View Full Version : Fun at the barra park

Chamelion
01-05-2010, 01:26 AM
Yes yes they're pond donkeys.. Now that's done with...

Went to the barra park the other day and landed 6 or 7 with one bust off... Went back today and landed a few more including a jewie (not pictured). Had a bust off when a big girl attacked my 4" flick bait. I would estimate close to the meter mark. Made a short 3 second job of my 6lb leader haha. Had a couple of others throw the hooks and a couple more bust offs. Had to work for it today though, the fish were a little on the slow side during the guts of the day.

My mate caught one barra whilst I was there but after I left he caught a big cod, big barra, two big bream and a little barra.

Each pic is a different fish... The pike was caught in the Maroochy...

http://i225.photobucket.com/albums/dd46/Chamelion/Fish/P270410_1315_1037x778.jpg
http://i225.photobucket.com/albums/dd46/Chamelion/Fish/P270410_1339_1037x778.jpg
http://i225.photobucket.com/albums/dd46/Chamelion/Fish/P270410_1404_1037x778.jpg
http://i225.photobucket.com/albums/dd46/Chamelion/Fish/P270410_1419_1037x778.jpg
http://i225.photobucket.com/albums/dd46/Chamelion/Fish/P270410_142901_1037x778.jpg
http://i225.photobucket.com/albums/dd46/Chamelion/Fish/P270410_1444_1037x778.jpg
http://i225.photobucket.com/albums/dd46/Chamelion/Fish/P270410_150101_1037x778.jpg
http://i225.photobucket.com/albums/dd46/Chamelion/Fish/P280310_2142_1037x778.jpg
http://i225.photobucket.com/albums/dd46/Chamelion/Fish/P300410_105001_726x544.jpg
http://i225.photobucket.com/albums/dd46/Chamelion/Fish/P300410_1104_726x544.jpg
http://i225.photobucket.com/albums/dd46/Chamelion/Fish/P300410_1241_726x544.jpg
http://i225.photobucket.com/albums/dd46/Chamelion/Fish/P300410_132801_726x544.jpg

Pics of what Jason caught after I left: NOTE: That's a 40 size reel and a 3-6kg rod and Jason doesn't have baby hands by any stretch!

http://i225.photobucket.com/albums/dd46/Chamelion/Fish/Image070_1136x852.jpg
http://i225.photobucket.com/albums/dd46/Chamelion/Fish/Image073_1136x852.jpg
http://i225.photobucket.com/albums/dd46/Chamelion/Fish/Image074_1136x852.jpg
http://i225.photobucket.com/albums/dd46/Chamelion/Fish/Image076_1136x852.jpg

sleepygreg
01-05-2010, 01:49 AM
A very productive session. Some nice fish there Matt. All in pretty good nick too.

bermo82
01-05-2010, 01:06 PM
nice barra mate, and that last bream looks like a fat bugger. must be a good little system they've got running there.

How late is the pond open till?

PNG1M
17-05-2010, 02:23 PM
I am also interested in this place although I'm buggered if I know what a bream is doing in a barra park..!?

Nice pics anyway...

A few questions (presuming this is the barra park at Bli Bli):

1) Does anyone know the opening hours of the park?

2) I'm presuming you can bring your own gear and test it out - lures included!

3) Are kids allowed to fish there too, under supervision.

4) Is it catch & release only or can you pay extra to keep a certain weight per kg?

5) If I was travelling up from the Gold Coast and wanted to stay nearby for a couple of nights, does anyone know of a half decent cabin park?

Tasol...

PNG1M
17-05-2010, 02:45 PM
This bit of a blurb answered some of my questions. At least if you don't hook up on a barra you might get somethin' else.

At Suncoast Barra Fishing Park, you can catch yourself a whoppa Barramundi! You will be provided with the ultimate fishing experience as you endeavour to catch one of the most sought after fish in the world - the Barramundi.

Fully stocked with Barramundi, Whiting, Bream, Mangrove Jack, Trevally and Snapper, this salt-water fishing park is a great place to experience the thrill of catch and release.

Professional fishermen are on hand to help you jag the catch of your life. You can even purchase your catch and enjoy a fresh feast.

The Barra Park is conveniently located right next door to Suncoast Cable Watersports (formerly Ski n Skurf) and only a 10 minute drive from Maroochydore.

With three lakes, Barra Creek, Big Boys Pond and Mixed Species Pond there isn't a minimum of size or quantity of fish you can catch.

Anyway...here's the link: http://www.suncoastbarrafishing.com/index.htm

Crunchy
17-05-2010, 04:06 PM
I am also interested in this place although I'm buggered if I know what a bream is doing in a barra park..!?

Nice pics anyway...

A few questions (presuming this is the barra park at Bli Bli):

1) Does anyone know the opening hours of the park?

2) I'm presuming you can bring your own gear and test it out - lures included!

3) Are kids allowed to fish there too, under supervision.

4) Is it catch & release only or can you pay extra to keep a certain weight per kg?

5) If I was travelling up from the Gold Coast and wanted to stay nearby for a couple of nights, does anyone know of a half decent cabin park?

Tasol...

The best place to stay is the caravan park at Mudjimba, nice cabins and its a nice park only 5 mins from the barra park, totally booked out during holidays though. Avoid the other parks in the area in my opinion.

Yes kids are more than welcome by the looks (I have never been there but drive past there every day)

Yes to can take your own gear / lures

Yes you can keep the catch (Or part of of it, not 100% on the rules about that).

I will stop in there in the next few days and see what I can find out if Chamelion does not come back an fill in the gaps.

gr hilly
17-05-2010, 04:44 PM
what a top spot i did not know this place was there,i will have to go and take a good mate with me he has never caught a Barra and its been a while for me to this site keeps giving such good info im hooked on the site just like i will be on a Barra.

cheers hilly

redjetskirider
17-05-2010, 05:03 PM
Me and morgank go there quite abit.... Hav landed heaps
of barra (60-107cm) and I think that's the same cod Morgs caught acouple months ago.....
How big was the Jew....

PNG1M
17-05-2010, 09:13 PM
I had never heard about this place either until I noticed it on Ausfish.

Coming from the Gold Coast I guess it'd be close the most southerly point (and shortest drive) to where you can catch barra. Are there any closer??

I reckon it'd be a great day out. Get a day pass and bring some bangers and fillets for the barby and a few frothy chops. The kids'd have a ball & the fishos get to hone their casting skills etc etc.

Win...win...

And that caravan park that Crunchy suggested would fit somewhere into the equation too. I've got it pencilled in!

ashh
17-05-2010, 09:21 PM
theres barra in the nerang and the coomera....its just there few and far between :(

PNG1M
17-05-2010, 10:36 PM
I read in the barra park's website that its $20.00 per kg if you want to keep some fish. I presume that means $20.00 per kg whole as opposed to fillets.

I don't think I'd want to fork out $60 for a 3kg fish (or $100 for a 5kg fish), especially considering the combined weight of the bones/guts/gills & head etc.

I know the operators need to cover the costs of the upkeep of the place, but if you want to sizzle barra fillets on the barby it might be more economical to bring them along with you.

(Or maybe put one over on the missus and 'pretend' that the Coles fillets on the bbq came directly off the barra you caught 20mins earlier...)

Beggsy
18-05-2010, 12:52 PM
Folks,

Never been to this one, but there is a Park around Beaudesert way.... here's the link:

http://www.ecopark.net.au/index.html

Seems to be catch and release only.

Might be worth a try from the Goldy rather then going all the way to Bli Bli.

PNG1M
19-05-2010, 01:42 PM
That Eco Park Fishing World might be worth a try.

I checked out the link but couldn't see a list of the fish species they stock. There must be a bit of a range I s'pose. It says there are 1000's of native fish in 10 ponds.

Kind of a tad expensive with kids $45 and adults $50 to fish, that is presuming each person wants to use a fishing rod individually.

It can be cheaper if you share rods. So for a family of four you're lookin' at roughly $200 (if they have a rod per person) plus the inevitable extras.

Still, might be worth a look...

Bronson
19-05-2010, 02:40 PM
i fished the eco park about 6 weeks ago. good fun landed 4 sooty grunters biggest went 48cm, about 15 silver perch biggest went 45cm, and around 8 barcoo grunters biggest went 49cm. and lost one small barra. they are rather easy to catch. These fish were so under feed most fish landed were very very skinny. All in All good fun fishing ponds stocked with loads of fish but if you've never been to the barra park in
bli bli it is way way better worth the drive from the gold coast done it many times.

bron

004dam
21-05-2010, 09:48 PM
I have always wanted to go to the barra park about 20 minutes drive from me. never get around to it though hmmph

Jurkyjj
21-05-2010, 10:17 PM
Matt,

they might be pond donkeys......but.....they are still nice fish.
Great effort there.
Have been meaning to go for a sess up there.

Might have to drag myself up there on mu holidays.

Jason.