View Full Version : Land Based Game

setthehook
28-04-2003, 04:47 PM
Here is a Northern Bluefin tuna i spun up on a 65g raider on the north coast of N.S.W. The fish was taken from a breakwall in the morning. I was using a 12ft rod and a shimano speedmaster egg beater reel.Fish took 50 mins to land.

team_mongo
28-04-2003, 05:04 PM
In the words of yoda:
Hmmm..
Nice fish that is Yes ;)
Big they grow..Hmmm..
Go Fishing I must...
:D :D :D

setthehook
28-04-2003, 05:17 PM
Hear is my best kingfish to date.25kgs on 15kg line at the Tubes Jervis Bay N.S.W. I was using a live bonito as bait on 150lb trace.The fish took about 15 mins to land but it was an aggresive battle.

setthehook
28-04-2003, 05:24 PM
This is my Australian Record Mako off the stones.Also caught at the good old Tubes and on 15kg tackle.Took a live slimey and did plenty of tail dancing and jumping.

setthehook
28-04-2003, 05:33 PM
Here is a action shot of a myself fighting a large marlin at the Tubes. The fish was approx 120kg's on 15 kg line.The fish was lost after 2.45 hours at the gaff.What a let down. I captured a marlin in 1999 well over 100kg's but this fish was cut and released.

setthehook
28-04-2003, 05:40 PM
Here is a Smooth hammerhead shark i captured a few weeks ago at a place called Beecroft n.s.w. He took a live bonito.I use large tuna circle hooks for sharks so i can still use mono trace.

setthehook
28-04-2003, 05:44 PM
This is a shocka photo but the fish are cool.These to Mack tuna took one of my home made lures at the Tubes.They were both caught on 4 kg line.

aquarius
28-04-2003, 05:46 PM
Nice pics there mate......land based marlin captures must be the ultimate challenge to any fisho....good onya mate.
Cheers Brent

Dr_Dan
29-04-2003, 06:54 AM
Noooo..........

I'm not the slightest bit jealous!!!!! :'(

setthehook
29-04-2003, 10:24 PM
An old photo of a bluefin i caught down south of N.S.W. This fish fell victum to lure on 6kg line.

setthehook
29-04-2003, 10:41 PM
This my bait pool !!! :o These are live bonito and a live frigate! The pool is 6ft and i use a petrol pump to fill and maintain the pool.I have kept bonito alive for 3 days with this setup. ::)

setthehook
30-04-2003, 05:56 AM
Hooked up to a 20kg Bluefin on the north coast.This fish took a live garfish. Unfortunatly my gaff man was wiped out by a wave and the fish was pushed into a whole in the breakwall.Due to the danger factor we snapped him off and got him out the next day.Didnt smell the best though and the fish wasnt photo material!!! :P

setthehook
30-04-2003, 06:02 AM
This another old photo of myself locked into battle with a big black marlin.This fish spooled me on 50lb line on a 50w reel holding a kilometer of line. It was all over in about 3 mins.

setthehook
30-04-2003, 06:07 AM
This a baby black marlin.i spun him up many years ago at the Eve's.I took a quick photo and let him go.

desertfisher
30-04-2003, 06:10 AM
mumblemumblemumblemumblemumble,,,BASTARD, SHOWOFF!
I could do better than tha........AAAAAHHH bollocks,,no I couldn't.

Dr_Dan
30-04-2003, 09:10 PM
Isn't that a spearfish??? Got wrong dorsal fin for black, and shorter bill too.

setthehook
01-05-2003, 04:28 PM
:D :DI first thought it was a sailfish but another marlin the same size was caught a couple of years before mine and was sent to a meuseum in u.s.a. and was found to be a black marlin.Apparently he will loose the fin and so on. ???

Dr_Dan
02-05-2003, 09:02 AM
Well, you learn something new everyday.

thanx for the info. ;D

setthehook
04-05-2003, 04:17 AM
:)Here is another hammerhead shark.This shark took a live trevally at the Tubes.

setthehook
04-05-2003, 05:03 PM
Here is a small mako i caught on 6kg line and a live slimey at the Tubes.

setthehook
05-05-2003, 12:03 PM
Spinning up bonito is a great way to fill in time while waiting for a live bait to be eaten. I use this size bonito as live bait for almost any species of game fish. 8)

setthehook
05-05-2003, 12:05 PM
This is a small whaler shark caught south of Jervis Bay.

setthehook
05-05-2003, 12:08 PM
Hooked up to a smooth hammerhead shark at the Eve's.

setthehook
05-05-2003, 12:10 PM
The shark landed after the above shot.

setthehook
05-05-2003, 12:17 PM
Yep, another hammerhead shark. I get sick of these sharks so i take one home for the table occasionly. Check out the size of the ledge im fishing!!! What you see is it. A 60 ft rope climb to this ledge.

setthehook
05-05-2003, 12:23 PM
Some of the ledges i fish have recenlty been closed including this one. This one is about 200ft climb and the photo was taken from about half way down.

05-05-2003, 02:24 PM
Shame you dont release the sharks.

06-05-2003, 12:43 PM
I'd like to know how you caryy your gear AND THE SHARKS back up those ropes ?????????????????

aquarius
06-05-2003, 01:34 PM
Hey Phill maybe he has his car at the top of the cliff...then all he has to do is tie everything to the back of the car and drive forward 60 metres...lol.
All jokes aside i to would love to know how you manage to get all ya gear and fish back up the cliff face?
Cheers Brent

setthehook
06-05-2003, 02:54 PM
My gear all fits into a 80 litre back pack and weighs about 40kg's. It absolutely kills me!!! :P I carry the petrol pump in one hand and rods in the other. Once at the cliff top (usually about 2 - 3 kilometers from the car!!) i unload the gear and lower it down the cliff with ropes.Some of my ledges have pully systems permanently fixed.Generally im stuffed before i get there!! Sharks and big fish are hard to get out but with ya mates help a few bits of rope you can do wonders.
In response to the post "shame you dont let em go"- I do, I take part in tagging programs with fish and sharks. Many sharks have i released, about 95% would be close. If you read correctly above i "ocassionly take one for a feed".So that might cheer you up. I also release 90% of my fish aswell.I have only landed 1 marlin from the rocks about 115 kg's and i let that go too!
So i dont think its a shame i keep a couple.
;D

06-05-2003, 02:59 PM
Thats way to hard for me, top marks!

adriancorrea
06-05-2003, 07:23 PM
Hi set 8)
I know what you mean,I use to do abit of fishing at javis bay and we use to walk for about 45 min from the car park and then have to climb down those cliffs, But the kingies we use to catch were worth the effort. :o :o
Great reports keep them coming ;)

Tight Lines
Adrian

setthehook
07-05-2003, 07:24 PM
http://www.ausfish.com.au/chat/images/smilies/cwm7.gif

Holy_Mackerel
21-05-2003, 12:20 PM
Hey Setthehook,
That is one unbelievable swag of LBG fish. #I am a LBG addict that now has a boat. #Funny, I now can head anywhere to sea but usually find myself sneaking around headlands or islands in pursuit of the same old fish -kings, bluefin and cobia. #
I've seen your name regularly pop up in ANSA record books and 12 month comps etc and thought to myself that it'd be great to see your photo albums. #You seem to be able to consistently catch more fish than just about anyone I know. #I've been building a house last 12 months so you won't see my name in the 12 month comp this year most likely. #
Well done on the jew too that you had on another post. #Nothing like light line river jew. #
Wes

setthehook
21-05-2003, 07:00 PM
;DThanks Wes
I Catch heaps of fish consistently because i sneak to what ever water i can whenever i can.If i have 5 minutes spare i'm fishing.
Great to meet another Ansa member on here anyway.
I worked hard last year 7 days a week, so i did very little fishing.Thats why my name wasn't in the 12 month comp last year so im putting in a better effort this year while i have the time.Jew fishing is good cause i can sneek out of a night catch a couple and sneak back to bed without the misses even noticing!!! ;) ;)
Good luck with the house mate and if in ya the area maybe we could chase some fish.
Rob ;D

Holy_Mackerel
28-05-2003, 11:27 AM
Hey Robert,
Cheers mate. I didn't think I'd be in the 12 month at all this year, but I got a GT last week that might be worth a shot. He's not worth heaps of points, but I'll check the results anyway. 33kg GT on 15. Got him at 9 mile, off Tweed which is just in NSW waters. But he beat the old sportfishing record anyway.
Yeah, if ever I'm down there with a line I'll give you a bell.
Wes ;)

MangroveJase
29-05-2003, 01:56 PM
agreed

ba229
05-06-2003, 07:22 AM
For the effort put in and the results achieved you get a 10 from me. It's not one individual fish but rather the story that won me over.

setthehook
15-06-2003, 02:59 PM
my mate Alex he he he ;D
One day he will learn not to fall asleep on fishing trips.!! ::)

SteveCan
27-06-2003, 05:31 PM
I too, reckon a ten is in order,

That is some serious fishing.

Steve.

cHiCo
04-05-2004, 11:14 AM
Had to bump this post for newish members to have a gig, great pics from a ripper fisherman!

sominc
04-05-2004, 12:57 PM
I cant believe the amount of sucess u have had, thats an absolutely tops effort.

Maybe i dont need a boat ;D

Cloud_9
04-05-2004, 02:55 PM
the waters much cleaner down south
and the boating public cant always get to these areas to fish so its not going to be fished out like up here.

top effort , great pics.

Cheers Cloud 9

setthehook
04-05-2004, 07:51 PM
Thanx guys, posted that a while back :) Hopefully i can start catchin some more lbg fish. Going for a fish tomorrow of the rocks. Fingers crossed. ;D

saen
05-05-2004, 04:37 AM
Set,

let me know how you went today-hope you got something!!!

JJ

setthehook
05-05-2004, 04:16 PM
Few bonito and a mack tuna. Thats it for today :-[

saen
12-05-2004, 09:59 AM
So if youre getting mac's surley there goota be blues down there? HUH???

chemmy
14-01-2005, 04:47 AM
that's some good game fishing

yellahunter
15-01-2005, 06:04 PM
awesome fishing there mate,
wondered if you could give us a hand, im up on the gold coast in qld and wana do a bit more serious fishing, is there anywhere up here or even the nth nsw coast which consistently produces larger fish, eg bonito, tuna, jewies etc?
i dont have a boat but dont really know where to start, the gold coast seaway and tweed entrance are a little overfished i think?

any ideas?

ba229
15-01-2005, 07:38 PM
For a post that is over 18 months old it is doing well/

Just goes to show us that Rob you are highly regarded as an LBG expert.

Invite me fishing some time? lol I will buy you a beer #:)

p.s. check out his website and chat board http://www.sportfishextreme.com/

always worth a look to see big kingies,big marlin, big etc etc etc

Rob you really know your shit.

DICER
15-01-2005, 09:32 PM
mixing rock climbing with serious snodger fish,

it makes pillies look silly,

nice way to go,

DICER

setthehook
16-01-2005, 12:39 PM
WOW!! this old post dug up from the grave again!! :D
Thanks for the coments guys. My new job see's me dreaming about fishing 6days a week instead off actually doing it. :( Still put in the ocational effort though. Feel free to visit my site if you are interested in learning about LBG and yes there are lbg locations in every state.
Here are some fish from a couple of weeks ago.
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v141/robertbarrett/jewnight2.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v141/robertbarrett/jewdec2004.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v141/robertbarrett/finski.jpg
the little fin i cheated and used a boat hehehehe but the jews are from the shore.
cheers guys
Rob.

blue_rogue
18-01-2005, 09:38 AM
Loved you photos mate....

That is a real patient sport off the rocks. All the best with another marlin

Dominic