View Full Version : Glenlyon dam report

McCod
20-09-2006, 06:09 AM
Just got back from Glenlyon a few days ago..... fished 5 sessions over 5 days with 4 days fished.... fishing was a bit slow for this time of year..... but there was a few cold windy days also! landed 7 Cod from 55 to 97 cm all caught casting and then released.... A mate got a few trolling as well. Place should fire soon for Yella's and Cod!
These big fish are mean on gear and other fish but are soft to touch and can not handle being lifted by the lower jaw as it will break there gill latch the same as with Barra. Support the whole fish and keep it off hot surfaces if its going back in the water get it back in quick... say under 2 minutes! It is law to return any @ 110 cm and bigger so please treat them nice and return them to the water. Most fisho's that keep big Cod then regret it after the kill and say they should of let em go..... bit late then :(

# # # # #Cheers Les

Smailesy
20-09-2006, 07:00 AM
good report mate love the pick i havnt caught one yet my time will come

straddy77
20-09-2006, 08:47 AM
yeah good looking fish mate, nice catch

derfla
20-09-2006, 09:55 AM
McCod,
They are certainly a great looking fish. Is that the area known as "the caves" behind you? Is the weed still thick? Must make the trek back there some day.

Russ

bdowdy
20-09-2006, 12:01 PM
:)nice cod and yeh the place should start to fire soon , nice report these big cod are just so awesome ill agree, i release 99% of my cod and may keep asmaller one from a stocked impoundment to eat every blue moon. good stuff bdowdy. ;)

blue-mako
20-09-2006, 01:58 PM
It's a shame there's not more of them around. 99% of fish, to me are catch and release only. Especially fish from the Fresh. But still great to see some good sized ones still about!

Troy

ele-phrez
20-09-2006, 05:43 PM
well done, can't wait till the day I catch one that big

scott_b
20-09-2006, 06:07 PM
Gday Les
# # # # # Mate its not hard to see why they call you McCod !. I think I seen a pic or a report of a nice cod from you at Glenlyon a while back. I bet the green buggers will be sh#tting themselves next time you turn up ;D ;D ;D.
# # # #Done well wamjam

rossco
21-09-2006, 04:47 PM
G'day Les, nice fish you make it look so easy.
when are you heading there next?
I will be there 30th-8th oct.

rossco

McCod
25-09-2006, 01:39 PM
McCod,
They are certainly a great looking fish. Is that the area known as "the caves" behind you? Is the weed still thick? Must make the trek back there some day.

Russ

Yeah Russ sorry for the late reply..... #that's the caves in the back ground. Rosco! hoping to get back up there around mid October..... have fun mate!!!

# Cheers Les :)

#Cheers Les

Steve_Monckton
28-09-2006, 12:49 PM
G'day fisherpeople, Nice fish McCod, love those greenfish. They are not a fast fish but they hit hard and slug it out. I release 100% of all freshwater fish these days, but thats my personal choice. I am looking forward to taking my 12y.o son to Glen Lyon about november when it warms up and getting amongst them. I want to give the cod a run using S.P.'s and see how they go. Then it's off to Copeton Dam in december and crack out the surface lures. Yeah baby!!
cheers, steve. 8-) 8-)

bdowdy
28-09-2006, 08:22 PM
:)have never done any good with surface fishing for cod in impoundments, love the rivers and creeks for surface, has any one done alright in dams ,sounds as though rabbi gets a few a copeton. cheers bdowdy ;)

scott_b
28-09-2006, 09:26 PM
Gday bdowdy
I'm the same had no luck in the dams with surface lures.
wamjam

bdowdy
29-09-2006, 06:59 PM
:)gday wamjam yeh mate really havnt heard of anyone doing any good on surface in impoundments, but someone may . i reckon i would rather catch any fish on surface compared to divers it just gets the heart going. and cod when they hit a surface lure noone will forget. cheers bdowdy ;)

McCod
29-09-2006, 07:33 PM
Only caught 1 impoundment Cod on surface @ Glenlyon..... but that was 6 or 7 years ago. Have only used them for a few hrs in total so a guess ya can't catch em if ya not using them. I think if you put in the time you would do OK! With the amount of weed beds and prime points to cast to @ Glenlyon at the moment you would think the Cod would have to come undone in the lower light hrs!

Cheers Les

bdowdy
30-09-2006, 06:45 PM
:)gday mccod i have tried afew times at glen lyon with surface and nothing yet i may have to keep on trying, was there any size to the cod you got,the last few trips have only produced a few smaller cod for me in the 8lb range. but as you know theres some monsters out there. cheers bdowdy. ;)

Feral
03-10-2006, 06:57 PM
Well,
Just back from Glenlyon.
Out there for 3 nights, we (3 adults 2 kids) got 38 Yella's -37 to 54cm, 1 Cod - 58cm (to my youngest son, his first), I eel Tailed Cattie - 55cm.

Father tried to talk me into stretching the cod to legal size (60cm), but I said nup, back she goes. Just as well - fisheries showed up about an hour later!

Father had been there for a few days and caught nothing, when IDA caught up with him the morning before I got there, and put him in the loop, looking for trees along the edge of the weed. IDA also took out the fishing comp that was on! So he definately was the right bloke to get the info from!

Also caught up with Rosco and One Rabbit, a top group of blokes!

I had a ball, will definately think about going back next year!

If anyone is going out there in the next week or two,
S28 56.522 E151 27.527
to
S28 56.530 E151 27.568
(wgs84) should see you right!. Thats the boundaries of the trees along the weed where everyone was catching fish.

Pics are in fathers camera, will post a few when I get hold of them.

Feral
05-10-2006, 03:34 PM
My son Alex with his first cod!

Feral
05-10-2006, 03:36 PM
My other son Calum with a good Yella

Feral
05-10-2006, 03:40 PM
Ray with a couple of over 50cm Yella's

Feral
05-10-2006, 03:41 PM
Guess who this likely looking pair are doing strange things to this cod ;D

i8Krusty
05-10-2006, 10:52 PM
Love the cod pic mate good job, great advice on handling them too,
cheers i8krusty

onerabbit
06-10-2006, 12:51 PM
;D ;D ;D ;D Goodonya Feral,

Ida certainly had a feel for the cod this year, a pity that they were all around 55cm, but great to see so many young fish.
I hope we can find them again next year when they are about 6lb bigger.

onerabbit
12-10-2006, 02:38 PM

finally finishied playing with photos, so I thought I'd put up a couple more pics from our longweekend at Glenlyon.

Charlie (neon 1991) with a nice silver which was released.

onerabbit
12-10-2006, 02:45 PM
Max (hot spottie) with a cattie

onerabbit
12-10-2006, 02:48 PM
Ida with one of his cod that was just cm's to small to keep, better luck next year bloke.

onerabbit
12-10-2006, 02:49 PM
Charlie's best yellow for the trip

onerabbit
12-10-2006, 02:52 PM
Oh yeah, I got a couple too

Feral
12-10-2006, 08:19 PM
Good fish Onerabbit, I did not see most of those while out there!

onerabbit
13-10-2006, 05:31 PM
This was our combined bag for the Saturday morning you were behind us, although Ida caught more of them but me.

Feral
13-10-2006, 08:47 PM
Very nice! I think our best session was 9.

rossco
15-10-2006, 01:46 PM
G'day guys, great meeting so many ausfishers at the dam.
some late photos, all caught casting.

cheers rossco

rossco
15-10-2006, 01:49 PM
cod_buster's little cod

rossco
15-10-2006, 01:52 PM
fiona's yella

rossco
15-10-2006, 02:13 PM
yella

bdowdy
15-10-2006, 02:42 PM
;)good stuff rossco good to see you got a couple, ive been busy so didnt make glenlyon but fished the flathead classic and have only just got back from moogerah and brisbane and now getting ready for fiji talk soon bdowdy. ;)

yellahunter
15-10-2006, 04:17 PM
hey Rosco,

well done mate, theres some nice fish in that lot,
it seems that this dam fishes very well. and the average fish looks of a good size,

i was thinking of camping at Leslie Dam over new years, but might give it a go out there instead.

what is the average size yella in Glenlyon at the moment??

Feral
15-10-2006, 06:36 PM
Some good fish there Rossco, were some real horses in there (fo rme anyway!)

Was definately good to catch up!

scott_b
15-10-2006, 08:19 PM
gday rossco
Mate looks like you got into them ,Fiona seems to have the biggest fish !! ;D.
I didn't drop in on the way out because I didn't want to interrupt the grand final.
Anyway I'll catch up wamjam

rossco
21-10-2006, 12:31 PM
G'day guys,sorry i'm late again, working out of town at the moment.

bdowdy,how did the classic go? thought about going but arranged to meet friends at glenlyon.

yellahunter,glenlyon is a very social place, you meet alot of the same people every year there.
average size yella would be 3-4lb.

feral,see you there next year ?

wamjam, did you have any luck?
don't tell fiona that i'll never hear the last of it ;) ;D
had alook at the falls and lemon tree some nice country up there.

will let you guys know next time I will be there.

cheers rossco

bdowdy
21-10-2006, 03:13 PM
:)hi rossco got 29th out of 110 teams so i was happy with that being a fresho fisher got a78cm around 8lb of flatty which was good, mate fished glenlyon this morning and got acouple of nice yellas trolling so it seems the yellas are starting to fire up. talk soon bdowdy

Feral
21-10-2006, 04:35 PM
Yep Roscco, I am keen to go again next year! ;D

I only did the trip as a trial for my young fellas to see if they could handle it. It turned out to be a great trip!

We have a big trip to Awoonga in November, and I did not want to go all that way and have to put up with 2 grumpy kids for a week!.

If the Awoonga trip is only half as good it will be a top trip!

Feral
26-10-2006, 09:54 PM
You have just gotta have a laugh at this.

After our Glenlyon trip I sent photo's of the boys to a few fishing magazines we subscribe to, with their best catches from the trip featured, hoping they might get their pics in them.

Well we got something in the magazines, if you get bush and beach, there is a tiny little shot of Alex on page 42 with his Cod (top right) however have a look at page 51!

A 1/4 page Picture of Grandads Bl@@dy boat! Brian Dare wants to know if they are still made!

Young bloke is less than impressed, dont think Grandad will be getting any hugs next time the young bloke sees him!