PDA

View Full Version : Anchoring offshore

bazz
20-09-2002, 04:30 PM
I bought a fishing mag the other day that was accompanied by a free mag of 1001 tips.

There was an article titled "The easy anchor lift" that suggested retrieving an anchor using the stern of a boat.

I am relatively new to fishing off shore but was always under the impression that this was a fairly dangerous practice.

What do you guys think?

Volvo
20-09-2002, 10:40 PM
???Possible to post the method used??, would make interesting reading.
Cheers

Lucky_Phill
21-09-2002, 02:02 PM
If I had a death wish, I'd retrieve my anchor from the stern.

Anchor your boat. add the float and ring, drive off at a good speed. Retrieve the anchor once the bouy is seen at the rear of the boat. for more detail, give Bill Corten a private message here. ??? ;) ;D

adrian
21-09-2002, 03:59 PM
hi

Iagree with phill I use the method he uses and it makes the job real easy and it don't matter how deep it still works

anzac

webby
21-09-2002, 04:02 PM
Hi Buzz, Firstly would like to see this stern anchoring technique, but if you want to see your rig go down stern first from some rogue wave.Id stick to the bow,
This is the way i go about it, Drop your anchor, then the retrival ball, drive your boat in a circle as the anchor is going down, this keeps you over the spot, and stops the current dragging your boat of the spot, when you feel the anchor touch bottom, take up the slack so it gets a hold, then feed out enough rope to keep that hold. a good idea is to have some fairleads mounted on opposite sides of the bow, this give you the opportunity to swing your rig 10-15m either side of the original spot.
also did a drawing for you it might help.
regards

bazz
22-09-2002, 03:52 AM
Thanks fellas for the reply.Thanks Webby for the sketch.The system that you use is similar to what I use . The article that I read was in last months free mag with Modern Fishing.1001 tips.

Lucky_Phill
22-09-2002, 06:29 AM