PDA

View Full Version : Ewan Maddock 9/9/06

hardb8
09-09-2006, 05:20 PM
Fished here today for the first time.Went in blind as I have no knowledge of this lake whatsoever but did O.K. I spose.5 Bass landed from 44 - 49cm.Fished for 3 hours.

Missed about this many fish again (5-6) due to pulled hooks and one fish that ploughed into the weed beds like a steam train,Hooked up the lure on the weed and pulled himself free.Didn't count another I had boatside as he too threw the hooks as I was getting out the tape ::)(Fish of the session) about 51-52cm.If ya don't pull the hook from the fish it don't count.

The majority of strikes came from 18 to 15 foot of water along the weeds edge,Couple in open water while trolling as I was sussing the bottom with the sounder looking for structure,Dropoffs etc.
I fished only a small section of the Eastern side and used a TN/60 for casting and Flicks Cobra on the troll.

Spoke to a local as I was loading up to go and he told me some spots to try.Keen to go back and check em out as it's a nice place with quite powerfull fish.No one else fishing,Had the place to myself. 8-)

# # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # Regards hardb8 # #;)

tiges
09-09-2006, 05:41 PM
Good stuff Hardb8, I had a couple of good sessions on there back in winter. Sounds like you were fishing a similar area. Don't ya love it when there's no-one else around. The Maddock has some of the fittest, fattest, fastest bass for their size in my opinion. Did you try with poppers, or were you there more midday?

jimmybob
09-09-2006, 06:25 PM
shhhhhhh ;)

hardb8
09-09-2006, 07:04 PM
Hi tiges,
# # # # # # I had issues finding the ramp so I got there a bit late.I did throw a stick bait around first thing though,But had no responses.My first impressions were it looks like a great topwater fishery.Quite a few lillys and lots of flooded grass.Seen a couple of swirls mid dam,My inital thoughts were big rouge Toga maybe?Don't know if they're there though.