Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: Reels - Outta My League

Reels - Outta My League

amazed at the number of reels available:
    Shimano this, daiwa that, penn this..something else that.
    The polls and threads for comparison of reels is amazing..don't they all chuck some stuff in the water and hopefully wind a fish in?
    Do some of you blokes study reel catalogues???

Re: Reels - Outta My League

Greg, I don't study the catalogues as such, but when i'm in the market, I do my research, cull out the stuff that will suit my needs and come up with a shortlist.

Same as buying a car or selecting a girlfriend j/k

It can be a bit overwhelming I admit, but every reel had a purpose for a given intention, finding out which ones would suit your intention is the hard bit.

Why do u ask?? looking at a sp combo ?

Quote Originally Posted by PinHead View Post
    amazed at the number of reels available:
    Shimano this, daiwa that, penn this..something else that.
    The polls and threads for comparison of reels is amazing..don't they all chuck some stuff in the water and hopefully wind a fish in?
    Do some of you blokes study reel catalogues???
    my missus says Im looking at reel porn

While I don't deliberately obtain / study catalogues ..... they just seem to come into my possession
    I like to use the best gear that I can afford ///// but I hate paying twice ( if you know what I mean )
    ...... So checking out catalogues / the net & being part of this site ........ is all part & parcel ..... Hopefully lets me make the best possible decision ... to avoid paying twice.

AND THEN ..... IT GETS BIGGER THAN BEN HUR

Nagg

I look for the criteria I require most ratio 6:1 or close to that.
    Then I look at the number and quality of bearings and select the best of that.
    Then I look at the brands and drop the gimmicky ripoffs.
    Then I look at the price and drop off the rediculously expensive and settle with what I can afford.

Pinhead,

That boat in your aviator...yours?? I would guess so! It is spectacular, and a perfect fishing boat...I bet you love it. I would love it!!!!

But,, I bet you could still catch fish in a banged up old tiny as well............but it wouldn't be as comfortable or easy................same principle.

cheers Steve

Lets take a spinning reel for this example:
    I can service and repair my reels.Strip then down and rebuild them .
    Now if I had 100 reels in front of me and pulled them apart to see the workings and bearings I would find a lot use same size and type of bearings,open and sealed stainless steel.
    The main gear may vary from alloy to stainless and so on.
    In reality they are all very much the same.Many may want to argue that but I have been through many reels and seen them internally and nothing much changes.
    If I wanted to buy a reel that would probably last me a life time I would have one ball bearing on the main shaft and all other areas with brass bush.Like the old diawa 4000c,not nylon bush.
    Some people come onto forums and boast about some reels like a toy but have they owned 150-180 reels NO.I had a saltiga 4500 and sold it.Just not worth all that wasted money on one reel.What am I using now..okuma v-s.
    I speak from experience and not rambling guess work.If you ever get to know someone working in a tackle store or who has they would give you the same storey.
    Have a close look at some obvious things in one brand on how much parts look the same in handles, rotors,bail wires,body and they will be the same reel renamed and in a different color plus or minus bearings.

Quote Originally Posted by Steve B View Post
    Pinhead,

That boat in your aviator...yours?? I would guess so! It is spectacular, and a perfect fishing boat...I bet you love it. I would love it!!!!

But,, I bet you could still catch fish in a banged up old tiny as well............but it wouldn't be as comfortable or easy................same principle.

cheers Steve
    thanks Steve but the boat is just an 18 1/2' WA.

My point with the reels is: take a look at the number of threads on here now with different reels mentioned..how the bloody hell does one know which names belong to which brand let alone all the other info. As I said..out of my league..way too old to even try and comprehend it all now.

Quote Originally Posted by PinHead View Post
    thanks Steve but the boat is just an 18 1/2' WA.

My point with the reels is: take a look at the number of threads on here now with different reels mentioned..how the bloody hell does one know which names belong to which brand let alone all the other info. As I said..out of my league..way too old to even try and comprehend it all now.
    True, it is difficult. I know what you mean. There are so many brands, and each brand has different models. THEN they change them every year..its hard to keep up. I dont to tell you the truth. I only begin to look and FEEL reels when I need to get one!!!!

I reckon a simple rule of thumb would keep most out of trouble.

pick a price range you like/can afford
    get either a daiwa or shimano within that range......they are going to be pretty similar in standard.....which ever price range you chose. Have a feel of the reel. You will know what you want then.

I would LOVE an 18 1/2 ft WA!!!!

never to old mate.!!!

I used to be a daiwa fan many years ago, and I used to be a shimano fan until about 4 years ago. I am getting a very good run out of the Okumas lately and Iam surprised how much hard work they can handle.

Seems to me both Daiwa and Shimano have been marketing for max profit and this is even more clear in thier top range gear. Seriously, for the prices that are being paid for their top line gear you could buy something of a higher quality that is built in lots lower numbers and 100% real metal. With the Asian technology and experience in creating anything mechanical these reels they make in the quantities they do should be cheaper by hundreds and hundreds of dollars.

$1000 for a spinning reel can buy you an awful lot of high quality gear, but frankly I do not see that amount of value in the top line Daiwas and Shimanos.

I'm hearin' ya Greg,

Its all the new tchnology driven by the marketing machine...yep there are some very practical reels out there, but there is also a lot of bling. this reel for game and trolling, that reel for heavy spin, the other reel for soft plastics, a high speed retireve for jigging and the list goes on!

Reel cattledogs - never, but if I have a need for a new trinket (after all there is a tackle junkie inside every fisho ) I'll look at what my mates are using, talk over the pro's and cons with them, have a couple of hits with their gear to see if its really what I need and that it suits me, work out whether I can justify it to the minister for finance (sometimes) and a new piece of bling hits the tackle box.

But as far as pawing over the cattledogs and spending the mega bucks for high end reels, whilst they maybe good kit, have wonderful raps and be nice to use, yep not this little black duck!

Good thread.

It will be interesting to see it grow

hi pinhead,
    going through the same thing now.
    i need a new small baitcaster and a new spin reel and rod
    buggered if i can remember names models etc, there are heaps out there
    i recon you get what you pay for, a $10 reel or a $1000 dollar reel will do the same thing, but the latter will be alot nicer to use and last alot longer imho
    i look at it this way,
    if i had to walk 100km in a day i would have the best shoes i could get
    for me same goes fishing, if i am hanging onto a rod and reel all day i want it to feel right and be nice to use
    dazza

Basically it all comes down to watch you catch.

you wouldn't buy a $1000 shimano stella to catch whitting,bream unless you are filthy rich.
    a good $200 spinner works just as well.

But a big $200 spinner is a complete waist of time if you went jigging for dogtooth, or popping for 50kg GT's.

Likewise, a $100 reel is fine to catch small squire in the bay, but a $100 reel used bottom bashing up far north QLD will simply get you blown to bits all day.

Horses for courses.

Quote Originally Posted by Flex View Post
    Basically it all comes down to watch you catch.

you wouldn't buy a $1000 shimano stella to catch whitting,bream unless you are filthy rich.
    a good $200 spinner works just as well.

But a big $200 spinner is a complete waist of time if you went jigging for dogtooth, or popping for 50kg GT's.

Likewise, a $100 reel is fine to catch small squire in the bay, but a $100 reel used bottom bashing up far north QLD will simply get you blown to bits all day.

Horses for courses.

Now lets get this right ..... the stella that you would use to catch bream costs only $700 ! Now > If I've told you once , I've told you a million times - - DONT EXAGERATE!

I will say .... you don't necessarily have to be filthy rich to buy high end gear ! ...... I will go without , till I can afford what I really want (+ I will search globally for the best possible price)........ I've simply replaced too many bits of tackle over the years .... for one reason or another ( false economy). Sure you can catch the same fish on much cheaper tackle .........
    But catch it on seriously good gear ....... & the capture is enhanced IMO_ I like to fight the fish .... not the tackle!

Nagg

Quote Originally Posted by NAGG View Post
    Now lets get this right ..... the stella that you would use to catch bream costs only $700 ! Now > If I've told you once , I've told you a million times - - DONT EXAGERATE!

I will say .... you don't necessarily have to be filthy rich to buy high end gear ! ...... I will go without , till I can afford what I really want (+ I will search globally for the best possible price)........ I've simply replaced too many bits of tackle over the years .... for one reason or another ( false economy). Sure you can catch the same fish on much cheaper tackle .........
    But catch it on seriously good gear ....... & the capture is enhanced IMO_ I like to fight the fish .... not the tackle!

Nagg
    (+ I will search globally for the best possible price)

Thats smart thinking.iv'e done the same.