View Full Version : Who builds teak decks

01-12-2010, 08:27 PM
Gents,

Next year we're rebuilding this majestic old Queenslander on the Tweed River. I've got a thing for bathrooms and kitchens and want to make one of the bathrooms a real standout.

To this end I'm thinking of having the entire bathroom floor surface in teak - including running into the shower area making one seamless floor and wet area.

We had a teak floor on our Blackwatch but I know a lot of the newer boats are doing a moulded floor now.

So does anyone know anyone on the Gold coast building wooden teak decks who I can talk to about my ideas?

Thanks in advance

sleepygreg
01-12-2010, 11:33 PM
Dont do it. VERY high maintenance. Looks great when first done...but in constant wet areas the soft fibres will soon 'blow out' leaving a ridged surface. If you do insist on doing it, make sure you get genuine Burmese Teak. You will probably have to go to a specialist like Brittons or Moxons. I know Brittons import burmese teak, and I am fairly sure Moxons do. (I used to get my teak from Brittons when I ran the Timber Mill in Sydney). Running the profiles will be exxy as Teak chews up cutters quickly because of the silicates in it.

kitty_cat
02-12-2010, 12:45 PM
andy is the man awsome work mate , dosnt happen in a hurry but awsome work call him on 0413846511 he is baced at gold coast city mariner but is a mobile service i belive i seen a job (more than one) on a 50ft cat highly recommend

hope this helps
wayne

02-12-2010, 05:08 PM
Thanks Greg, and Wayne.

I've had plenty of people tell me it won't work and not to do it but that is sort of pushing me to do it more::)

Greg, I figure if I could get ten years out of it then it would be time to renovate the bathroom again anyway. The shower will just be a glass partition running from one wall to another with the shower walls tinted glass running straight on top of the wooden walls.
There's also a stand alone huge bath in the middle of the room looking out through the bay window into the garden. well that's the plan

I've just got to try and not make it look like a sauna.

Still working on it.

Wayne I'll give him a call for sure.

Thanks again

sleepygreg
02-12-2010, 11:37 PM

By all means do the main floor in Teak - I reckon it would look brilliant. Just dont do the shower floor in Teak. The constant flow of water, combined with all the crap that is in the soaps and shampoos/conditioners, plus the inevitable cleaning solutions used on the glass, will blow out the soft fibres in the teak. My opinion is you would be lucky to get two years out of it in the shower area. You also need to consider what substrate you are laying it on (waterproofing membrane), sealing the surface and preventing water laying underneath the teak boards is also an issue (despite its durability rating - it WILL rot in ideal conditions).

I have run heaps of jobs in Teak for boat builders/refurbishers/owners replacing teak decks that they didnt bother maintaining ("its teak, its meant to be used in that application") often after only 12 - 18 months.

Your Idea is admirable..and I would love to see the finished job...just trying to look at things from the practical side and save you from the inevitable heartache of seeing it go pear shaped after a couple of years.

03-12-2010, 06:09 PM
Teak likes salt water but not fresh. I have seen yachties pour buckets of salt water over their teak areas at the end of the day after their clean up and walk away.

Troy Dibben is one boat builder from the Gamefish Club to look up. He did up that green Bertram 35' Kenyana from scratch and if you ever saw it he did a great job. He currently has a 42' or 45' Bertram. I'll get onto the guy who just did Nauti Suzanne's cockpit and also the guy who did Mark's cockpit on Reel Crazy. Mark sourced his own teak and did it on the cheap.

This is the new cockpit in Nauti Suzanne part way through.

05-12-2010, 07:30 PM
Thanks Rob,

I need to start talking to some people who have done it before. I know it goes ok in salt but I've got no idea about fresh.

We'll chat next time we catch up.

05-12-2010, 08:52 PM

We have had a couple of Teak decks on boats and have never noticed any rot in them (a lot of other issues but not rot). Any boat in a marina is subject to fresh water with dew and rain and they survive quite well with only the occassional splash or wash with saltwater. The main thing will be making sure there are no areas holding water that you cant see.
Have you thought about one of the epoxy systems that will give you a sealed finish on the Teak?