PDA

View Full Version : Tides & Terms help for a new member

Cartblank
19-12-2006, 12:25 AM
Hi Ausfish Members,

I have enjoyed looking at the site for the last few days and decided to join up today, reading all the articles has made me realize that after a lifetime of fishing I don't know a whole lot about it. ( self taught ) but I have a question I feel foolish asking.

Can someone help me understand tides ? ie.
High & low tides I get and i understand you have 6 hours between a high and a low, I understand a turning tide but what i want to know is on a turning tide you seem to have a period of time when you have no current, is this right ? and if so how long a time period ?

What is an ebb tide ( out going tide ? ) is a creep tide the opposite ? What is the best tide to fish ?

I am not young and I know I should know this but after losing a few crab pots to a fast flowing tide I thought it time to find out for sure.

Thanks,

Cartblank

griz066
19-12-2006, 03:27 PM
Welcome aboard mate 8-) I am sure someone here will help you out with your questions, I never go to the coast so I am not much help :-?

snakecatcher
19-12-2006, 04:33 PM
There is a period of time between and incoming (creeping) and outgoing tide (ebb) when there is little movement in the water - this doesn't normally last for very long, about 15 mins where I fish.

The best tide to fish is an interesting question - when chasing flatties I prefer an outgoing tide but when I fish for queenies up north I like the incoming. As a general rule I find fish feed better when there is some movement in the water.

Hope this helps

Mike

Cartblank
19-12-2006, 11:49 PM
Thanks Guys,