View Full Version : Drop Lining

snelly1971
22-01-2009, 11:25 PM
A few Ausfishers have been asking me to put up more sounder pics....Well here they are.

Oh By the Way
17 Stripey Trumpeter

60+ other Scale fish

23-01-2009, 07:29 AM
Good on ya Mick :)
I don't think I'd be jumping over to untangle the prop though. A bit on the brrrr side for me I'm afraid.
Was that another charter or just some freeloaders??
The blokes in the pictures look the same all the time or is that just a Tassie thing?? Especially the bloke in red.

snelly1971
23-01-2009, 07:51 AM
Hi Finga, The bloke in the red is the deck hand, and it was only a fun trip.

25-01-2009, 04:35 AM
Thanks for the picks mate. Is there ever a trip that you dont come home with a huge haul? If only us up here were so fortunate. Good work mate.

25-01-2009, 07:31 AM
Mick,

How has the weather been this year - been able to get out much?

snelly1971
25-01-2009, 05:02 PM
Mick,

How has the weather been this year - been able to get out much?

Weather has been bloody horrible, worst I have seen it for years, hopefully it will improve in Feb. I have just leased a Commonwealth Drop lining Permit, so I will be able to sell a few fish locally.

snelly1971
25-01-2009, 05:03 PM
Thanks for the picks mate. Is there ever a trip that you dont come home with a huge haul? If only us up here were so fortunate. Good work mate.

Very seldom we have a bad trip, I suppose that is the beauty of living on a wild coastline.

25-01-2009, 06:25 PM
Great stuff Mick. I will have to get down your neck of the woods one day and check it all out

chooky
25-01-2009, 07:08 PM
Mick,
How many hooks and what sort of rig. Do you use plastics with bait.
We drop line up north and are interested in any new ideas

snelly1971
25-01-2009, 08:29 PM
Sorry Chook, I think you might be a little confused,

A drop line is a length of rope, attached to about 20-30 kg of lead on one end, with 10-30 hooks placed above that a about 1-2 meter intervals. And of course 2 buoys on the surface,

These are left for between 15 min to 4 hours, depending on how the fish are biting, and then hauled up either on a pot hauler, or large deck winch.

Cheers Mick

chooky
25-01-2009, 09:21 PM
Mick,
When I read your post about leasing a liscense I asumed you were an amature fisherman pre leasing.
In Queensland we cannot use that apparatus as an amature. Up here the term dropline is often used to describe a patroniser rig with several hooks that we use in deep water.
Cheers and tight lines

snelly1971
26-01-2009, 10:27 AM
Mick,
When I read your post about leasing a liscense I asumed you were an amature fisherman pre leasing.
In Queensland we cannot use that apparatus as an amature. Up here the term dropline is often used to describe a patroniser rig with several hooks that we use in deep water.
Cheers and tight lines

Yes Chook, and still do alot of Amature fishing

redlowrey
26-01-2009, 09:05 PM
Great stuff mick, I have been trying to catch stripeys off portland in victoria no luck yet caught blue eye trevala, and other deep sea ogilies. I have a 585 with a 1kwt tanny and have been fishing the 350 to 500 metre line I noticed you seem catching them in the 160+ metre line, whats the the shallowest water they they live in and the deepest. Those furunos are a great units, thick bottom trace in 550 metres thanks great reports.

snelly1971
26-01-2009, 11:02 PM
Great stuff mick, I have been trying to catch stripeys off portland in victoria no luck yet caught blue eye trevala, and other deep sea ogilies. I have a 585 with a 1kwt tanny and have been fishing the 350 to 500 metre line I noticed you seem catching them in the 160+ metre line, whats the the shallowest water they they live in and the deepest. Those furunos are a great units, thick bottom trace in 550 metres thanks great reports.

They can be caught inshore, but are usually small, I fish between 130-220 meters for them, depending on exactly where on the coast I am fishing.

Generally I dont catch Blue Eye until I out over the 220 fathom mark, But we have been picking up a few Harpuka in around the 90+ fathom.

Furunos, yes I am very happy with mine, I went out to 400 fathom (720) meters here a few months ago to see what happened, and I was still getting a decent reading.

Would love to upgrade the fcv 1150 with 3 Kw....

wak69
27-01-2009, 07:15 PM
Hi Mick, can you tell me what speed you set your furuno at just trying to fine tune mine, great pics by the way

sam....

snelly1971
27-01-2009, 08:15 PM
Hi Mick, can you tell me what speed you set your furuno at just trying to fine tune mine, great pics by the way

sam....

If i am only at 6 knots or less speed then i have mine set at the slowest possible setting, Crusing or traveling at around 20 -30 knots then I have it about half way on the settings