View Full Version : What type of digital camera?

aussiefool
25-10-2005, 07:37 AM
G'day all well I'm finally thinking of almost buying a camera so I too can bragg about all the fish I catch so I got to wondering what type to buy ..... an elcheapo or lash out and spend the cash on a good one. So I thought I'll ask the experts.... so what type of camera do you use and how dose it handle getting splahed??

scuttlebutt
25-10-2005, 07:54 AM
I use a 5mp Canon. Not water resistant but good quality. check this site for some comparisons http://www.steves-digicams.com/

It's an american site, so don't be confused by the prices, but it's got some great info.

steve

25-10-2005, 08:13 AM
We've got a Fuji Finepix 700s...fantastic...easy to use...plenty of megapixels...high quality photographic images.

I've been using a Canon A60 for the boat over the last couple of years...not water resistent but with care its good to go...takes good quality photo's

then there's the mobile phone for those emergency photo's ;)

aussiefool
25-10-2005, 08:21 AM
then there's the mobile phone for those emergency photo's ;)

Rhys[/quote]

My mobile is old as it dosen't have a built in camera >:(

Hoges
25-10-2005, 08:26 AM
I use a little 4mg Casio QV R40 3 x Optical zoom. I bought this off eBay a couple of years ago from the States. You can now p/u the same for around AU$200. It is a compact, tough and brilliant camera. The quality of the pictures it takes is very good. Examples click below...
http://img130.imageshack.us/my.php?loc=img130&image=tallships1185qu.jpg
http://img39.exs.cx/img39/3894/oldmallet18pr.jpg
http://img144.imageshack.us/my.php?loc=img144&image=tallships1227gd.jpg
http://img233.imageshack.us/my.php?loc=img233&image=canberralakejan050632ym.jpg
http://img10.imageshack.us/my.php?loc=img10&image=canberraheadsjan050752ad.jpg
http://img111.imageshack.us/my.php?loc=img111&image=picture0291yx.jpg

Aldi as of this Thursday have this camera on sale for $100
http://www.aldi.com.au/

Traveler Digital Camera 4MP DSC4
# 4 megapixels with 16Mb internal memory and 1.5" TFT viewing screen
# 4 x digital zoom and PC webcam function
# Includes 2 x AA batteries, pouch and USB cable

Not bad for an entry level camera but does not seem to have any optical zoom!
You would have to get to your nearest Aldi store around 8.30am Thurs and wait until they open at 9am to have any chance of getting one.
At that entry level price it could be worth doing so. Especially as a first camera to have around when you hook up with that monster fish.

ynotaj
25-10-2005, 09:05 AM
I have a fuji finepix s7000 unreal camera but I don't take it near the water, cost me about $900 when I got it, lots cheaper now but.

I am thinking of trying a cheapy to put in the backpack for the boat or river banks, the fish photo's that I would be taking are only to show my mates or put on the net so I don't think you would need a big flash one.

aussiefool
25-10-2005, 09:19 AM
[quote author=Hoges link=1130189878/0#4 date=1130192814]
[color=#000000]Aldi as of this Thursday have this camera on sale for $100
http://www.aldi.com.au/

Traveler Digital Camera 4MP DSC4
# 4 megapixels with 16Mb internal memory and 1.5" TFT viewing screen
# 4 x digital zoom and PC webcam function
# Includes 2 x AA batteries, pouch and USB cable

[color=#000000]Not bad for an entry level camera but does not seem to have any optical zoom!
You would have to get to your nearest Aldi store around 8.30am Thurs and wait until they open at 9am to have any chance of getting one.
thanks mate I'll be there as we have a Aldi just up the road at tweed

trout3030
25-10-2005, 09:48 AM
I have had the pentax optio wp for a while now. The wp means waterproof and it is supposed to be able to handle 30 minutes at 0.5 metres water depth. I haven't tried that but it has been on the boat and at the beach a lot and has handled it fine. As far as I know it is the only waterproof digital on the market. I got it off the net at http://www.digitalfunstuff.com.au/. They were great to deal with, even replacing a memory card which died about 3 months after I got it at no cost to me.

ba229
25-10-2005, 10:50 AM
Just bought a Sony DSC-P200 7.2 Megapixel with 512 Mb of memory for $550.

This is an upgrade to our old sony 4 megapixel with 128Mb of memory that cost us $1500 3 years ago.

It is amazing how the prices have come down for good quality over the years.

The P200 is a good family sort of camera. You just point and shoot and the quality of photo is fantastic.

These days when looking at cameras I reckon you shouldn't get less than 4 megapixel. They make good print outs and at around 20c each it is cheap too.

It s abit like mobile phones but, there are heaps of them and you need to find one that suits you.

Heres one bit tip but.... See if you can find the shutter delay for the cameras you are interested in.

Our old one would seriously take 3 sec to take the picture after you pressed the button. Too long if it is a photo of the baby pulling a face or something.

The new camera takes the photo in 0.5sec from pressing the button.

Here is an interesting site http://www.imaging-resource.com/PRODS/P200/P200DATA.HTM

From that link you can check other cameras too.

Good luck

gavsgonefishing
25-10-2005, 12:17 PM
Within the last month just upgraded the camera toa minolta 5d SLR with the wide angle lense as well as the telescopic.

Been a lot of fun learning how to use it effectively

Gbanger
25-10-2005, 02:23 PM
i have a nikon coolpix 4200 (4mp) which has caused me problems..

but i just got a sony erricson k750i mobile phone which has a 2mp camera, takes movies and has flash and general viewfinder light... its great..

DaneCross
25-10-2005, 06:48 PM
I'm looking at the new Kodak 5mp cameras - a V530 model if I remember correctly. $449. Personally, I wouldn't go below 5mp.

wiseguy67
25-10-2005, 08:14 PM
I have two first is a Olympus C50 with optical zoom, splash safe metal housingvery nice camera from a few years ago Olympus make great camera and have good service. I also have a dive housing for it which takes quite good under water shots and you can take it surfing swimming etc. Bombproof. Housing are $$$$
I also have a Nikon Coolpix 5000 great all round camera with professional features, very user friendly and for the money its well spent. Not something i take to the beach but i am in the market for a housing and then i will. The best feature of the nikon is the macro.
here are a few photos from both cameras.
lastly $200 is going to give you what you paid... $500 to $1000 and you will reap the rewards if you plan work the camera.
I really like the olympus as its a pocket camera and is very versatile.

wiseguy67
25-10-2005, 08:16 PM
tuna was taken with olympus. the next two are with the nikon, check the macro ;)

wiseguy67
25-10-2005, 08:18 PM
flower shot

DaneCross
25-10-2005, 08:26 PM
Aww thats awesome! Good pics [smiley=2thumbsup.gif] What camera was that again? Nikon... add that one to the xmas list ;)

damons33
25-10-2005, 09:34 PM
i got a canon a520 4.0mp and 4x zoom a heap of quality features for $270 from game dude at springwood.
you can get a 40m waterproof housing for $300
the quality add-ons are seemingly limitless.
damon
:)

bazzacuda
25-10-2005, 10:16 PM
Aussie,
I've been looking at a new camera for the boat / backpack etc.
With a background in Nikon film cameras I've been into digital cameras since their beginning, my current camera is an Olympus5050 - a bit older now but it's just brilliant. But I wouldn't take it near the water.
Today I went to see what I might buy. I looked at quite a range and my current choice for the boat (and other places) is again an Olympus - and the model I can't remember - but it's $249 at Ted's and has all sorts of weather protections/seals which the others don't. It has a open/shut lens cover which is rather like a birds wing - you'll know what I mean if you see it. At 3.2 meg it will be just fine for the purpose. Cameras are very very very not OK about water, condensation etc. - be very cautious.

25-10-2005, 10:30 PM
Hey 'Cuta

have you checked your PM's lately?

regards Rhys

PG
25-10-2005, 11:02 PM
When we bought our digital camera we spoke with a few people who sold them AND knew what they were talkign about...a rare combination these days it seems. We ended up getting a cheap Kodak from Dick Smith for $235 at the time. I see the equivalent is under $200 now. It is 2 Megapixels, 3 times Optical zoom and digital zoom, macro, video with audio, landscape, flash. It makes great 6x4 glossy prints from KMart and is cheap to lose if ya know what I mean.
The more megapixels, the greater the file size so less photos can be stored on the memory card, get one that will take video with audio and can save to a memory card. Rely on optical zoom and ignore digital zoom for quality of the final pic. Go for something easy to use so the kids can take those pics of you with the big fish. ;)
If it accepts commercially popular batteries (ie AA or AAA) and you don't want the expense of the special brand name battery, go for rechargeable NiMh batteries, they last heaps longer than any alkaline or single use battery and you'll save the cost of them even before you fill the memory card for the first time.
That's what we did, and we're happier than a dog with two...ummmm tails !

MIKOS
26-10-2005, 01:29 PM
Go the cannon ixus 500.top camera and top quality pictures.It has metal casing and classy looks.I have one and love it.Cost $499.Best money I have spent.It also comes with One battery and a charger that plugs into the camera just like a mobile phone.Most other models you have to buy the batteries and a seperate charger for. ;)

MIKOS

aussiefool
27-10-2005, 04:02 PM
Well Thanks to everyone who had an input into what type of digital camera to buy and it seemed that almost everyone had a different oppion a big thanks to all [smiley=2thumbsup.gif] [smiley=dankk2.gif]

I settled on the cheapy one from Aldi... For $100. I could not go far wrong to start with. It should do the job as all I want it to do it take a foto or 2 for the dragg book...... thanks once again all

aussiefool
27-10-2005, 04:03 PM
with luck I post a few pickies tomorrow ..... still some Tailor around :o :- ::)