Thread: Spinnerbait surprise

Spinnerbait surprise

Been giving the bass a fair crack lately, working the shallow divers and poppers in the early hours and late arvos and spinnerbaits down deep in the holes in the middle of the day. Got a fair few ok sized fish but caught this running a fast spinnerbait mid-water at a nice little spot. The entire fight I thought I had hooked Nutters unicorn-esque fishes brother! Took nearly 40m of line straight down stream and came back and was working the snags.

Re: Spinnerbait surprise

That is an unusual catch on a spinnerbait. Well done though.

What side of the divide are you? East or west?
    Cheers, Doug.
    Love to use Preditek or Kingfisher lures or Viva Lures when I am out fishing.

It blew me right out. I was moving it pretty fast and in mid-water and when he hit, the headshakes were unbelievable. Even when my mate was about to grab it I still thought it was a cracker bass.
    As to the divide question, East. Lismore to be precise. Originally from Yamba though.

What a great disappointment it must have been when you saw this ugly beast...bloody vermin!

Hope you dispatched it humanely and disposed of the carcass well away from the water.

I will give it to the thing, it fought well above its weight. Knocked it on the head and all that jazz until we had an eel that resembled jaws nosing along the bank. He got a fat feed of carp for his efforts. It was the biggest eel I've ever seen, a head on it like a football and a body as thick as a fat wobbegong. Made me think twice about diving for snagged lures.....

Quote Originally Posted by mattooty View Post
    It blew me right out. I was moving it pretty fast and in mid-water and when he hit, the headshakes were unbelievable. Even when my mate was about to grab it I still thought it was a cracker bass.
    As to the divide question, East. Lismore to be precise. Originally from Yamba though.
    Okay, I didn't think that European carp was on the eastern side of the range. I thought we only had to put up with those pests on the western side of the ranges. Anyway, you's have one less now.

I thought you lived in the Northern rivers area but wasnt sure til now.
    Cheers, Doug.

They're everywhere up and down the coast. Stinking things. Haven't seen them in the Clarence yet though thank god.

Yeah, we have got em everywhere inland too.

Only 2 places I can think off that they aint and that is here in the McIntyre river around the Inverell area and above, and also in the Gwydir river from Copeton dam and above there.
    Cheers, Doug.

The cod are probably giving them a touch up

LOL, Yeah, I'd reckon that would be the case.

They would proberly make good cod lollies for them
    Cheers, Doug.

They're definitely in the Clarence system. I personally have never caught one but I heard of a bloke illegally gill netting a creek near Southgate and getting a net full of carp and this creek runs straight into the Clarence. Also a bloke I know caught one in the Coldstream River which flows straight into the Clarence. I suspect that they don't live long when they hit the main river for whatever reason.

We used to get a lot of them on lures such as Hot n Tot in the Gwydir below copeton and all the western rivers.
    I caught a European carp in The Gwydir above Copeton at the top of the gorge country years back so I would presume they have made it into that area. I have seen them above Emu crossing too but not in any numbers.
    They do fight better than most native fish but are quite a pest.
    The common thinking was these fish are mudsuckers but they will eat small fish and take lures that resemble small fish so that makes them even more undesirable in our rivers.

They have a carpfish catching comp every year above Casino on the upper Richmond as they are in numbers up there.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	DSCF0355.jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	102.9 KB 
ID:	84341

That's next weekend Rabbi. Going in it?

Well there ya go, and I thought that those pesty things was only on the western side of the range.
    Cheers, Doug.

Quote Originally Posted by mattooty View Post
    I will give it to the thing, it fought well above its weight. Knocked it on the head and all that jazz until we had an eel that resembled jaws nosing along the bank. He got a fat feed of carp for his efforts. It was the biggest eel I've ever seen, a head on it like a football and a body as thick as a fat wobbegong. Made me think twice about diving for snagged lures.....
    I hope that big eel developes a taste for the friggin things.
    ~~~><))))*>