Page 6 of 14 FirstFirst 1234567891011121314 LastLast

Thread: Spin Gear for barra

Re: Spin Gear for barra

Quote Originally Posted by SeekingBarradise View Post
    Do any Certate owners care to share their rod to reel setup i'm interested in them as i've heard they are a gem of a reel?

Did you have to buy a couple of rods to get the right combo?

How long and what rating was the rod?

Cheers Lyndon.
    I have a Certate Hyper Custom 4000 on an early Egrell S4 (7') best fish on this was a 114 at Awoonga. I also have a Branzino on a Megabass Destroyer Orochi Jade Python F4-74XS (7'4")rated to 16lb. A Fuego 3000 on a Megabass XOR Silver Shadow SSX-72ML (7'2")rated to 16lb. Pam loves her Emeraldas on a Megabass Destroyer Super Full House F2-611XS (6'11") rated to 12lb. (She's taken Golden Trevally to 22lb and a metre Queenie on this). My latest rod is a one off Egrell. If anyone remembers the early B8-7 Baitcaster, I Eric kindly rebuilt it as a split grip threadline. (This is the same blank Birdy uses for his salt water stuff.) It has a Saltiga S-Extreme 4500 loaded with 60lb Castaway. If I need to use a threadline in the sticks, this will be the rod.

The major problem I see with the Megabass rods in the small guide diameter.

Hello Lyndon, I regularly use my 2500 certate hypercustom with 20lb saltiga braid, matched to a loomis mossyback 8-14lb ex fast rod, very good for lighter plastics, if I had my time again I would get a slightly longer rod. I also have a sol 2500 on a gary howard shakira, 4-8kg with 20lb samurai braid, i actually use this rod more as it feels nicer than the mossyback and casts further despite being 2 inches shorter. both are very good for 110 sized squidgeys, atomic prong hopping and 4 inch hollow bellies but are a little light to cast the bigger soft plastics. I have just bought a steez 2508 and put it on a gary howard rod as well but haven't used it on barra yet so no opinion yet. cheers scott.

Unhappy Re: Epicondolitis

Quote Originally Posted by A_DIFF_PERSPECTIVE View Post
    I get a painful burning left elbow joint whilst lake barra fishing, and a dead shoulder from spanish mac fishing with a rope line. RSI?,,,,, or i'm just plain and simply too skinny and stick man like to be doing either!
    JM
    Having had Medial and radial epicondolitis (golf and tennis elbow) for 14 yrs. It comes and goes. I have had most accepted treatments short of an operation, physio, chyro, quarterzone under ulta sound etc. etc. I have been diagnosed by the top upper arm guru Mater Private and am currently receiving treatment from a hand therapist and wear an arm brace and elbow wrap.

The short version is you are stuck with it . The only real way to get it to ease is to rest it which is bloody hard to do and as such why I ended up with the brace.

The specialist advises after numerous tests and evaluation on groups receiving treatment or not there is little long term benefit in all the needles etc. .

At worst I have not been able to move the arm without agony and I am no sook.

The best advise I can give is when it is bad rest it! Ride along, pass the drinks etc. Get a good quality tennis elbow brace / strap with a built in gel pad and make sure you know how and where to fit it. If you are doing something that will aggravate the arm wear it! Because the stiff arm brace will really cramp your style and you cannot fish with it.

Back back to the post, Great stuff and certianly an interesting exercise. Thanks All
    Last edited by darylive; 09-07-2009 at 09:38 PM. Reason: spell check

Most of my Money is spent on Booze and Fishin.
    The Rest is just Wasted!
    To The Shed.............

Quote Originally Posted by NAGG View Post
    Have you done a comparison in custing length ?

Always wanted to go down to a park and test casting distances, but unforetunately I can only put up with so many bad jokes. I could only put up with so many "Catching much comments" before i'd get the sh!ts. alteratively i use land marks and space it out at home using google earth.

On the cheap end of the scale I run a Daiwa Triforce 3000 with 30lb Bionic, attached to a old ugly stick with a extended butt for longer casts, as i flick i push down the butt and seem to generate more distance, Simular to a Baseball pitch push through your legs, let the rod load and flick the arm over with a suttle push down with the free hand to quicken the rods motion.

I also have notaiced with a swinging lure, as it swings start the cast on the up part of the swing and it seems to produce just a smidge more....

If you watch the masters of the fly fishing game Harro, Rowie etc they double hual thier fly lines, by giving the line a pull on the back cast to load up the rod to produce a further cast, sort of a simular thing with the extra length on the butt if ya get my drift... excuse the bad wording..

Nath

I have a diawa excellor 3000 on a little boat road won at last years river to mud and i have landed 3 barra on it from 95-115cm drag handles the pressure no worries

shane

Sorry, but Im not telling any one what my spin out fit is.
    Its taken me years (a whole 2 of them actually) of hard work trolling the net for the latest buzz, up-grading rod and reel as dictated by the newest magazine cover shot, sifting thru glossy advertisements searching for the gurus faces and their all knowing advice, Ive watched 4 DVD's, I saw a lure casting demo at last years boat show in some big tank thingy, Ive pumped my mates for info on their gear, then dropped em like a used tissue, Ive lurked on differant chat rooms, allways watching, rarely posting.
    If you think Im giving up all that to help youzzzzze blokes, ya dreamin!!!

Ok a bit of a tackle review since it is appropriate for the thread. The spin outfit i was using in the billabongs in the NT was a 4000 stella FD matched with a gary howard samurai nv7. The rod is only 6ft but is responsive, light and has power to burn. The short length is not ideal for distance casting with light plastics, but does make it it ideal for heavier hard lures and can be cast surprisingly far for such a short rod. It has the capacity to be fished light (around 2kgs of drag) while still holding a working load but for spool grabs and tough tactics can be loaded to well over 4kgs probably up to 5. The stella fills in an important gap in threadline size left in the daiwa market where the 3000 and 4000 may not complimant appropriate rods. It is light (270grams) but strong, and would give any competing daiwa a run for its money with the benifit of having a stocked drag that isn't crap. The original washers are still running properly smoothe after a year of use in both salt and fresh. The new shimano spool design casts better than any threadline i have used. The 4.8:1 gear ratio enables speed when needed without compremising strength and lure control like many other higher speed shimano reels built with saltwater spinning in mind. I would challenge all daiwa die hards to consider this reel, it is the only threadline i have picked up that after a year of use I genuinely cannot find fault in.

Quote Originally Posted by BR65 View Post
    Its taken me years (a whole 2 of them actually) of hard work trolling the net for the latest buzz, up-grading rod and reel as dictated by the newest magazine cover shot, sifting thru glossy advertisements searching for the gurus faces and their all knowing advice, Ive watched 4 DVD's, I saw a lure casting demo at last years boat show in some big tank thingy, Ive pumped my mates for info on their gear, then dropped em like a used tissue, Ive lurked on differant chat rooms, allways watching, rarely posting.
    Well there you go ....said like a true champion

Quote Originally Posted by PaulMark View Post
    I used to play golf pretty good as a young bloke,then I got bamboozled by technique, tried to fiddle with the backswing,weight transfer etc..etc.By the end of it i was flat out hitting a ball. Moral to the tale; Don't get technical,enjoy what you're doing and it will happen.Lifes too short for all the complexity(good word
    You're all catching damn good fish whats the problem??
    Paulo
    Unless you want to improve & want some consistency !

Quote Originally Posted by Tropicaltrout View Post
    On the cheap end of the scale I run a Daiwa Triforce 3000 with 30lb Bionic, attached to a old ugly stick with a extended butt for longer casts, as i flick i push down the butt and seem to generate more distance, Simular to a Baseball pitch push through your legs, let the rod load and flick the arm over with a suttle push down with the free hand to quicken the rods motion.

I also have notaiced with a swinging lure, as it swings start the cast on the up part of the swing and it seems to produce just a smidge more....

If you watch the masters of the fly fishing game Harro, Rowie etc they double hual thier fly lines, by giving the line a pull on the back cast to load up the rod to produce a further cast, sort of a simular thing with the extra length on the butt if ya get my drift... excuse the bad wording..

Nath
    It's funny you should mention giving the line a pull on the back cast to load up the rod....A mate of mine does the same thing with better casting results....(He is an old Trout man).....definatedly something in that
    Good Mates....Good Food.....Good Fishing....Priceless

Quote Originally Posted by BR65 View Post

TEFLON AGAIN ..... HEY!

Well you know what you can do with your spin combo

Actually ...... Today I get to play with another spin combo (Take 5) Thanks Steve B , I'll look after your suped up Egrel S10 ....... but I had to put the Certate 3000 on it

PS .... Steve do you have the photo of the next new blinged up barra outfit

when working soft plastics with spin and baitcast i made the move to use left handed reels. putting the rod in my dominent right hand. the difference in retrieve control was very obvious. it felt wierd for a while but now i would never go back. the control gained also increased my strike rate on softies. with hard bodies i gain more control with rod in left hand.

current spin outfit, egrell s6 with stradic 4000.
    a good match.
    0pen minds, open doors....

Tropicaltrout;1043077]On the cheap end of the scale I run a Daiwa Triforce 3000 with 30lb Bionic, attached to a old ugly stick with a extended butt for longer casts, as i flick i push down the butt and seem to generate more distance, Simular to a Baseball pitch push through your legs, let the rod load and flick the arm over with a suttle push down with the free hand to quicken the rods motion.

Nath
    So , what about your casting action

Quote Originally Posted by NAGG View Post
    TEFLON AGAIN ..... HEY!

Well you know what you can do with your spin combo

Actually ...... Today I get to play with another spin combo (Take 5) Thanks Steve B , I'll look after your suped up Egrel S10 ....... but I had to put the Certate 3000 on it

PS .... Steve do you have the photo of the next new blinged up barra outfit

Working on it Chris. The glare off the 'shiney new reel' is causing problems with the image. It belongs in a glass cabinet under lights just to look at

Part 2, here is some pics at F@xies as we worked on a finely tuned outfit for NAGG to chase barra. Beautiful combo to say the least.
    Last edited by Steve B; 10-07-2009 at 01:57 PM. Reason: add photos of Naggs combo