View Full Version : Townsville- Ross river

Holymakeral
05-06-2007, 12:26 PM
Hey all.
Just moved to townsville recently just curious about where are some good fishin spots around here without a boat and have yous got any tips that may come handy. Also what is there to catch around here? I heard there is barra and mangrove jack is this true?
Thanks heaps

Danthefireman
05-06-2007, 04:16 PM
Mate,
Try Aplins weir, great for barra. Any of the tackle shops have mud maps to give. Also try at the quarintine station at the end of palleranda beach. all sorts there.
Dano

bushbeachboy
06-06-2007, 08:32 AM
G'day Holymack,
Welcome to the site mate. Townsville is a great place to fish, even landbased. Remember your personal safety. Just stay alert and have a good look around before you start fishing and also while you are fishing. There are plenty of people around who are only looking for trouble and they tend to hunt in packs in the town area. Other than that, try any of the river and stream areas.

I would suggest joining a fishing club to get local knowledge and some boat rides.

For a bit more info, go and talk to Peter Hazzard at Pro Tackle on Dalrymple Road.