PDA

View Full Version : Advice on Kayaks

basswulf
08-01-2008, 03:27 PM
Hi all, new to the site and seeking some help...
I am considering buying a Kayak for light Bass fishing there are couple of great looking Australis Bass Kayaks on Ebay at the moment but i have little experience and would hate to part with the $500 - $600 and be dissappointed. Has anyone had any experience with these? Are they stable? Roomy?

Any help would be gretaly apprciated.

Cheers.

joeT
08-01-2008, 11:47 PM
Before buying its probably best to try out the kayak for yourself to see if its stable enough and suits your needs. Try a few hire places often they have a selection and some may even be for sale. Different kayaks behave quite differently.

Ebay is probably not the best place to buy your first kayak, chances of being disappointed are high.

I try to stick with the motto, 'good things aren't cheap, cheap things aren't good'. You do get what you pay for, and unless you just want to paddle in a lake or pond, a good kayak would start closer to $1k.

Flattie Assassin
09-01-2008, 07:20 AM
Sit on tops are better for fishing Kayaks. Make sure you get something stable first time up, or you will regret it.

FA

flyin marlin
09-01-2008, 07:40 AM