View Full Version : Quick post/Lake Samsonvale

caught-ya
27-12-2005, 09:15 PM
Went down to the lake Samsonvale to see if we could catch any bass and garfish for bait. My dad had a go at catching bass but no luck. I fished for some garfish and I caught up to 13 of them and then my dad came over and started to catch some and we ended up with 22 gar for bait with the biggest at 24cm.

here's some pics

land_based
27-12-2005, 10:11 PM
thats a great catch mate, are you going to rig them and troll them ?

ssab1
29-12-2005, 05:47 PM
went there wednesday trying for redclaw.none where i was but yes heaps of gar under floats with small peeled prawn pieces :)

caught-ya
29-12-2005, 08:10 PM
on wendesday,we got 36 gar and three that were between 22-26cm and still no bass

heres pics,

caught-ya
29-12-2005, 08:12 PM
36 gar

caught-ya
29-12-2005, 08:15 PM
no ROb, we are goin to use them as dead bait for bottom fishin

Scott15
29-12-2005, 08:41 PM
Ive heard that the freshies dont work aswell in salt? You guys done any good with them?

caught-ya
30-12-2005, 04:40 PM
no, but we've used other stuff and done quite good with em.

Ol_Yella
15-01-2006, 11:23 AM
Fished Bullocky Rest on Thursday afternoon/evening and my 5yr old son landed his first Saratoga ( sorry no pics, didn't have a camera and I released him). 55cm and a good little fight he had. Before that it was all quiet, one Talipia.

Rainbowrunner
17-01-2006, 05:15 PM
gdday ol yella what did u get the saratoga on?

Ol_Yella
18-01-2006, 02:00 PM
Picked up the Toga on earthworms. Had been fishing late in the arvo with just the Tilapia, when I checked my bait and cast right on top of him, little fella was on within a minute. I had read earlier this year about the stocks of Saratoga in this dam, but this was the first one Iv'e seen. They go alright, once he jumped a few times I knew what he was. Since fishing Samsonvale for the first time we have caught Silver,Golden perch, catties,Tilapia,spangled perch,Garfish,bass and now Saratoga. I have not heard of anyone landing Mary river cod, but Iv'e been told they are there. So I'm going to keep trying!

scotty
18-01-2006, 02:19 PM
saratoga well done mate

caught-ya
20-01-2006, 03:08 PM
never heard of a saratoga been caught in the dam :-? :-?
anyway,this weekend we might go down to bullocky rest if it's windy.
Has anyone tried live gar in the dam befor?
i'm willing to try it out