 PM
Here goes another attempt to attach photo

dfox
13-10-2005, 03:08 PM
Mt best barra caught on the bynoe river using a popeye mullet for bait...foxy

Wild_Side
25-10-2005, 10:12 AM
Kieth with his first, caught in the wilton river N.T.

Wild_Side
25-10-2005, 10:15 AM
Kieth with his first, caught in the wilton river N.T.

ste
01-11-2005, 10:25 PM
A Peter Faust Barra.

Cheers Steve

Sergio_kutz
03-11-2005, 10:49 PM
at the awoonga comp on the weekend... the best (and only) barra that one of my mates hooked while walking the banks for three days... not very productive it would seem.

Sergio

junglejunky
04-11-2005, 10:24 PM
Aplins Weir barra. #101cm. #4inch bass minnow, #20lb bionic. #20lb Nitlon fluorocarbon double to bimini. #Took my canoe water skiing... #;D

Goldscorp125
12-11-2005, 01:34 AM
Lake Moondarra Barra.
113cm Caught two weeks ago.

Goldscorp125
12-11-2005, 01:43 AM
geez,
i'll get it right one day!

Flyseyes
20-11-2005, 03:27 PM
no laghing, back of awoonga at newzealand gully on a little clouser fly

BG
20-11-2005, 09:50 PM
it was probly only released a couple of days before you caught it.

ste
22-11-2005, 09:09 PM
Peter with a Wenlock Barra Sep05

reddyclaw_wal
11-12-2005, 01:43 PM
not to bad

wal

Jim_Tait
21-12-2005, 01:29 PM
Just completed a week of field work in north Queensland - and as they say all work and no play....

Took time out most arvos to have a fish and remind myself why I work in wetland management.

This shot is 200m off the Bruce highwway - coming up tight on a leagal sized barra (but closed season) bout second cast of the flyrod in an isolated floodplain lagoon with a full moon coming up - beautiful experience!

Jim_Tait
21-12-2005, 01:30 PM
Here's the fish - on a pink clouser

Jim_Tait
21-12-2005, 01:35 PM
This fish had about a week left to go before it was cactus (in my estimation) - caught in a drying lagoon hole (south of Townsville where they have had no rain) which was down to about 40 cm deep - the hole (one of two) was bout 12 m long was full of barra - some big, water quality was getting very crap and about to crash - rain was expected this week - hope it came? Too isolated a place to organise a fish rescue and probably not worth it for the couple of dozen barra present - beautiful fish, they had eaten themselves out of house and home and were still prepared to hit lures.

Jim_Tait
21-12-2005, 01:37 PM
This is what the holes looked like - very soupy!

Mad_Barry
21-12-2005, 08:26 PM
Jim,

Interesting you mention they were on the chew, even though the water was getting really low. Myself & a couple of mates fish the top wier in T'ville a fair bit & have had a hard time up there lately. It's been different to the last few years. The odd ones we have been getting have been very hollow gutted when laid down on their side, not plump, leading us to believe they hadn't eaten in quite a while. Yet not on the job like you think they should be with an empty stomach.

The water up there is as low as I've seen it in years. I was sort of building a theory that they have some sort of auto sensors on telling them to go quiet & dormant as the future may not be looking that shit hot with dropping water levels.

(I have to check where I've written it down), but from memory, one tag info we got back showed a growth of only about 5 or 8 cm in near 2 yrs, something like 58cm to 63 or 66 cm. Which seems way down on what you normally hear from impoundments (or wild).

Intersted to hear your thoughts.

Either way, we need a bloody good wet up here.

woolybugger
22-12-2005, 01:08 PM
Recent trip to Awoonga (first time) with the smallest being 108cm and the largest 118cm.

Mad_Barry
03-01-2006, 02:11 PM
Thanks Jim

yep, praying for rain. Just checked the Ross Dam level & it's at 5.66% >:(

jefro
22-01-2006, 11:53 AM
great barra cheers ;)

gone_phishin
22-01-2006, 09:51 PM
My little mate Josh's first 8 Barra, and 1 Yella, caught over 3 days at Awoonga last week.

Happy Dad. (First 3 Barra over same time :-[)

DNO40
23-01-2006, 06:00 AM
Excellent stuff, well done Josh

DNO

zario
24-01-2006, 09:27 AM
My mates 93cm barra caught and released from the freshwater section of the ross river last week. #We were chasin jacks but these big girls are a handy bycatch.

BobbyJ123
25-01-2006, 06:51 AM
119 cm and 60 lbs from Peter Faust dam

BobbyJ123
25-01-2006, 06:53 AM
113 cm and 56 lbs from Kinchant dam

BobbyJ123
25-01-2006, 06:55 AM
105 cm from Kinchant dam, didn't weigh it.

reddyclaw_wal
28-01-2006, 10:34 PM
good 2 c them all round sizes. fromm the magic metre down 2 40 - 50cm or so :)

reddyclaw_wal
28-01-2006, 10:41 PM
all very good fish . lookin 2 go 2 awonga soon. what is the fishin like in june july period

BobbyJ123
31-01-2006, 01:29 PM
111 cm and a beer keg gut @60 lbs from Kinchant dam

Jewmaster
31-01-2006, 02:33 PM
Adeliade River Mouth, Darwin NT >:( I didn't catch it, It was a friend of the family who caught it, First Barra they have ver caught. but I got a photo whit it....... ::)

Jewmaster
31-01-2006, 02:52 PM
Here is the other end of the scale. Juvenile from the Finnis

BobbyJ123
03-02-2006, 01:38 PM
A tiddler from Kinchant...1.04 metres and 45 lbs

Hardrigger
27-03-2006, 07:30 PM
Great fish guys hopefully ill get my first wild on esoon

going_phishin
01-04-2006, 08:03 PM
Here is one of my first barra ;D

purplepatch
06-04-2006, 09:55 PM
heres a couple of barra

purplepatch
06-04-2006, 09:58 PM
Another

purplepatch
06-04-2006, 10:02 PM
One of Jeremys

purplepatch
06-04-2006, 10:05 PM
My PB :)

purplepatch
06-04-2006, 10:12 PM
One more of in the boat. Now I have got the hang of posting pics I'll have to take more photo's Roy.

Zahly
22-04-2006, 11:59 AM
my biggest so far, caught at awoonga last wednesday

Zahly
22-04-2006, 12:02 PM
lettin her go :D

Zahly
22-04-2006, 12:03 PM
my mates 2nd ever barra ::) arsey i tell ya

Bronson
17-06-2006, 05:09 PM
here is a pic of one of my fist eva barra about 5 years ago

Bronson
17-06-2006, 05:11 PM
here is a pic of one of my first eva barra about 5 years ago

LUMOX
18-06-2006, 06:42 PM
awonga first

LUMOX
18-06-2006, 06:43 PM
oooops

LUMOX
18-06-2006, 06:48 PM
the old boy did of coarse

luskin
19-06-2006, 12:46 AM
My first awoonga barra and my first barra caught casting! Go arafuras in bleeding mullet ;)

Lost quite a few at prossie casting ;D ;D ;D

Cheers Sy

BrandonH
19-06-2006, 12:49 PM
Umm I thought i had posted my pics in this thread!! obviously not!!! Lol

well here they are now better late than never :)

4 day trip at faust last year in August. (dad was there for 2 weeks)

total of 8 Barra landed (myself) all caught casting Barra classics in the sticks from 5pm till around 10pm most nights ;) Dad's best was landed during the day when i wasn't there :'( I would have lost at least another 8 fish that were camera shy or so big the 50lb braid and 80lb mono leader didn't cut it. actually one of them straightened the split ring on a barra classic!!!! this is also my 1st and only (to date) Barra session!!! well except at the Bli Bli Barra park!!!! #:P
anyways enough chatting here are the pics :)

My biggest to date 107cm and 16kg

http://members.optusnet.com.au/bjh79/Barra/images/107-16kg%20of%20Barra!!%20my%20biggest%20fish.JPG

The Barra Classics certianly worked for us!!!!!!!!!!!!

http://members.optusnet.com.au/bjh79/Barra/images/Look%20at%20that%20sheen!!%20gota%20love%20Classic %20Barra%20Lures!!.JPG

Dad's best 118cm and about 60lb I think, he is a BIG boy!!! (both of them ;))

http://members.optusnet.com.au/bjh79/Barra/images/dadbarra.JPG

one more :D This one was in the high 80cm bracket and was one of the smallest i saw on the trip. I just wish i was holding it better in the shot :'(

http://members.optusnet.com.au/bjh79/Barra/images/If%20only%20I%20held%20the%20fish%20right-what%20a%20backdrop!!.JPG

Cheers and tight lines!!!!!!

Brandonl...

rogue2527
20-06-2006, 11:03 PM
This is my PB, #she went 116cm and weighed 40lb. #Caught at Awoonga November last year. Caught on a silver and black Pedetek Viper deep diver.

A_DIFF_PERSPECTIVE
14-07-2006, 08:10 AM
Your PB weighing 40 pounds,,,,,,,,,more like 50lb. A fish of 116 from Awoonga will weigh much more than 40 lbs, and by the looks of the condition of the barra, I'm sure 50 is a lot closer to the mark. Anyways, great fish! Live weight, you can expext a barra of about 105cm average from Awoonga to weigh 40 pounds whole, live and kickin'.
Johnny M

Matthias
14-07-2006, 02:59 PM
This small barra was caught on one of my uncles homemade bass lures. It was a memorable session which involved crawling through allsorts of vines and lantana stands and having to flick lures a max of 1-3m due to the size of the creek. Ended up with 5 rat barra and 3 tarpoon all caught in the upper reaches of a small Cairns river.

Pete.

iank
18-07-2006, 09:34 AM
The NT doesn't only have big barra, this one caught on a 3 inch plastic at shady camp. ;D ;D
Cheers Ian

luskin
23-07-2006, 03:39 AM
Mate caught this one trolling about 2 o'clock in the arvo at Awoonga

Sy

born2fly
24-07-2006, 11:08 PM
My old mans first Barra - caught Awoonga dam 117cm
http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y79/Desty74/Fishing/PB160024.jpg

Im Still tryin to beat the bastard ;D ;D ;D

Bronson
09-10-2006, 07:37 PM
small one from awoonga

Bronson
09-10-2006, 07:39 PM
and another shot

Bronson
09-10-2006, 07:44 PM
One from Aussie fishing park up in sunshine coast

Bronson
09-10-2006, 07:47 PM
onother from aussie fishing park

Bronson
09-10-2006, 07:47 PM
another from aussie fishing park

Jim_Tait
23-12-2006, 09:55 AM
Hey Dicko,
not sure whats going on in the weirs, maybe the bony bream populations have crashed? Combined barra and exotics pressure could have done it?

Temps are probably getting pretty high and dissolved oxygen low so thay may be going dormant as you suggest or moving to parts of the weir pools that have better oxygen concentrations - i.e. shaded cool areas or those exposed to any chop created by the prevailing winds.

Here hoping that we get a 1 in 20 year wet to blast the whole system out!!

Regards - Jim