View Full Version : Are Holden Jackaroo's crap???

flairj
02-10-2007, 10:06 PM
OK, so I know I want a turbo diesel and know that I'm looking at a Patrol, a Pajero, an older Landcruiser or a Jackaroo. But whilst investigating my father has had the mechanic he has used and trusted for 10 years tell him to stay away from Jackaroos. Admittedly, this mechanic isn't a diesel specialist and more your run of the mill family car guy, but good and trustworthy. He reckons all three (yes, I know, that's not many) have been bad and have been back and forth to the shop. Also he said parts were quite expensive.

So, my question is.......... has this guy been unlucky enough to deal with three lemons? or are Jackaroos decent and reliable enough.

I don't tow a huge boat so the fact that it is a little smaller than the rest doesn't faze me. I just don't want to drop 10-13k on a money pit of a 4x4

Thanks, Josh

Kleyny
03-10-2007, 08:28 AM
I used to work at a holden dealer, the sort of jackaroo you get for that kind of money would be as good as any pajero.
the motors running gear are all isuzu so its good quality gear (if looked after) IMO.
Some people say that the suspension is a little soft/ lopping around, i would tend to agree a little but a good set of shocks should fix most of it up.

the older square type Jackaroos tended to be rust buckets and no were near as good as the rounded/newer type ones.

IMO you can get a lemon in any car so you need to be careful and take your time when buying a car especially a 4X4.

hope this helps

neil

03-10-2007, 10:26 AM
Just be aware of the injection system on the 3.0 Turbo Jackaroo is a HEUI system (designed by Caterpillar) These have been known to be problematic 1) the injector seals failed (this was subject to a recall) and 2) They require a specific engine oil to operate correctly due to the HEUI system. (Hydraulic Electronic Unit Injector) basically there is a hydraulic pump which uses engine oil to actuate the unit injectors and if the incorrect oil grade is used it can cause BIG headaches. Also if the HEUI pump (the actuator pump) fails it will cost you big $$$ to fix. The electronic part is the ECM which controls the injection operation. Like all things mechanical things can go wrong, but its better to be aware of potential problems BEFORE you go investing $$$ into someone elses problems. Having said that, a well maintained and correctly serviced T/D Jack is a very capable vehicle. Good luck with your choices.

Cheers and Beers

flairj
03-10-2007, 01:06 PM
Thanks guys, those are the kind of answers I'm looking for and what I thought may be the case.

And to ask another question along similar lines........... Is there any reason that Landrover Discovery TDi's seem to be fairly cheap? I have seen 1999 models for around 12k that looked (from photos) and sounded good. Do they just not hold their value or are they more of a "softroader" because I certainly don't want a soccer mum 4x4 as I do intend to use it semi seriously (sand boat launches, Fraser island and that sort of stuff.

Thanks again, Josh

03-10-2007, 02:38 PM

The land rover is one of the most capable 4x4's you can get, probably only a "soft roader" when compared o a defender with its rugged good looks.

They just don't seem to hold their value, mainly due to quality control and publics perception of reliability.

03-10-2007, 03:31 PM
mate the Disco is much more capable off road and in towing overall than a Jackeroo. The Tdi is going to cost a lot less I reckon to repair because, if nothing else, the injectors are of the low pressure variety. These high pressure injectors of the more modern diesels are going to cost people big time. Overall I prefer V8 discos on LPG, but the Tdis are competent also. The V8s put up big ks however and costs a lot less to overhaul when its time for a reco. The tdi reco starts at about $20-25k (and the more modern ones will be much more again).

03-10-2007, 03:35 PM
...actually there is not THAT much difference off road between a defender and a disco - especially when the Disco is shod with larger and proper tyres such as 265/7016S...in fact there are times when the disco is better. The main reason for this is that the rear springs on the defender are usually a lot stiffer than the disco and it restricts articulation...But overall the defender has it because its got virtually no overhang at the rear and is naturally high off the deck. But you would be surprised at the 'percentage' difference between them off road and on road the Disco is a limo by comparison!

Amberjack
03-10-2007, 05:44 PM
No - jackaroos are basically solid vehicles. I am on my third, a 3.5 V6. Pretty heavy on fuel but I am getting gas fitted very soon. The vehicle is a capable 4WD, tows well and is reliable. It is comfortable and can be a soft ride, but the right shocks sort that. I drive an Isuzu truck for a living and find that mob build strong, reliable vehicles. I am very happy.

bastard
03-10-2007, 07:37 PM
Id steer clear of the jackaroo,there wouldnt be many factory produced cars that would out perform a disco.I also agree they are great value for money,you must by newer than 1994 though.

BenDover
04-10-2007, 05:50 AM
If your looking to do Fraser Island, in my opinion. Jackaroo's and pajero's wont cut it and you will get anoyyed when you cant make it through some tracks. eg... I have seen about 6 (almost brand new) hilux's with bent up side steps due to bad clearances and many pretent 4x4's ( rav4's, honda's etc..) bogged and have burnt out clutches (that i have had to tow all the way back to the barge). :( So in my personal opinion for sand and towing. Patrols are good but very very slow. Cruiser turbo deisels will be my bet for comfort and capability and they hold their value great. I dont know much about landy's. Ive never seen any up at the lighthouse. If they have enough power and the right tires they will make it.
Can i ask why you have decided on a turbo deisel?
BD

flairj
05-10-2007, 01:13 AM
Well, I was looking at turbo diesel mostly because I was under the impression that they were the workhorse type engine that if looked after would last a long time but could handle towing fairly well.

I'm also wondering if a well maintained hilux surf is a good idea???

BenDover
05-10-2007, 06:02 AM
Ive grown up with diesel 4x4's and (i hate them now) laugh. I had 1 of my own but not for very long. Diesel is more expensive than petrol (it never used to be) and there is also only 1 pump at each servo (most of the time) and a line up of cars waiting to use it. And boy are they slow. Jump into a petrol model and your eyes will light up. Having said that they do last many many years. 400 000k's. If looked after. But if anything does go wrong they are 3 times more expensive to rebuild than the petrol. They do produce more torque at lower revs. Unless you where planning hardcore 4x4ing and crossing deep rivers. I would take the time to drive both petrol and diesel before committing to it.
Mates of mine who used to race their cruiser diesels (standard diesels they turbo'd themselves) did as much as they could to them (bigger garret turbo's and intercoolers) lpg injection, custom exhausts. And it only even came upto my standard 4.5 petrol. They did get better feul economy than me but not by much. We compaired both of them on all the runs and even deep river crossings. Everything was eqaul. And they get annoyed servicing them every 5000 k's. They have all dumped the diesels now and run V8's.
Diesels are good, but if youve never had 1 before... Then make sure its what you want before getting stuck with 1.

05-10-2007, 06:55 AM
If your looking to do Fraser Island, in my opinion. Jackaroo's and pajero's wont cut it and you will get anoyyed when you cant make it through some tracks. eg... I have seen about 6 (almost brand new) hilux's with bent up side steps due to bad clearances and many pretent 4x4's ( rav4's, honda's etc..) bogged and have burnt out clutches (that i have had to tow all the way back to the barge). :( So in my personal opinion for sand and towing. Patrols are good but very very slow. Cruiser turbo deisels will be my bet for comfort and capability and they hold their value great. I dont know much about landy's. Ive never seen any up at the lighthouse. If they have enough power and the right tires they will make it.
Can i ask why you have decided on a turbo deisel?
BD

That's rot Ben sorry. I have deliberately tried to bog in by going into 2wd in loose sand to bog in and then gone back into 4wd and climbed out. I do Fraser once a year in my Pajero and have never been bogged or recovered. Last year I towed a very HEAVY trailer to Cathedral where we stayed and the track leading up to Cathedral campsite is nothing but loose sand. Someone in a 4wd up ahead got bogged in and left me with no choice to have to stop in the loose sand with the fully loaded trailer on the back. As soon as I stopped I felt the whole car and trailer sink in. So I was faced with a hill start in loose boggy sand with the fully loaded trailer on the back and guess what? No problems. She climbed out and no recovery was needed. I figure if I didn't get bogged then then there is very little that will bog me on Fraser. Most Ausfishers who have seen me in action with the Pajero probably would be inclined to agree.
Now back to the Jackaroo, I know people who own them and take them on Fraser and they go hard and reliably. I know the early models had little or no appeal with their square shapes and probably had their fair share of problems but to me most 4wd's are capable. You just need to know how to drive them whilst in 4wd mode. EG: Correct tyre pressures in sand and mud etc.
I have recovered a Prado, and a big mean Ford Maverick that both came unstuck because of the loose nut behind the wheel. As already suggested choose wisely and take your time. Personally because I drive a Pajero I can't say anything bad about them. A good choice for me would be the Pajero, Patrol, Navara, Landcruiser, Later model Jackaroo. Good luck with your choice.

zigfreed
05-10-2007, 08:31 AM
Well, I was looking at turbo diesel mostly because I was under the impression that they were the workhorse type engine that if looked after would last a long time but could handle towing fairly well.

I'm also wondering if a well maintained hilux surf is a good idea???

G'day Flairj

I recently did a thread called "4 runners advice please" and got heaps of info off this site on them. Dunno how to create a shortcut to it but if you do a search you will find it.

I ended up buying a 95 4 runner for about half the price you are looking at, i am very happy with it. It tows the boat heaps better than the old falcon did and i am sure it will serve me well in the sand (fourth 4x4 i have owned). Like Poodroo said, most the time the problem is the loose unit behind the wheel not the vehicle itself.

I would steer clear of the imported surfs and look for the V6 aussie 4 runner if that is the path you want to take. Not as much power as the land cruisers but the way i look at it is i dont tow my boat to work every day so i would rather sacrifice a bit of power to save on the daily fuel economy.

Brett1907
05-10-2007, 09:36 AM
Got to agree with Poodroo there. My In-Laws Pajero tows a 2tonne trailer on soft sand at North Straddy and Fraser with ease. And Poodroo has taken his completely stock Paj through some pretty tricky locations. Not happy that you didn't include Hiluxs' there though.

No problem with bent side steps Ben, that just means the missus won't complain when I finish the sliders I am making. And you are right about the Petrol/diesel Ben. A mate of mine with a TD Disco just did a fuel cost comparrison between his and a V8 Disco, over a year based on 25 000km the V8 only uses $1500.00 more in fuel. BUT... the diesel costs more than that in extra sefvicing/repair costs. And the V8 is a LOT cheaper to buy used.

I personally wouldn't buy a Disco, I love the Toyota's. And a 4Runner is definately worth considering.

05-10-2007, 09:46 AM
Yeah agree with Ben no advantage owning diesel today for 98% of owners IMO, once before they chose to gouge consumers on the diesel fuel price there was an argument in it.

Diesel just doesn't cut it over a basic pertol engine when all is taken into account, the more high tech the diesel is the less sense it makes yet again!

05-10-2007, 06:30 PM
Got to agree with Poodroo there. My In-Laws Pajero tows a 2tonne trailer on soft sand at North Straddy and Fraser with ease. And Poodroo has taken his completely stock Paj through some pretty tricky locations. Not happy that you didn't include Hiluxs' there though.

No problem with bent side steps Ben, that just means the missus won't complain when I finish the sliders I am making. And you are right about the Petrol/diesel Ben. A mate of mine with a TD Disco just did a fuel cost comparrison between his and a V8 Disco, over a year based on 25 000km the V8 only uses $1500.00 more in fuel. BUT... the diesel costs more than that in extra sefvicing/repair costs. And the V8 is a LOT cheaper to buy used.

I personally wouldn't buy a Disco, I love the Toyota's. And a 4Runner is definately worth considering.

Sorry Brett. Actually I thought I did mention Hiluxes but now that you have pointed it out I neglected to do so. Sorry mate. Actually I have to admit how impressed I was with your Hilux at Levuka. Not even I was mad enough to go through the mud bath. And then after the first time you did it again. Yes the Hilux is also a good 4wd especially when you start putting lockers in them. ;)

bastard
05-10-2007, 07:28 PM
Ben i also have a turbo diesel that is as worked as you can get,i also am about to pull it out and go an injected 5 litre or a v6 commodore engine,poodroo if you are doing nothing tomorrow we can meet up around lunch time and go for a run to ormeau and i will show you how useless an independent front end vehicle is,i doubt it will make it in via the water tower.:D

BenDover
06-10-2007, 09:03 AM
Hey Poodroo. I guess it depends on where you go on fraser hey. And the tracks you use/ make for yourself :). I am just using the light house as an example. The only hard place to get through there is a soft sandy run through the headland (but fraser is not hard at all). But even there some years is extremely easy going. But also some tracks we use that arnt on a map have very very steep soft sandy runs (40 metres or so) and only big wide tires and HEAPS of horse power can get you up there.
Does anyone know the big sandy fire trail hill on straddie across from the blue lake exit??? Thats the type of hills im talking about.
Any car can go hard and its all upto the driver, (nice work by the way poodroo) but your only as good as your truck lets you be and when i had a hilux. I got sick of parking it at the bottom of runs it couldnt make it up. So upgrade to a new truck (cruiser) with more potensial. $30k of mods and extra's later. The hills and runs got harder. Upgrade again and so on... Even if i dont ever use it. Its great to know that your truck is capable of going anywhere and you never have to worry.
BD

ps. Bastard ill come on a run with ya. And if you need any advice about your V8 i can help ya there, have heaps. And can tell ya which parts i went wrong with my V8

06-10-2007, 06:22 PM
Bendover - that fire trail on Straddie is used by some people for winch practice.

06-10-2007, 09:07 PM
I went to a TDI Disco for economy. I get around 9l/100km and do about 120km each day so it adds up. Do your own oil changes and servicing is reasonable. I don't know why the Disco's are so cheap. They are up with the best stock standard offroaders and are quite well behaved onroad

BenDover
07-10-2007, 06:21 AM
hey ozscott, really?? Thats cheating :). i have done all of the fire trails there before. But we only really do that hill now when we feel like testing our horsepower. If your heading from dunich to blue lake (the road way) just before you get to the exit its too your left (you cant miss it) your jaw will drop. Its about 120 metres long and straight up, in a straight line aswell. Its all soft sand with no solid stuff so there is no chance of flipping.
But for everyone else. You can get passed the bouldors and go around and come down the hill. Low range 2nd gear. Doesnt matter what 4bie you own and if your new to 4x4ing or just want to play around. It would be a rush as it is STEEP!!! It reminds me of the ride at dreamworld. The toboggen. You cant see over the edge and once your front wheels go over, there is no going back. But it is safe as...
BD

07-10-2007, 07:51 AM
Hey Poodroo. I guess it depends on where you go on fraser hey. And the tracks you use/ make for yourself :). I am just using the light house as an example. The only hard place to get through there is a soft sandy run through the headland (but fraser is not hard at all). But even there some years is extremely easy going. But also some tracks we use that arnt on a map have very very steep soft sandy runs (40 metres or so) and only big wide tires and HEAPS of horse power can get you up there.
Does anyone know the big sandy fire trail hill on straddie across from the blue lake exit??? Thats the type of hills im talking about.
Any car can go hard and its all upto the driver, (nice work by the way poodroo) but your only as good as your truck lets you be and when i had a hilux. I got sick of parking it at the bottom of runs it couldnt make it up. So upgrade to a new truck (cruiser) with more potensial. $30k of mods and extra's later. The hills and runs got harder. Upgrade again and so on... Even if i dont ever use it. Its great to know that your truck is capable of going anywhere and you never have to worry.
BD

ps. Bastard ill come on a run with ya. And if you need any advice about your V8 i can help ya there, have heaps. And can tell ya which parts i went wrong with my V8

Yup I have been through there and got through okay. I have adventured over nearly every square inch of Fraser over the years. The loose sand near Indian Head always has cars stuck in it and I have always got through no worries. When I traverse over Fraser I nornally go around the island with two other Pajeros(one of which is owned by Tim J) and we all get through everything without getting bogged. I guess Pajeros aren't too bad for Fraser after all. ;D;)

07-10-2007, 10:02 AM
Thanks BD - I will give the uphill a try next time. I did most of the fire trails with my brother a few years ago. He had an older cruiser lifted with massive tyres. I was in my V8 diso series II manual with standard tyres and still went through the 2foot powdery soft sand and red dust from main beach into the mine tracks no problems. Now with much bigger tyres 265/7016 (31's) compared to the old 29.5inch in an AT the Disco should really rock through those areas - I love the sound of the V8 spinning at high revs when having a play through the really thick stuff!!

BenDover
07-10-2007, 10:51 AM
ok pooroo. Well next time your heading to fraser. Ill lend you a ranger key (for the gates) and draw a mud map for you to follow. :). Youll need 35" tires (minumum) for diff clearance, and as wide as you can get. Heaps of horse power and about 700mm of articulation (wheel travel) or you wont have a chance of making it. You should gimme a call sometime and i will show you a fun little hill to play on near where i live. Its just passed the tip on mt cotton rd. Its a suspension hill. So i dont know how well your truck will be but my old hilux made it up. So i will spot you and you should make it aswell.
Bd

ps. ozscott. Did you end up at the mines aswell?? laugh. We found ourselves trapped by gates in the sand mines on straddy. And another 4bie was coming up the rd. We thought aww ohh we are introuble now. But the miners just laughed and said these gates keep more people in than keep them out. They used it so much they even have it on a remote control (like a roller door).

07-10-2007, 12:27 PM
BD - my brother and I used to play in the old mines off mt cotton rd - good articulation testers. As for straddie I didnt get into the mine, but the old roads there can be pretty chopped up. That red bulldust mixed with soft deep sand on some of the entry points of Main Bch have caught a few people, its usually second gear low range and about 4000rpm for the horses, to get through.

BenDover
07-10-2007, 01:39 PM
Did someone say horses?? :). Na, 2nd gear, high range, 2wd with rear locked is the GO. I havent tested my V8 out yet though. I have offered a few times on here hey. If anyone would like to come to a few very local tracks, just to see if they can make it. Im sure they will do alright if the hills are flat (with out any articulation required) And the good thing is they slowly get harder and harder. But i doubt many ifs will make it as they wouldnt have anywhere near the travel youll need for the harder ones. And many ifs's with dual lockers who have bragged about how good they are have rolled. (Attempting the harder ones). But i think most people will be surprised at what they can actually do. This 1 hill looks hard as... But i have made it many times in my old hilux and already know the lines to use. But i guess noone is interested.

ozscott - Do you know the hill i am talking about? on gramzow rd just after the tip, behind the driving training centre? 1 of many local small runs.

bastard
07-10-2007, 04:33 PM
I know the hill its not much of a challenge though,something like tower of terror at ormeau would be a great starting point.

BenDover
07-10-2007, 06:54 PM
Bastard - laugh, oh cmon mate. They dont have comp trucks. I just thought it would be a good starting point. Remember they dont have any suspension travel! But when i first saw that hill at gramsow, i was wrapped when my truck made it up (98 hilux ifs). Due to picking good lines. But what do you think? Do you recon standard pajero or others would make it up?

Ps. Mate let me know when your ready to do your V8 swap out hey. What model truck do you have again?

bastard
10-10-2007, 05:45 PM
I have a 93 hilux ute,my apprentice has a short wheel base gq with 37" creepies and a rear locker and he picked up a wheel on that rutted section your talking about,he has 800mm of articulation.

flairj
11-10-2007, 12:57 AM
Yup I have been through there and got through okay. I have adventured over nearly every square inch of Fraser over the years. The loose sand near Indian Head always has cars stuck in it and I have always got through no worries. When I traverse over Fraser I nornally go around the island with two other Pajeros(one of which is owned by Tim J) and we all get through everything without getting bogged. I guess Pajeros aren't too bad for Fraser after all. ;D;)

OK poodroo. I've got a good one for you................... have you been to the abandoned loggers camp on Fraser?

The place is freaky. The loggers basically picked up their tools and clothes and walked out. There is running water (tank) trucks, beds, magazines, plates and all sorts of stuff just left like a ghost town. One of the rangers told me about it when I lived on Fraser at on of the resorts and we made the tough slog out there.

Josh

Oh......... and I ended up picking up a TDi Disco for a steal

BenDover
11-10-2007, 07:19 AM
Bastard, did you go to the hill lately?? 800mm isnt enough travel too not ever lift a wheel (did he modify his petrol tank yet, to get max travel). Being a shoty wouldnt have helped either. I will have over a metre when im finally finished. But thats what i mean! If you pick the right lines and have someone who knows the hill, im sure a pajero or anything like it can make it up. They will be so surprised.... My old ifs hilux made it easily with the lsd rear.

Cmon guys, lets pick a day and go and see how your 4bies do? it will be a very good eye opener. The hill is right off a dirt road (easy to get to) and is only about 25 metres long, Not steep, with a bit of articulation invovled. Anyone???

bastard
11-10-2007, 05:42 PM
I tried sending a pm Ben dover but it wouldnt work this is the second time ive tried,yeah ill meet up there just need a few cars and some notice,what are we going to do after we drive through the track though,ormeau would be a better place.

BenDover
11-10-2007, 06:11 PM
just want to show the others what they are missing out on. Try and get a few hiluxs or pajero's or what ever to come. Ormeau is a bit too full on to get people started (same as compton rd). Im just trying to find some small starter hills. But for me mate, you find a hill and i will drive it. :).

snelly1971
11-10-2007, 07:01 PM
I had a 98 Jackaroo 3.0 TD...Great tow vehicle and lovely to drive...but spare parts are very very expensive...eg..alternator....$1400 fitted...Heater core 900 fitted ect

12-10-2007, 09:45 AM
Whoa - thats insane. I just replaced my 95 Disco V8 Alternator (100amp) with the original part (an Italian made Magneta Mareli) from Ashdowns for $430 including GST. Fitting took me 10 mins even with the serpentine belt. My 02 Diso 140 amp would be dearer I guess (Bosch and higher output), but $1400 is insane. BTW the alternator lasted 240,000ks.

Brett1907
12-10-2007, 02:01 PM
Ben, Ormeau is too full on?:-/ I used to do all the tracks out there years ago in a standard 92 Hilux.;D My 4WD club did a run there a couple of months ago (sadly I couldn't go:'( ) and all vehicles got through fine. There were wheels iin the air, some people needed a couple of tries and there was some panel damage to a couple of cars.:o

There were vehicles from locke/lifted patrols down to slightly lifted challenger and even standard pajero's.

Not that standard 4WD's can go abywhere, they can't. But I think they can do more than most people realise.

BenDover
13-10-2007, 07:02 AM
Admittedly, I havent been to Ormeau for about 4 years. But its like anywhere. There are tracks and then THERE ARE TRACKS. Its the same as compton rd aswell. And thats exactly what ive been saying brett. I know a bunch of tracks that im POSITIVE standards can make it up. But to look at the hills youd think NOWAY!! But noone wants to take the time to come and try them, even though they are just off a main rd and very easy to get to. Just want to surprise people and help build their confidence and 4x4 ability. The sad part is i dont think my truck would even make it up... :) running standard road tires etc...

Brett1907
15-10-2007, 08:25 AM
I know what you mean Ben. I've looked at hills and thought, You've gotta be kidding!!!:o And then gone straight up them without a drama.;D I think you'd find some guys willing from the last M&G, not many tracks were turned away from. The main reason tracks were left to others was the panel damage issue, sometimes you just don't want to damage the vehicle. But then other times....::) And about standard road tyres, I know exactly wher you are coming from. A few guys at Levuka found out just how much of a dufference your tyres, and pressures, can make. I don't think I could do the tracks there with my road tyres on, but put the MTR's on and it's a different story.:D

17-10-2007, 11:58 AM
Latest 4wd action (nee monthly) has a buying used jackeroo section just for you.

The Mt cotton track was originally used for training 4wd thru qdot at the training centre.

We used to drive up and down it regularly. Depending on whether or not it had been raining etc., line choice was important for such a short track.

Those were bog std cruisers/patrols.

BenDover
17-10-2007, 03:02 PM
GBC i had a look at it the other day in my travels. Its come along way :). Rain and ruts have carved it out nicely and in my books upgraded the hill with alot of travel needed now. I can still pick the best lines and didnt need any1 to spot me. But noones interested. They'd all rather tell themselves how good they are but not try out their 4bies properly on some challenging stuff.

bastard
18-10-2007, 06:47 PM
Ben dover it is time to give up,if you want to entice people to a challenge you are wasting your time here,try outerlimits 4x4 .com,you wont be dissapointed.

18-10-2007, 07:34 PM
GBC i had a look at it the other day in my travels. Its come along way :). Rain and ruts have carved it out nicely and in my books upgraded the hill with alot of travel needed now. I can still pick the best lines and didnt need any1 to spot me. But noones interested. They'd all rather tell themselves how good they are but not try out their 4bies properly on some challenging stuff.

Just a couple of things. Firstly the original point I made was that it was said that Pajeros were useless on Fraser
If your looking to do Fraser Island, in my opinion. Jackaroo's and pajero's wont cut it and you will get anoyyed when you cant make it through some tracks.
BD which from my own experiences they are clearly not. I am sure there are tracks especially the Ormeau one that will get me unstuck but that was not the original point I was making. Anyway I have not been able to keep up on here as much as I'd like to due to the wife developing a potentially life threatening heart condition which requires surgery and is booked to happen on the 31st so I will be putting everything including fishing and 4wd'ing on hold until I know all is well with her. Someone feel free to take Ben up on his challenges in the meantime. Go for it.

BenDover
20-10-2007, 08:24 AM
Sorry to hear it poodroo, hope all goes well mate. I really just wanna have some 4bieing with people. I miss it alot.
BD

Brett1907
20-10-2007, 08:56 AM
Very sorry to hear about that Poodroo, I'm sure everyone here feels for you and your family and wish you all the best.

BenDover, I would be happy to go out for a day. The problem I have atm is coming up to Christmas the weekends are pretty booked, with 2 kids and client/work chrissy parties and family get togethers. Will try to make some time and might even get a couple of the guys who work for me, they'd love to find the limits of their gear. One is a lifted 94 hilux and the other is a lifted 90 sierra. I'll post somewhere on here and/or PM you.

sea raider
20-10-2007, 09:02 AM
The answer to your question is yes.

Anything with Holden written on it is CRAP

maverick1
22-10-2007, 07:59 AM
No can't agree with you , I had a Jackaroo for four years and it's been a great truck , it's handle anything that I have thrown at it from south Ballina to Fraser Island and has never been bogged or had a mechanical failure , by the why the Jackaroo is rebaged Isuzu which have been building trucks for donkey years which are very reliable units .

Maverick1