View Full Version : Fishing mud island

snapperm8
08-09-2006, 07:07 PM
hey guys/gals
i have noticed a few people have been fishing around mud island
and having been getting a few squire i was just wondering what people were using for bait? :-? :-?

08-09-2006, 07:20 PM
I usually use pilchards but occasionally use squid or banana prawns. Have also caught good squire on grinner flesh and also mullet gut.

You can't go wrong with pilchards though. Use as little lead as possible. I often fish wihout any lead even when there is a bit of a tidal run.

Good luck...

08-09-2006, 07:24 PM
Bait??? :o :o

Are you talking night or daytime fishing?

snapperm8
08-09-2006, 07:28 PM
yer mate i always use the pillys or squid but i here a few ppl r getting em on sp's but im generally knew to em myself i dont have to much (faith) in them not that i have used em to much. i mainly go offshore but this weekend is a bit blown out and u generally dont drop an sp down 90 metres

snapperm8
08-09-2006, 07:28 PM
2... or 3 morning

08-09-2006, 07:56 PM
Normally razzle dazzle them with Tupperware. ;) SP's seem to do the trick by day.

Seahorse
08-09-2006, 08:01 PM
i will tell u on sunday. iam going over there tomorrow arvo and coming back about 11.

snapperm8
08-09-2006, 08:16 PM
yer m8 im thinking about having a spill around there on sunday

Seahorse
08-09-2006, 08:54 PM
going to be wet on sunday. just hope wind drops off tomorrow arvo

solwota
09-09-2006, 06:09 AM
no bait in my boat. mind you i reckon a burkley gulp is almost bait ;)
richard

09-09-2006, 07:14 AM
bait ,

what is bait

ahh I understand now..

what brand of soft bait

there are some many soft plastics that work and all have there place on any given day.

Steven